We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time and our first destination on Jamaica. Instead of a welcome drink we enjoyed a short massage after a long trip from Europe. You really feel welcome, their hospitality is coming from the heart. Gregory, Richmond and all the other guys are a great team. Not to forget the excellent kitchen, starting from traditional ackee and salt fish to an excellent shrimps pot. If we would come again to Jamaica, we will for sure go there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are honored that you chose The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel as your first ever destination in Jamaica. As always, it is our pleasure to embrace each and every guest with warm, friendly hospitality. We do hope that you will consider visiting our sunny island again. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    45
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
414
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had the opportunity of spending some quality time at the Spa Retreat, and it was truly 4 days in paradise...The visionary Christine and Shea are both kind, loving and truly remarkable. Their imagination in taking nature’s rocky undeveloped course and consolidate the two into a beautiful mosaic spa retreat is truly divine. I stayed in the Retreat Suite overlooking the vast blue Caribbean Ocean complemented with the view of nature’s well designed sculpture of limestone rocks and the musical cheers of the waves striking the rocks. Also, is the fantastic view of the straw thatched bungalows stretching on both sides of the spa, it’s just a beautiful and peaceful setting.
How can I forget the friendly staff, moreover meeting Shane’s 101 year old mother? She has a sharp memory, a fantastic singing voice, she loves yoga, playing the drums, and she is the first 101 year old person that I know who is computer literate and do daily scrabble on her IPad.
On your next vacation, I would highly recommend the Spa Retreat in Negril Jamaica!

Room Tip: Retreat Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are proud to learn of your appreciation for the construction and ambiance of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel property. Kitty Cohen passes on a warm hello and along the rest of The SPA Family hopes for your speedy return! Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel was a peaceful and inviting Valentines get-away for us. The staff and Christine were excellent and truly made us feel welcome. The location and environment was beautiful and the room was comfortable. The stone-work throughout the property truly was exquisite. We stayed in the retreat suite which had a heavenly bed and a fantastic over-size shower. The private balcony allowed us to sunbath and share meals while overlooking the grounds and the beautiful blue ocean. The service at the Blue Mahoe restaurant was excellent and the food was consistently tasty. There also is an outside bar and a salt water pool which was nice. If you are looking for a location that is private, serene, and a staff that is attentive and caters to you, this resort is for you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia69588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests! The Retreat Suite is certainly a stunning space with a concealed patio for lounging as well as personal turn down service. We must agree it is the perfect haven for a reclusive holiday. Until next time, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Spa Retreat, a fairly small resort in Negril, Jamaica. We stayed in one of the rooftop rooms. It had a very comfortable king-sized bed and attractive decor. It also featured a large balcony where you could sit and look out over the roofs of the cottages and the ocean below. On the nights that we didn't feel like going out, we drank wine on the balcony and enjoyed the view. The resort faces west, so we saw many beautiful sunsets from our balcony, the pool deck and the pool bar. There isn't a true beach at the resort - The pool deck is up on the rocks. However, there are a couple of places with stairs down to the ocean to snorkel or swim. We didn’t miss having a beach at all. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped.

Probably the best thing about this resort are the people who work there. We got to know Tyrone and Duwayne at the pool bar and enjoyed talking to them throughout our stay. The resort provides you with a cell phone with resort phone numbers and recommended cab drivers programmed in. Donovan drove us to dinner most nights and took us to the airport when we checked out. He was very personable and showed up within 5 or 10 minutes whenever we called him to pick us up. If you stay in Negril, definitely give Donovan a call if you need a ride! We had other drivers once or twice (all in the resort provided phone) and they were good as well.

There is one restaurant on the resort property, The Blue Mahoe. We ate breakfast and lunch there every day. The food was very good! We are vegetarian and were able to get a fair amount of variety for breakfast and lunch by asking to have menu items modifed to exclude meat, but there was only one option that could be made vegetarian for dinner (Rasta Man Pasta). It was good, but we didn’t want to eat the same thing every night so we tried other area restaurants. We recommend highly recommend the Rockhouse, Just Natural and The Hungry Lion. The Hungry Lion had several vegetarian dishes and we went there multiple times. All of these restaurants were very good and were no more than a 5 or 10 minute cab ride from the resort.

We also enjoyed several tours which we arranged through the resort:

- Several glass bottom boats pick up guests from the resort pool deck. Kirk & Roger picked us up on the Sun Baby and took us out snorkeling. My husband and I go on a tropical vacation every February and we have been snorkeling many times in the past. I have to say that this was the best snorkeling excursion we’ve ever been on. Kirk & Roger snorkeled with us and lead us around the reef. They pointed out many sea creatures and fish that we wouldn’t have noticed on our own, and let us hold several of them that were safe to pick up. They also had an underwater camera and took photos of us snorkeling together and holding various sea critters. At the end of our excursion, they gave us a disk of the photos which were very good - Much better than you get with a disposable under water camera.

- Rick’s Cafe: The Sun Baby picked us up and delivered us by boat. People dive from the cliffs at Ricks. Here you can enjoy food, drink and live music while watching people cliff dive. Reputed to be one of 10 best bars in the world.

- South Coast Tour: One of the resort recommended cab drivers took on this tour. It’s a 2 hour drive and you get a good feel for the island along the way. This tour is really 3 tours rolled into one. First we did the Black River Safari and Nature tour which takes you out on the river by boat. We saw lots of birds and crocodiles along the way. Next, we did the YS Falls tour. The falls are very scenic and provide lots of photo opportunities. You can swim there as well. Finally we did the Appleton Rum Tour where you get to tour the factory and then sample all of the rums that are made there.

Room Tip: We really liked the Rooftop room. It's less expensive than the seaside cottage, but still has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EG2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the welcoming energy and overall atmosphere of our cliff side retreat. We must agree, the sunset views are undeniably breathtaking as they cast over every inch of the property. With regards to the vegetarian options served fresh from our Blue Mahoe Restaurant, we can offer a variety of tofu and vegetable supplements for many of the dinner menu items as well! Our SPA Family had a wonderful time hosting you as our guests and anticipate a speedy return. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were welcomed by Christine, the owner, while having dinner at Blue Mahoe, the restaurant on the property. She was warm and friendly, and kind enough to show us around her property. Christine is very proud of this new hotel, as she should be. It's really gorgeous--the stone work, the way the rooms are nestled into the landscape like they have always belonged there, the picture postcard salt-water swimming pool, and the sandy beach that was built on a patio to make up for being up on the cliffs.

When Christine heard that our hotel had no hot water, she told us that we were welcome to come back and shower there. The #1 hotel in Negril? Really? How lovely... so we booked a couples massage for ourselves, and showed up two days later.

The massage facing the blue waters of the sea, the breezes, and the warmth emanating from everyone who works on this property set the stage for a lovely day. After our treatment, we sauntered over to the pool bar where we had a terrific lunch and a couple of cocktails. And yes, finally, a hot shower.

The staff there is consistently friendly and welcoming. We never felt as if we were interlopers, although, technically, we were.

Christine has created an experience here that that is not to be missed. There's a reason why The Spa Retreat has been voted #1. Well deserved. Next time we travel to Negril, I hope we can get a room there!

Room Tip: There are mini huts and little buildings that have rooms both upstairs and down. I personally did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are humbled by your kind words about your SPA experience. Whether you are a hotel guest or passing by as a visitor we wish to offer a reprieve for all to come and relax at home with our SPA family! We do look forward to your return and hope that we can pamper you for a little while longer next time. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We just returned home from a short four night stay at The Spa Retreat in Negril. Everything about this quaint resort is absolutely fabulous. Where to begin -- we loved the little bar which is right beside the ocean - and thanks so much to Duwayne and Richmond. You two are the best ever!! You made our visit so very special and we never missed an evening at the bar because of you!

The resort itself is very pretty with immaculately kept gardens around the cottages. The Blue Mahoe restaurant is superb - the only thing we ate off the property was a hamburger - we figured why go elsewhere when it is so good at home. I would like to personally thank all of the staff at the resort. You are the main reason that our experience there is unlike any we have had elsewhere - just impeccable and friendly service by all.

We usually do repeat a vacation spot, but I am already planning to book another trip there same time next year. Thanks to Shane and Christine for giving us such a wonderful place to go!

Room Tip: We had Rooftop 1. It did not have a good view of the ocean, but it was great for people watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and for spending time at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel property as our guests! We feel honored to learn that you enjoyed your experience with the SPA family and truly look forward to meeting you in the same spot for cocktails at our cliff side bar next year. Although, if you feel 365 days is just too long we will of course be thrilled to welcome you sooner! Counting the days, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I visited for dinner one night and found the experience quite pleasing. The food was delicious and the service was prompt and courteous. It felt fancy for Negril, but that's exactly what we were looking for. We will return next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aszekely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for dining as Blue Mahoe Restaurant guests! Our expert chefs and wait staff aim to provide a fresh, farm to table dining experience for each and every one of our guests and visitors. We hope that in addition to visiting for the taste of our organic cuisine you will also consider staying as guests of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel for the continuation of excellent service during your next visit to Negril!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
4.8 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing