We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Dragon is the only place you should get Jerk Pork”
Review of Red Dragon

Red Dragon
Ranked #25 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Description: Great local place. Best Jerk Pork in town. Highly recommended. This should definately be listed!
Restaurant details
Description: Great local place. Best Jerk Pork in town. Highly recommended. This should definately be listed!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Red Dragon is the only place you should get Jerk Pork”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was brought here by a good local friend and he said we had to try it, he was right! Let's just say I have never had anything like it, you walk in and there is this giant kettle of Jerked Pork which is covered with a lid and beach towels to keep it warm, once you order they pull off the towels and lid, and you see the most insane pile of onions and peppers and the pork....it's so amazing, they grab some tin foil and pile it on then wrap it up and you eat it with your fingers, just make sure you grab a red stripe, it has some kick but perfectly done. I go every single day, I could not imagine not going. The Red Stripes are also priced right, half of what you would pay on the beach or any resort bar, I love the local feel and it is unreal, treat yourself to the best Jerk Pork on the PLANET! My mouth is watering again, I will be there in 20 days, it will be my first stop once I hit Negril!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    23
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, MD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Jerk Pork”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I usually spend my Vacay in Montego Bay when I visit Jamaica but I always have to do a day trip or spend a few days in Negril. Whenever I visit Negril I head to Red Dragon to get the most mouth watering Jerk Pork u can find in the western part of Jamaica. I can't find a restaurant in Montego Bay or Negril that can make Jerk Pork as good as the Red Dragon. A lot of people can jerk chicken but jerking pork is quite the challenge that a lot of people can't master. It is well worth the hour and a half drive from Montego Bay to Negril to get a mouthful of this spicy deliciousness. This pork is so good u don't want to swallow it, the flavors are that intense, it literally sings in your mouth. You have to taste it, it really is that good. The jerk pork is usually ready by 12:30 pm but don't wait too long because it sells out fast usually by 4-5pm and they only make one batch for the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaica_Beach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Jerk Pork Ever”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our second trip to the Red Dragon, and hopefully not the last. Small and off of the main drag a few blocks in the Red Ground area, frequented mostly by locals, but more travellers are catching on. Pork is ready in the noon to 1 timeframe and when it's gone it's gone. Simply served wrapped in foil, nice and hot (in both senses of the word) and delicious. Red Stripes are ice cold and cheap. We shared a pound of pork and each had two beers and the total was $1400J - probably $15-16 american. The Red Dragon is a real if you like to get out among the locals for a real experience like we do

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A must stop if you go to Jamaica. Drop in for a taste of real Jamaican culture. This is a more rural bar for locals, don't expect 5 star location... do expect to see the reality of Jamaican living.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ddbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“... needs to be on your bucket list”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Red Dragon needs to be on your bucket list. A true working bar on Red Ground Rd. Sit back and enjoy a cold Red Stripe or a "Hot Dragon Stout". The jerk pork is excellent, a pound will do 2+ people. There's no hagglers to bother you, just regular Jamaicans going about their business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquaman_MWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dragon also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Red Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing