We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views, vibes and people”
Review of Pewee's Restaurant

Pewee's Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Pewee's Bar & Restaurant is located on the cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and is situated between the only two castles on the west end of Jamaica. Breakfast and Dinner are served daily by our Head Chef/Manager Elvis, who has worked at this establishment for more than 30 years. In season the Bar stays open until the last man/women leaves. Stop on by for one of our signature Rum Punches, It only takes two! And don't miss our annual February 8th Birthday Bash, A celebration of the Legend that is Pewee Dawkins. Family owned and operated. This place is real Jamaica.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“beautiful views, vibes and people”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Pewee's is a real unique joint. It is located right on the beautiful cliffs on the West end. The food is very good, I especially like breakfast at Pewee's. They also might just have the coldest beverages on the West end. So many wonderful people at Pewee's, Winsome, Elvis, Danny, Gatey and Perrell. I would absolutely recommend you stop by for a drink and a meal and if it's a calm day you can also jump into the Caribbean Sea for a swim while waiting on a meal or just to cool down.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aquinnah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner you can depend on....consistent always, 25 years plus”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Great to visit a restaurant and return 10, 15, 20 years later and still find some of the original staff, remembering you, same great lobster dinner, fabulous blender drinks, and easy, casual breakfast with your feet up....watching the water, the fishermen, and the local morning business' of vendors traveling up the westend with produce, etc. relax and enjoy....no need to hurry...

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virginay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is my favorite bar in the whole wide world”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Atmosphere is magical, nestled on the beautiful cliffs of the West End of Negril, Jamaica. By far the best rum punch I have ever consumed comes from right here, none other compares, 3 kinds of rum and fresh juices. My first visit was in 1989 and the PeWee family made me feel quite at home. Good Food , Great Drinks, a lovely view and plenty of local personalities merge to make Pewee's a place you could actually spend everyday of your vacation and wish you had more time to spend. Two thumbs up, I will return again and again and always recommend PeWee as a must stop kinda place, I prefer it much over the Famous Rick's. Chances are will will meet friends that you treasure for the rest of your life, i know I did.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RefugeInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Vibes, All the Time'”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Great tasty breakfast, very well priced..the views here are amazing, wonderful cliffside setting, very relaxing to just sit there and absorb the ambiance.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocoriconwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in a CUP and a SMILE......”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

You made it to JAmacia.....you unpacked your bags.....but yah no got the whole vibe going? Then you walk into PeeWees......and PeeWee's vibe enters your heart. You get a rum punch or red stripe....and start meeting people from all over the world... Good conversations and vibes are everywhere in this place ...and the food....well I suggest the eggs benedict and or tuna steak....

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coltrane333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pewee's Restaurant also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Pewee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing