We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food.”

The Lodge at Tensing Pen
Ranked #21 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Lodge brings guests together in an intimate setting overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Our Chef prepares Jamaican influenced fare using the finest ingredients and organic grown vegetables. Complimentary pick up is offered between 5:00 pm and 8:00 pm
Philadelphia, PA (suburbs)
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The dinners here are hands down delicious. The chef is happy to customize whatever is on the menu for my wife, who does not like a lot of spice. This is not a large place, reservations are most likely required unless you are staying in the resort. The ambiance and view are amazing.

Fantastic place, we are already booked for our next trip to the hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hussyband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    29
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Honeymoon memories in the lodge”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Tensing Pen and had our wedding, wedding dinner and numerous meals in the Lodge at Tensing Pen. We may be jaded because we were married there, but the food really is wonderful. We were lucky to be able to be able to relax on the couch and smell as the chef prepares for the day's dinner. The wonder smells of garlic and butter and curry and jerk float through the dining room, tempting you for dinner, which is at 530pm if I remember right. We had lobster, shrimp, pork, pasta...everything his prepared with love and the plates come to the table well appointed. We have only two compaints with the Lodge's menu. The drinks are pricey (be prepared to pay $9.60 a drink before you leave an extra buck, so you might be drinking a few extra Red Stripes. The appetizer choices are pretty slim. That said, the views at sunset, overlooking the pool to the ocean with the rocks is beautiful and should be enjoyed. We look forward to seeing our new friends again for breakfast and night time drinks, enjoying the hand carved woodwork and stunning views that make the Tensing Pen an exceptional destination.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rswartz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“romantic, cool breezes and excellent food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Romantic atmosphere on the west end; cool breezes, excellent food and service. A good value for the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenny87505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh delicious romantic”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful setting, fresh delicious food, great staff, great menu, romantic. I stayed here for a week and every meal was soooo good. We also got married here and our wedding dinner was insanely delicious. We tried everything from breakfast to lunch to apps to dinner entrees and you really can't go wrong. The snapper, beef tenderloin, and lobster were my favorite entrees. The pasta dishes were also very tasty. It was amazing what the kitchen staff was able to pull off in such a small kitchen. There is an women who seemed to be the head chef and she had the kitchen in total control. I also really loved the fresh smoothies throughout the day and the omelets in the morning. Some reviews mention things being slow....this is JA. It's also not fast food...its prepared fresh. Sit back relax...take in the view and enjoy a fantastic meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azulisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We ate here several times on our most recent trip and each time it was exceptional. The curry chicken is so tasty as is the coconut shrimp. Lunch menu ackee pizza is to die for, I'm still craving it!
The Lodge is open to the public for dinner but this is not well known.
The food prices are very reasonable but drink prices are quite high, especially after adding in the 20% tax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge at Tensing Pen also viewed

 

Been to The Lodge at Tensing Pen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing