We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Romantic Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Tensing Pen

The Lodge at Tensing Pen
Ranked #42 of 193 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lodge brings guests together in an intimate setting overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Our Chef prepares Jamaican influenced fare using the finest ingredients and organic grown vegetables. Complimentary pick up is offered between 5:00 pm and 8:00 pm
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Their grilled pork with rosemary is very good, as well as their nutty grouper and escovitch snapper. It was so good that we visited a second time on our trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently got married here and stayed for 3 nights. The food was fantastic and the restaurant and bar staff were the best!! Our wedding cake was to die for.....would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some of the best food on the West End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The grilled lobster, prepared very simply, is not to be missed! And the tenderloin.....mmmmmm! Even though it's a bit more dressy than the average Negril restaurant, it's more like eating in the kitchen of a close friend. The staff was quick and attentive all during dinner as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yogini0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA (suburbs)
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The dinners here are hands down delicious. The chef is happy to customize whatever is on the menu for my wife, who does not like a lot of spice. This is not a large place, reservations are most likely required unless you are staying in the resort. The ambiance and view are amazing.

Fantastic place, we are already booked for our next trip to the hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hussyband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Honeymoon memories in the lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Tensing Pen and had our wedding, wedding dinner and numerous meals in the Lodge at Tensing Pen. We may be jaded because we were married there, but the food really is wonderful. We were lucky to be able to be able to relax on the couch and smell as the chef prepares for the day's dinner. The wonder smells of garlic and butter and curry and jerk float through the dining room, tempting you for dinner, which is at 530pm if I remember right. We had lobster, shrimp, pork, pasta...everything his prepared with love and the plates come to the table well appointed. We have only two compaints with the Lodge's menu. The drinks are pricey (be prepared to pay $9.60 a drink before you leave an extra buck, so you might be drinking a few extra Red Stripes. The appetizer choices are pretty slim. That said, the views at sunset, overlooking the pool to the ocean with the rocks is beautiful and should be enjoyed. We look forward to seeing our new friends again for breakfast and night time drinks, enjoying the hand carved woodwork and stunning views that make the Tensing Pen an exceptional destination.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rswartz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge at Tensing Pen also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to The Lodge at Tensing Pen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing