We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Tensing Pen

The Lodge at Tensing Pen
Ranked #39 of 187 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Lodge brings guests together in an intimate setting overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Our Chef prepares Jamaican influenced fare using the finest ingredients and organic grown vegetables. Complimentary pick up is offered between 5:00 pm and 8:00 pm
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Their grilled pork with rosemary is very good, as well as their nutty grouper and escovitch snapper. It was so good that we visited a second time on our trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently got married here and stayed for 3 nights. The food was fantastic and the restaurant and bar staff were the best!! Our wedding cake was to die for.....would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some of the best food on the West End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The grilled lobster, prepared very simply, is not to be missed! And the tenderloin.....mmmmmm! Even though it's a bit more dressy than the average Negril restaurant, it's more like eating in the kitchen of a close friend. The staff was quick and attentive all during dinner as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yogini0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA (suburbs)
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The dinners here are hands down delicious. The chef is happy to customize whatever is on the menu for my wife, who does not like a lot of spice. This is not a large place, reservations are most likely required unless you are staying in the resort. The ambiance and view are amazing.

Fantastic place, we are already booked for our next trip to the hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hussyband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Honeymoon memories in the lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Tensing Pen and had our wedding, wedding dinner and numerous meals in the Lodge at Tensing Pen. We may be jaded because we were married there, but the food really is wonderful. We were lucky to be able to be able to relax on the couch and smell as the chef prepares for the day's dinner. The wonder smells of garlic and butter and curry and jerk float through the dining room, tempting you for dinner, which is at 530pm if I remember right. We had lobster, shrimp, pork, pasta...everything his prepared with love and the plates come to the table well appointed. We have only two compaints with the Lodge's menu. The drinks are pricey (be prepared to pay $9.60 a drink before you leave an extra buck, so you might be drinking a few extra Red Stripes. The appetizer choices are pretty slim. That said, the views at sunset, overlooking the pool to the ocean with the rocks is beautiful and should be enjoyed. We look forward to seeing our new friends again for breakfast and night time drinks, enjoying the hand carved woodwork and stunning views that make the Tensing Pen an exceptional destination.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rswartz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge at Tensing Pen also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to The Lodge at Tensing Pen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing