We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Everything you've heard about this place is true and more. We were there for 5 days for our 10th anniversary and could not have asked for a better setting to celebrate this occasion.
There was a misunderstanding during checkin and we were upgraded to a Seaside cottage with amazing views of the pool and ocean.
Swimming around the pool was a delight and was our favorite activity.
The views are simply amazing. Our first morning the ocean was very rough and was great to see the waves crashing against the cliffs. Sadly the weather did not cooperate and we only got to experience one sunset but it was great.
The property is well crafted and maintained and with its setting provides wonderful views and opportunities for great photographs.
The staff are all wonderful including the guys at the bar who are a delight.
We did no excursions but did walk to Town/ seven mile beach one day and to the light house another day. Some great spots to eat and explore along the way.
We ate breakfast and lunch at the local spots near and hotel and had dinner at the hotel. I will say that the Jamaican food was a little bit better at the local joints. Blue Mahoe was very good and loved the shrimp pot and their mango creme brûlée. Coffee was also excellent.
Highly recommended and Would definitely return some time in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank morinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to learn that your 10th Anniversary celebration was everything you dreamed of and more. We look forward to celebrating many more milestones with you in the years to come. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
429
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a good stay at the Spa. The rooms were great with great views. The rooftop rooms have the added advantage of getting to watch the sunset from your own porch. The staff was very friendly and was ready to help us with anything. Great people.
The blue mahoe restaurant had good food the two to three times we had food there. There are a lot of good food options nearby. So jump in one of the route taxis that you get from the front and venture out. Loved the steeply priced moringa smoothie.
The pool was nice with a great view. There is no shade whatsoever in the pool area. The inside of the folded cabanas made them into mini saunas for me with no way for the breeze to get to you. There were not enough umbrellas around either. You get to enjoy the friendly dog Rosa's company for free around the pool.

FYI they do allow teenagers on the property even if it's an adult only resort.

Overall nice experience at the Spa retreat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelzen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the breathtaking ocean views and friendly service offered by our SPA team! We do agree that a breezy spot under one of our umbrellas is an ideal place to be for a relaxing day on our beach deck! While our shaded cabanas offer complete shelter from the sun, wonderful for an early afternoon "siesta", your recommendation for more umbrellas is much appreciated. As an exclusive boutique property, refined young adults are welcome as our guests with the understanding of the tranquil environment we aim to offer. We look forward to your return one day, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place truly exceeded our expectations, despite reading every single fantastic review prior to coming. The excellence stems from a combination of the friendliest and most genuine staff you could possibly imagine, a serene setting with great amenities, and fantastic food. This place is incredible, and absolutely deserves to be rated among the best resorts in the Caribbean. We have been to numerous other "higher end" Caribbean destinations such as St John and the B.V.I, but the food and service far surpassed anything we encountered elsewhere. The property itself is flawless. So clean and well kept. I was honestly a bit worried about not having a beach, but as some of the other reviewers have said, you really don't miss it at all. We had the best days just lounging on the deck, swimming in the pool and jumping off the cliffs into the sparkling Caribbean. I wish only the best success to the property owners and especially their fantastic staff. They've got a great thing going and I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaragMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are truly honored by your kind words and wonderful feedback. The team awaits your return to paradise. one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a beautiful place ,The view is unreal so beautiful ,My Husband and his cousin & I ,had dinner there ,the second week in march. I email to reserved a table.They answer back with in a half hour ,The service was the best ,staff are amazing ,food the best ,It was one of the best nights in Negril ,would just like to say Thank you & we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are equally thankful for your visit and review! It is always a pleasure to host guests from off property in our Blue Mahoe Restaurant; open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a taste of The SPA experience and will look forward to your return as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel one day soon. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was a perfect spot for a relaxing getaway for a couple! The location is perfect and the owners have done a wonderful job creating a warm, elegant and aesthetically pleasing venue. There is a strong attention to to detail throughout the whole property which is not common at all at most Caribbean accommodations. Everything from the real brass fixtures on the doors and outdoor showers to the nice wooden accents in the rooms exhibited how much thought has gone into creating this lovely facility. Most striking to us was that the service was fantastic. It was almost as though the staff anticipated our needs and wants before we did! We loved the snorkeling right in front of the hotel, we saw eagle rays, squid, skate, lobster, lionfish, etc. We did not mind that the access to the water was via ladder down the cliffs, although it might not be that easy for everyone. We really liked the relaxing environment, we never felt as though the place was crowded even though the hotel was at capacity. We ate 90% of our meals for our week long stay at the restaurant and each meal was excellent. All juices were freshly-squeezed and I brought some of the delicious coffee home with me. Spa experience was very pleasant, the staff was great and we loved having the treatments outdoors. The owners are very keen to change the image of what Jamaica has to offer. They are doing a great job utilizing the abundance of fresh fruit, vegetables and seafood that is so plentiful in Jamaica to provide a place that so many are seeking nowaways...high quality accommodation, excellent fresh cuisine, and a service-minded staff. We were so impressed when the owner gave us a credit for something we did not even ask for! We looked at all places in Negril while we were there, we would not choose any other place! It would have been nice to have a fresh-water pool and jacuzzi, but after a few days, we were so happy with our stay, that it did not matter! Donovan was like our private driver the whole time and always arrived earlier than anticipated. Richmond and Duwayne were awesome out at the pool bar and Monique and Marcia made our breakfasts so special. We very much appreciated Winsome, Jacqueline and CarrieAnne at the spa too! We shall return!

Room Tip: We had Rooftop 3 and it was perfect....halfway between the spa and the restaurant and a few steps fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixLanguages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our boutique hotel environment lends to an intimate getaway where we hope our guests will slip into an effortless state of relaxation. We are thrilled to learn that you also enjoyed the organic, farm to table cuisine offered in Blue Mahoe Restaurant. We aim to provide a well rounded health and wellness experience for all of our guests. One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I will keep it short and simple. My wife and I have had the priveledge of traveling to many high end tropical destinations and The Spa in Negril gave us a different feeling than anywere else. The staff is what makes it so special. Yes the rooms, Blue Mahoe, drinks, sunsets, views, swimming, spa are simply amazing you can get these things at several other resorts. What you can't get is a staff that caters to your every need and ensures that you are completely relaxed and satisfied. I have no complaints except that I wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks for a greaet Winter get away.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. If you can afford it stay in the Seaside Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexFlournoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review! You have truly captured the essence of what our team works so hard to attain, a "home away from home" experience for our guests with personal service that is both warm and friendly. We are proud to welcome you as a new member of the SPA family and look forward to your next visit. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having been to several Caribbean Islands and resorts, Spa Retreat in Negril is hands down the best one we've visited. Six nights in February 2014 and we will definitely return. Small number of guests, beautiful property, with excellent attention from owners and staff alike, without feeling intrusive. The owners have worked hard to hire the right people who will embrace their values regarding work ethic and customer service. We appreciated the Seaside Cottage, spa services and outstanding meals. We were impressed with the openness to asking for and receiving feedback in order to improve. In particular, the engaging repartee with staff, especially T'Shawn, Dwayne, Richmond, and O'Mar made the trip fun.

Room Tip: Seaside Cottages are more private but may not be as spacious as the Garden rooms top and bottom. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are truly humbled that you feel we are "hands down the best" resort of all of the islands you have ever visited, what an honor! Our SPA family works hard to create a warm and inviting environment for all of our guests to truly feel at ease during their time in Jamaica. Until next time, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
224 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
29.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,376 reviews
4.0 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing