We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Caves
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from our second visit to The Caves. We loved it so much last year that we chose to take our sons and their girlfriends with us this year for a well deserved family holiday. We live in different cities and don't get to spend enough time together and The Caves was the perfect place to unwind and enjoy each others company. We were greeted at the gates like old friends and our family quickly understood what it was that drew us back.

Thank you to everyone, staff and guests alike who helped make this a vacation we will remember always.

See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clara58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    50
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
473
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have visited "The Caves" numerous times and they never cease to amaze. From the moment you step onto the property you know you have found a new home. The staff has become family to us and we always look forward to seeing them. The food is amazing and so fresh. A big thank you to all of the staff you always make us feel so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is amazing. If I were going to Jamaica only once, I would not pass up a chance to stay at this place. The service is amazing without being onerous. Everyone is very friendly. The food is very good. They offer a wide array at breakfast and they varied the choices for lunch and dinner each day.

If you're not familiar with the place, it has a small number of cabins and rooms along the cliffs and caves of Negril. Each cabin or room is named (we stayed in the "Butterfly" room) and you have your own private entrance. The room was spacious with a nice dining area and sitting area. It overlooked the length of the property, the lighthouse and the sea. The rooms are funky -- brightly painted and kind of shabby chic. We had coffee service and a refrig that was stocked with water, wine, soft drinks, Red Stripe and snacks. Most rooms have their own wifi, but there is also wifi for the common areas. There are a number of spots where you can dive from the cliffs into the sea. Some are full height, and one is through a hole into a cave in the cliffside. They have bikes, kayaks, and snorkel equipment available for use. There are nice trails throughout the property and they are lit at night for evening strolls. There are a number of pergolas and porches and a wide variety of sitting and sunning areas at all levels of the cliffs. There's a spa onsite, a couple of hot tubs and saunas and a pool. You can easily find privacy if you want it, especially since there are not more than 20-30 guests at any one point. You should not have trouble relaxing.

Be prepared for a quiet stay. The Caves is at the west/north end of Jamaica, about 1.5 hours from MBJ airport. While you can walk down the road to some bars and restaurants, walking into Negril town center is about 4 miles, and the beach is further beyond that. You should stay there only if you welcome getting away from things, or if you are prepared to invest in transportation. If you want activities off the property you will want to rent a car or take cabs (the latter is not cheap, e.g. $90 each way to the airport and $20 each way to a local golf course). Some places will come pick you up (like the dive shop), but I don't know about other local attractions.

Room Tip: The "Butterfly" room is magnificent. It's right over the "Sea Turtle" which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just got back from another short vacation at The Caves in Negril, Jamaica. It is incredible!! The food, people and location are the best!! The place to go to unwind for a few days. It is so easy to get to as well...an hour flight from Miami and and hour drive to the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The water at the caves is crystal clear amazing. We spent hours out in the ocean on noodles and rafts (while Randall brought us drinks). The staff at the caves is world class. You feel like you are staying at someones house with the best hosts imaginable. Randall made breakfast and lunch a delight. Glenn is the best bartender (RESPECT), Karen is so attentive to every detail... making sure everything runs smooth and that everyone is having a great time (she is a little like the Mom of the caves in the way that Mom takes care of everything!) Paul is the best! YOU MUST go snorkeling with him. He goes out every morning around 10am (except fridays). He will bring you into caves and show you marine life you wouldn't normally see. Also, I swear he is a merman. Paul will also give you tips for cliff jumping. I was so scared my first time but he stood on the ledge with me giving me the encouragement I needed. Make yourself jump... you won't regret it. We stayed in Stardust which was great but all the rooms are. The food here is fabulous. Great Jamaican breakfast. The soups are to die for! This place is worth every penny. Be nice to the wonderful people who work here and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda32185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently stayed at The Caves for our second time. We loved it so much the first time we promised ourselves a return trip one day. The Caves did not disappoint. It was just as beautiful as we remembered. What really sets this resort apart from the rest however is the AMAZING staff. They are so warm, friendly, attentive and genuinely happy. The resort is so relaxing and goes along at an easy pace. The views are beautiful and the food is delicious. We love that it is all-inclusive and you don't have to worry with signing tickets like some other resorts we've stayed in. The snorkeling is good, though we didn't go out with Paul on this trip. You should though! He is great. Also, be sure to try the Dirty Banana cocktail.... delicious. If you dine in the cave, choose the small one. We've done both and the small is just breathtaking. So romantic. The swim dock had been removed (was there on our first trip) which we missed. It was nice to swim out & then be able to sit and look back on the resort - so lovely. We worried on our first trip that we would miss the beach - don't worry - you won't! The Caves is an amazing resort and remains our favorite for personal service, delicious food, and a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms on this trip. The first was Moon Shadow. This is a wonderful cottage with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Nations Capital, Wash DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Caves maybe a year or two ago and this place is truly spectacular. From the intimacy provided by the few cottages on site to the Cave Dining experience and spa treatments, its almost as if you are on the property by yourself.

We had a great time socializing with the other couples during Dinner and the weekly BBQ event but you are also afforded a great bit of solitary thorughout the grounds.

We are a bit adventurous so we made our way to Ricks Cafe and 7 mile beach a few times during our stay by either just walking along the side of the road or flagging down a cab.

Each night we ventured out to a local neighboring Reggae Club/venue after dinner without any issues.

Planning a visit back this year and I cant wait....

Room Tip: Use the mosquito nest at night and keep shutters closed during the day when you are not in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retireby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
128.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#2 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,992 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Property: The Caves
Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing