We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Routes Lover's Rock Catamaran Cruise is awful”

Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover Dunn's River Falls, zipline through the mountains, swim with the dolphins, river tube at River Bumpkin Farm, hop on a bamboo raft and so much more! Island Routes is an independently-operated tour company that handpicks the best of the best things to do and see in the Caribbean. Come and experience fully-guided, one-of-a-kind adventure tours that utilize the most premium equipment, training, and safety standards in the industry! Island Routes is also a contributor and leader in understanding the importance of environmental and sustainable tourism. Currently operating tours in Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Barbados, St. Lucia, Antigua, Turks & Caicos, Cayman Islands, Grenada, Bahamas, St. Maarten and Aruba.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Island Routes Lover's Rock Catamaran Cruise is awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We signed up for a romantic sunset dinner cruise. We were never served dinner. The toilets were over flowing with urine. There was nothing romantic about this cruise. We should have asked for a refund when the first person we met from the cruise introduced himself as the person that was going to get us drunk. Do not dress nicely for this cruise. We had to wade out into waist deep water to board the boat. If you want a drunken party atmosphere, this is the cruise for you. For us this cruise was a waste of time and money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We regret to hear that you did not enjoy our Lover's Rock Catamaran Cruise. It seems there may have been an error in communication regarding the inclusions of this tour. Just to be clear, this cruise is a fun catamaran evening tour. During the tour, we offer drinks and light snacks while we play mellow reggae music; you can fall in love all over again while watching the gorgeous sunset. The dress is casual but we encourage everyone to bring swim suits. We apologize for any confusion or miscommunication.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a tour that better meets your expectations.


LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    8
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I found the trip to be informative it is a very long day. We did like that we had lunch at sandals negril, we had a chance to snorkel, which we found spectacular. Our captain on the boat was big papa!! Going through the towns let u see how the people live. You end the trip at the cliffs where you can either jump off the cliffs, we didnt but others did and had fun. We relaxed and waited for the sunset. Must say that was beautiful. On the way you make 2 stops to shop, too pushy. We did a 10 minute stop at margarettaville in negril, wish could of stayed longer there then stopping at the shops. For the cost its worth it. Our tour guide was Dalton and he was super informative.

Helpful?
Thank laurawag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Laura we are so happy to know that you enjoyed the tour of Negril and was able to not only see but experience the culture and beauty and culture of Negril, Jamaica. Thanks for booking with us! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.



LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun & relaxing adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We went on the river tubing tour and it was a blast. Our guide was Shrek and he was very entertaining and made our trip very fun. The water was a little cool but that didnt matter because we really didnt get wet on the tour unless you wanted to get off to swim which we didnt. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to have a relaxing trip down the river.

Helpful?
Thank sugargirl490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We're thrilled that you enjoyed the River Tubing Tour with Island Routes. We are also delighted to know that our staff made the experience even more unforgettable. Thanks for booking with us! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.




LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Guides make this incredible.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We did two tours with Island Routes, which I think also goes by the name Chukka, or they use a company Chukka to actually perform the activities, I'm not sure which. We did Kayak + Zipline Combo and the Dune Buggy tour. From Negril, the Kayak and Zipline tour is about a 90 minute shuttle ride. We kayaked down a river for about 5 minutes and did three zip lines, the last of which takes you over the aforementioned river. It was exhilarating. We arrived back at our kayaks and finished a good portion of the river, I would estimate about 2 miles or around 30 minutes. At one point our guides allowed us to hop into the river, it was refreshing and a great experience. This might only be allowed during perfect conditions.

Our guides, Keno and Rene (hope I spelled those correctly) were incredible. They were funny, helpful, personable, and really made my wife and I feel entertained and safe. The trip was fun, but could have been less thrilling without them. They talked about things we wanted to know and made us feel comfortable without treating us like children. This tour is perfect for people who don't mind a little physical activity but it is mostly relaxing. If you are more laid back, try the tubing tour, it is nearly identical but with slightly less physical demand and no zip lining. Yes, the photos are really expensive, but I didn't find the tour guides pushy about the purchase. They even took photos with our cameras (bring a waterproof camera and some bug spray).

The Dune Buggy tour was also an absolute blast. My only wish is that is was longer. I don't feel robbed of value but it just felt to go by so quickly. Driving the buggy is a rush that would be tough to equal in a less exciting environment. Our guide was slightly less personable than our previous tour, but he was still friendly and helpful. I wish I could remember his name to give him credit, I believe it was something like Kenyon. I hope that's close. Again, expensive photos, but the guides are great about using your camera. Expect to get muddy and a bit damp, especially if it recently rained. Our tour was rescheduled one day because of a large storm the day before.

I would do both of these tours again in an absolute instant and would be more than happy to pay the same price. Laying on the beach is great, but do yourself a favor and get on one of these tours!!

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Chris we're ecstatic that you thoroughly enjoyed the Kayak + Zipline Combo and the Dune Buggy Tours with Island Routes. We are even more delighted to know that our staff made the experience unforgettable. Thanks for booking with us! We'll be sure to tell Keno, Rene & Kenyon that they made your tours with us even more enjoyable! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.


LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ATV tour with Chukka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The ATV tour was GREAT. That is if you don't mind getting DIRTY. Please wear sneakers or water shoes you don't mind getting caked up with mud. The views of the mountain were breath-taking. I also enjoyed the history lesson (mid-way) through the tour. Be careful as they don't want you to take personal photos, as they take photos for purchase.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deleah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Deliah we are happy that you enjoyed the ATV Tour with Island Routes. In addition, we are more delighted to know that we aided in you being able to see and experience the beauty of Negril, Jamaica. Thanks for booking with us! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.



LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing