We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Return!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am amazed at the few negative reviews I've seen. We were just there mid-January and it was fantastic. The service was amazing! I admit, the food did get a little boring at times because some dishes were repeated, but it was good food! Our only real complaint was that it took almost a full day to get there from Missouri and all of the day trips were 90min - 2hours away from the resort, so we lost a lot of time there. But, the people were amazing, the day trips were fun, the resort tried to have lots of fun activities for people who didn't want to leave the property. I can't say enough about how nice the Riu Tropical Palace was.

Room Tip: The property is huge, so ask for one of the buildings close to the front desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akgolden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,326
    1,720
    625
    278
    179
See reviews for
1,142
2,199
55
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we just got home from the riu, very much disapointed.when we first got there the front desk were not caring about what we wanted.came with another couple wanted to be close to them they never bothered to cater to our needs. Wanted US small bills two days in a row they did not have any.the food was disgusting,the only food we liked was breakfast.the bartenders were great , the maids were ok once we would give a tip,never had towels or washcloths, they would clean the room with the door open and our room each night was full of mosquitos. Our rooms deck curtain was full of mold.room air was nt working right, was warm in the room at night. We have stayed at the riu in ocho rios love it,not a bad thing to say about that place should of went back. Loved andrew at the swim up bar and big c at dinner at the riu in negril . It was a big waste of our money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulandmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We returned 2/24 from a 12 day stay. This is our 4th trip to Jamaica, but first to the Riu Palace. Our other 3 stays were at the Riu Club Hotel, also in Negril.

From start to finish every person we encountered did everything possible to make sure we were having a good time and had everything we needed.

Our room was in building 2, on the 3rd floor with an ocean view. The building is not too far from all the activity, but not noisy from the bars or entertainment. The one and only slight complaint I had was the traffic noise, as that building was close to the road. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway, and we became accustomed to the sounds. Our Apple Rep. offered to see about changing the room, but we didn't feel the need. Everything in the room worked perfectly… A/C, hot water, safe, door locks. King size bed was firm, as we like it. Our maid Sandrea kept things immaculately clean.

Jacqueline and Caravalho took especially good care of us at dinner, but all of the servers in all the restaurants were friendly and wanted us to be happy. We did eat at Haikuchi, the Japanese restaurant. It was our only experience at any of the specialty restaurants. We enjoyed the buffet more. But, I will say that as others have complained about the reservation system, and the Riu seems to have responded. There was no long line queued-up for reservations. There was a person taking reservations for most of the day, and reservations could be made for several days ahead of time. So that was no hassle at all.

The bartenders and bar staff juggled so many drink requests at one time, yet with a smile, it was amazing. Michelle especially stood out with a great smile and sense of humor. Kevin walked the beach serving drinks with a big smiles and friendly conversation.

The entertainment staff mixed with the crowd any time they weren’t actually performing. Just watching them expend all that energy made me appreciate how hard they work, from early morning until late at night. As a matter of fact, that is one of the things that struck me the most, is just how hard everyone at the hotel works, to make the customers happy.

The food was great with lots to choose from. I spoke with the Head Chef, Oneal, to compliment him on all of the great food. He was very gracious and friendly. He made sure to tell me if there was anything at all that I wanted or needed, just to be sure to ask him. We spoke every time he saw me in the dining room, and just made me feel very special. The appetizers and desserts were artfully arranged. The chef’s in the (hot) center cook area, always took time to smile and respond to questions, comments, or a genuinely spoken “Thank You”.

We tried many new and different things while we were there. Lobster was served twice during the 12 days we were there. Every day, other seafood was also served. The fish was really great, suckling pig, duck, lamb - all really really good. I have tried and like many of the Jamaican dishes. The one type of meat we did not care for was the beef. The beef was flavorful, but was tougher than we are accustomed to. There are so many good things to say about all the food, I’ll just stop.

The beach was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Far superior to the Club Hotel Riu, down the road. We had an extremely windy day that washed in some sea grass near the shore. The groundskeepers worked with the tide to get it cleaned up. No problem, mon. The storm also washed in some giant starfish. We took some pictures and helped to move some of them back out into deeper water. Hope it helped some of them to stay alive.

There was no lack of beach loungers and usually there were chairs available at the pool.

This is a pretty long review, I hope if helps someone else. I read many reviews before I switched from the Club Riu to the Riu Palace. I definitely made the right choice. We will be making reservations to stay here again next year!

Room Tip: Buliding 2 is close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank WI_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service and food was great. We were 10 adults and 10 children and every morning and night our table was set up and ready for us, along with a waiter ready to greet us and serve us. The disco was amazing, the music was great. My husband kept going to the bar for a drink, they got tired of serving him that they ended up giving him the bottle of vodka. Everyone smokes in the club....the only thing I didn't like.....but oh well I was in Jamaica!!!! The pool staff was very friendly and saved us all chairs by the pool for us everyday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the main floor of any building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First the good. Beautiful beach, with plenty of lounge chairs. Pretty lobby and main bar. Some very nice staff, especially in the main Buffet. Nice selection of food in the main buffet. Small but very nice spa, good staff there.
Now the bad. Two small pools. No where to grab a late afternoon snack or cup of coffee - almost got my head bit off by a waitress in the Bloody Bay buffet for DARING to ask, politely i might add, whether there were any nacho chips left.
Rooms: very musty. Clocks dont work, and the desk says they are only for radio, not for telling time!? A third of the 100 people in our group did not get ocean front rooms as promised. A one foot step up into tub, and you have to be fully in it to reach the faucet, so as a result get blasted with cold water trying to run a warm shower. Maid service leaves only two towels, one packet of coffee, in spite of a nice tip and requests formore of each.
Food: Buffet good. The "nice" restaurants, range from mediocre to wretched.
Will i return or recommend? Not likely .....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marylvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Riu was actually a last minute replacement for us and we would return in a heartbeat. The grounds were beautiful and the service was top notch. The food was wonderful and actually maybe a little too high class for us average joes. We didn't get the opportunity to try the specialty restaurants but heard great things from the many friends we made during our stay.

As for drawbacks, our room was in the 2000 block and had a slightly musty smell when the air was going. I heard from other people in our block that they had the same smell. The other thing that surprised me was that even though this is an all inclusive resort, tips are encouraged. The service is excellent so we basically tipped the people on the last day we were there. We pretty much had the same people every day so we got to know them... same waitress at dinner every night etc.

The entertainment staff is top notch and they have activities during the day and a nightly show which I initially thought was done by professional dancers. They make sure everyone feels welcome at the resort.

We spent a week at beaches prior to the riu which was spectacular and I would put riu right up there. The people really make this resort and I would stay there again!

We stayed here as a couple. Not a lot of kids. Not sure how kid friendly you would think this place is. For kids I would probably recommend beaches instead.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great here, yes we had a small problem with the smell from air-conditioning but by leaving all doors and windows open on the balcony it dissipated. That has got the downside out of the way. The staff were great, all were polite and helpful, but being Jamaica sometimes a little slow, but we were on holiday and this caused 'No Problem'. The big plus point was the food, and what planet some of the reviewers were on that criticised this I do not know. The main restaurant, The Negril had the most widespread buffet one could ask for and if a dish ran out it was re-filled within minutes. Breakfast fruit consisted of at least 12 different varieties all fresh and beautifully presented. Endless cold meats, jams, cakes, pastries and bread. As far as hot dishes were concerned, how many different types of eggs do you want? They had them all, then bacon sausage, beans, hash browns, corn-beef hash. It was endless. Evening meals were equally splendid. The themed restaurants were good, we preferred the Gourmet and Japanese. Someone made a comment about booking the restaurants, how? One just went to see the lady, asked politely if they had a vacancy (Some visitors from North America did not know the word 'Please') and we were in.
The beach was kept very clean we went to one end where it was not overcrowded and sat in great comfort. Getting the odd cocktail from the beach bar or ordering one from the staff who took orders on the beach. There were a number of sellers going along the beach but we were not troubled by them, if we passed one on way to the sea, then we would say no-thank you, shake hands with a smile and carry on.
We will go back there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
5,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
5,076 reviews
31.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,830 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing