We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eats”
Review of Coletta's

Coletta's
Ranked #33 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Description: Small restaurant across the street from Rooms on the Beach.
Restaurant details
Description: Small restaurant across the street from Rooms on the Beach.
Grain Valley, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“eats”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

yiou must try it, she has the best fried chicken, and the service is great, the ambiance is local ..... lots of food for the price, 13 for 2 people, best around the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Man. Man oh man.

We visited Coletta's on our last night in Negril. We were just walking down the road and came across it. I am just so glad we did.

The dining room was quaint and homey, and the clientele mostly locals (always a good sign when trying to find the best place to eat). We all ended up getting the fried chicken, and...words really can't describe how it hit the spot. Perfectly seasoned and fried just the right amount, nice and juicy. We also had rice & peas and vegetables in generous portions. Seriously, at this point we all went to town with our meals, with the only words uttered being praise for what we were tasting. And if that wasn't enough, after getting our checks, it came out to about $11 US a person including tip, and we each had two beers!

If you are in Negril, go to Coletta's. I realize that this is a rambling kind of review, but it's only because the mere thought of that fried chicken makes me go temporarily insane.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Local Food!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

You cannot beat this place for tasty local food. Great steam fish and reasonably priced. Central location too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“True Jamaican food...”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Coletta's was very good. Myself and a friend ate here one morning and we were so full! But that is a good thing. Not to mention the price was great. One thing about a real, Jamaican breakfast, you will eat very heartily. Jamaicans don't believe in skimpy or light eating. So be prepared to have a lot on your plate!! The place isn't fancy, but we ate with the locals so you know it's good. Our bill only came up to $10 and that was for two, hearty meals. In fact, I needed a take home box. So again, if you are a budget weary traveler or not on a budget for that matter, then try Coletta's.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nkh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg, canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“local fare”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

good value, good taste, local food. . . . any time i see locals eating at a place, i know it's good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jitterbug66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coletta's also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Coletta's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing