We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation ever!”
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Caves
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the most relaxing, wonderful vacation I've ever been on. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and the staff were warm and welcoming from the start. We stayed at Stardust, which we loved because it was secluded and had an amazing view. I don't even know how to start with this place. The soups were amazing, the breakfast was so good, and the dinners were just so delicious, too. I loved the laid back atmosphere and the size of the resort. We weren't bothered to buy anything or to do anything we didn't want to do.
As others have said, take advantage of the snorkeling with Paul as early as possible and do a cave dinner! We also had a dinner at the "white table" our last night and it was so nice.
We ventured out one day and took a short walk near Rick's but that wasn't really necessary.
I did yoga twice with Rosa and she also taught an extra pilates class. I recommend those, as it's nice to get a little exercise in while you're in paradise!
The only thing I'd tell people is not to expect luxurious bathrooms. Our shower had very low water pressure, but that's something we can overlook.
And, do cliff jumping!! The blue cave was my favorite. Be sure to get your cameras ready to shoot the jumps.
We cannot wait to return in a couple years. It was our only time in Jamaica and we really don't need to try anywhere else. This is our place.
Big thanks to Paul, Fiona and Randall. Great service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Margiesaalsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Margiesaalsas,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room Stardust. It is a very popular room with our guests due its privacy where you feel there is no one staying at the resort but you and its awesome views of the ocean. We have passed on your great feedback to Rosa and rest of the team members you have mentioned as it is always pleasing to be mentioned by name. Although you have conquered the Blue Hole jump there are many more jump spots here to challenge you when you come back to “your place”. We look forward to your return.

One Love,

The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 703 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Caves of Negril.The reviews here are spot on in accuracy but it is very hard to do this place justice with just words. You need to breathe it in to really appreciate the wonderful decompressive nature of this jewel of a resort. The natural beauty of limestone cliffs and caves masterfully carved by the relentless ocean tides is a marvel in itself. Sunsets that are breath taking, an ocean so turquoise it looks artificial, and the erotic breezes that blow nonstop are just more natural beauties you'll hate to say goodbye to at the end of your stay. I can think of no other place where you can have a ocean cave grotto all to yourself...without standing in some kind of line or making some kind of reservation. Just grab your favorite iPod and vice and just pick one of the several descending stone staircases to your own private respite. The service is great, and yes the food is good and creative. The price is steep, but worth every penny if unplugging, unwinding, and recharging with minimal human contact ranks high on your list of a/i "must haves". There are a few things that could be improved (like the shower's water pressure), but I really have to nit pick to come up with anything negative about this wonderful place. Give your self a well deserved break at the Caves.....I promise you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Have Randall make you a "Sailaway"....awesome drink! Now start packing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bierwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is one of - if not the - best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's romantic, but not naff. Exclusive but not intimidating. Luxurious but not ridiculous. We took a memory stick full of pictures of the view because you just cannot believe you are staying somewhere so beautiful. The staff are lovely (Patrick was a major favourite), the snorkelling lessons brilliant, the food so fresh and gorgeous. We hope we get to return one day? Truly amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edd_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and i visited Negril for the first time and were overwhelmed by the setting and the staff. It is a very relaxing experience in a romantic setting.The food is very good and the rooms are bohemian elegant with spectacular views of the ocean. When we were looking for live music on thursday night and none was available--Karen the manager arranged for a private band to come play for the guests. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mtctraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Caves 9 years ago, loved it, and always dreamed of going back. And even with extremely high expectations, we weren't disappointed. Stepping through the little blue door is a bit like stepping into Wonderland. The colors, the decor, the cliffside location, the staff...it is orchestrated perfectly. Everything is small scale, and personal. No crowds at the bar, no hustle and bustle. Usually we steer clear of all-inclusives, which mean quantity over quality, but thats not the case here. Breakfasts are made to order (don't miss their banana pancakes!), and they are extremely accommodating. If you are looking for a place to totally unwind, a place where your biggest decision of the day is what to mix in your rum, this is the place. Its is expensive, but worth every hard-earned penny. We will not wait another 9 years to go back!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong. Each unit is unique. Personally, we love the rooms with outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roxy_Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second trip to The Caves and it was wonderful. The laid back, casual vibe is what we love... and the food! The food is amazing here because they stick to what they do best, real Jamaican fare, no fancy fusions attempts or ridiculous concoctions. Curry goat, jerk chicken, roast lamb, incredible snapper! The breakfast is fantastic, made to order, whatever you want. This is not a resort. The pool is tiny, the rooms are funky, but very comfortable with good linens and pillows and comfy beds. Romantic, with candles, a fridge stocked with goodies... no TVs... that's a good thing! It's about the views, the sounds of the waves crashing, the free-flowing Blackwells Rum, the food, the spa, the privacy and the cool caves. The staff is very friendly and will always make you smile. My favorite thing about this place is you are never, ever asked to sign a bill or presented with anything that even reminds you that it costs a thing, its relaxing not to have dollar signs ticking before your eyes while trying to relax on an indulgent vacation! You can help yourself at the bar if nobody is there, you can raid the minibar every single day. There are freshly baked brownies and cakes set out in the afternoons. It is like going to visit your eccentric uncle who retired to Jamaica and told his staff to indulge you. The only thing you will see on your bill at the end is for the fabulous time you spent in the tiny spa listening to the waves crashing against the cliffs as you are pampered. Yeah, we love this place!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluehiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I decided we needed a short break -- escaping February weather, work and kids for a long weekend of simple relaxation. The Caves looked like just the place and was a non-stop flight away. Turned out to perfectly fit the bill.

We tend to stay at small hotels with local character and neither of us had ever done an all-inclusive. Well, the Caves oozes charm and has plenty of character. Those little cliffside bungalows are just as wonderful in person and, when you venture out of your cottage, you'll find a dozen different little nooks and crannies in which you can curl up on a sun lounger, sip your drink and forget all cares. Moreover, going all-inclusive meant we had nothing to plan or worry about while there. Staying on-site for all meals also allowed the guests to get to know the staff. Generally I would feel pretty indifferent about that, however the staff at the Caves are truly exceptional in their seemingly genuine friendliness.

I was seeking structure-less days to laze around, but thought my husband might get a bit stir crazy. Turns out we both did just fine. During our stay we did snorkeling with Paul, which was fun but there's definitely more to see in waters elsewhere in the Caribbean. My husband also enjoyed doing an extended kayaking trip with Paul. And we both took advantage of the on-site spa to get excellent massages.

Below are few things I was concerned might be issues before the trip. I tend to over-think things just a bit.....:

Bugs: I am a mosquito magnet and thought I might get mobbed by them while there. Wasn't an issue at all during our late February stay.

Food: I'm pretty picky about restaurants and the food here ranged from good to very good. Soups and daily banana pancakes were the highlight, desserts were consistently disappointing. Overall, though food was just fine.

No A/C: We stayed in a room with no A/C and never missed it. Of course, might be more of an issue during warmer months.

Charter flight from Montego Bay: Since we were only staying 3 nights, I booked the short charter flight to Negril to get us to the resort ASAP. Wasn't worth it. We ended up sitting around Montego Bay airport for over an hour before taking off. And the little plane was ancient. Next time I'd just have the Caves arrange a car/driver both ways.

One suggestion for the hotel: Get better mattresses and pillows! Both were rock hard and took their toll after 3 nights.

Hope that info helps. Truly, the place is just amazing. We plan to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Moon Shadow -- a whole house for the price of an upstairs room. Just know that it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ash5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Ash5704,

Thank you for your wonderful review and great feedback. We truly appreciate it as we are always trying to improve our offerings and it is through these invaluable comments from our guests that we are able to do so. We are pleased that the "charm and character" of The Caves was exactly what you were looking for and that we exceeded your expectation.

To note since you were here last February, AC units have been installed in our three remaining cottages that did not have so the summer months will be more comfortable for all guests. We have also added WIFI to the rooms as well. Our desserts have been revamped and we are stilling working to expand our repertoire. We have included desserts such as oatmeal fried bananas, apple-cranberry crumble and spicy chocolate molten cake to name a few. These are all mouth-watering and definitely worth a try on your next visit. Thanks for the tip regarding the mattress in your room; we are looking into that currently.

Our aim is for all guests to feel at home and like they are staying with friends as oppose to being at a resort and that you left feeling this way means that we have truly done our jobs. We look forward to welcoming you home again.

The Caves Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,037 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $534 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing