We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Love, I miss you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This morning I savored a cup of the Jamaican coffee I brought home and remembered my January vacation to the beautiful SPA Retreat. Never having been to Jamaica, I chose SPA based on the Trip Advisor reviews and can vouch for the fact that all of these glowing reviews of the grounds, staff, owners, location, services and food are for real. This resort delivers it all.

My friend and I planned on a relaxing week of lounging by the pool and eating well. We got exactly that, as well as the added enjoyment of the company of a friendly restaurant, bar, front desk and grounds maintenance staff. Some of the other guests were more active during their week, taking tours, renting jet skis and heading off site to for dinner. It was clear to me that SPA can accommodate guests from quiet visitors to active participants, with everyone being satisfied at the end of the day.

Someday, I will return to Jamaica and will definitely stay at the SPA Retreat again.

Room Tip: We loved our evening routine of watching the sunset from our Rooftop 3 balcony. Yes, we were closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BinnieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We miss you too!! Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you chose The SPA Retreat for a relaxing ladies getaway! As we can customize all of our services to meet the needs of each guest, it is our hope to make your experience at The SPA unique and exclusively yours! We hope that you have fond memories that will last until your next visit to our piece of island paradise. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 725 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved our stay at The Spa Retreat! We did nothing but relax and enjoy our time there. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more attentive. We were so happy that we never left the spa except to pick up souvenirs for our kids. Best coffee we've ever had away from home. Christine and Shane are wonderful hosts and couldn't do enough for you. We can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in garden 3 and it was wonderful. Next time will try to get a seaside cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youghal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is so very reassuring to read that you enjoyed the peace and serenity of our cliff side retreat. Soon come for another dose of what will surely be some much needed R&R with The SPA Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the SPA Retreat in May 2012 and understand why they are rated so high on trip advisor.
The awesomeness starts with the pick up at the airport by hotel staff that handle everything for you once you clear customs…auto with aircon, cold water and Red Stripe.
The The SPA is really beautiful with meticulous groundskeeping and phenomenal gardening throughout the property…demonstrative of their attention to detail.
We had a stand-alone private cottage that exceeded all my expectations in terms of comfort, luxury, and relaxation. The bed will satisfy even the most persnickety customer, and paired with the ceiling fan adds up to a restful night.
The bathroom was complete luxury with outstanding water pressure, heating, thick soft towels, and a huge wash area.
The on site restaurant was absolutely wonderful…very fresh seafood, good wine list, and the setting was unforgettable…beautiful sunsets and cool ocean breeze…Wow.
The SPA treatment was one of the top 100 moments of my life, and unfortunately went by much too quickly…by the time we were done, we felt completely refreshed and rejuvenated. Again the details…the initial massage takes place outside under a trellis while you stare out to sea with the sound of the waves in the background. The products are all luxury brands that leave your skin like a babes. The staff are professional, yet friendly, and seemed to sense when I wanted to chat or fading to sleep...I fell asleep many times…
The owner is very friendly and served us many times at the bar himself.
Go here and you'll understand why they welcome you, "Home" upon your arrival.

Room Tip: Room number six
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eigerocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review! Wow, we are honored that you feel your spa experience was a "top 100 moment" of your life! We must agree, it is not difficult to slip in to complete and total relaxation, especially during a seaside massage! We look forward to welcoming you back to the comforts and tranquility of our "home away from home". One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Spa Retreat. First and foremost, do believe all great the reviews. We selected this resort based on the reviews here and it met or exceeded them in every way. Of course, there will be certain reviewers that will compare the Spa to other five star resorts around the world – ones where you have a private butler, a “pillow menu” or a complementary bottle of wine every day. This is not that place. However, I can say that this is the likely best resort in Negril, probably in Jamaica, and one of the best we have stayed at in the Caribbean. When you then factor in the price, the service, the “informal luxury” and the great Jamaican vibe, it far exceeds its competition. Specifically:
Location: Stunning West End location, that provides incredible ocean and sunset views. Do not waste time going to see the same sun from Ricks. Note that there is no beach – but the sitting and lounging areas they have created are fantastic. Also, as the resort is not so far out on the West End so you can actually walk to town and to the main beach for bars, shopping, etc. Kind of fun to see all the other resorts and the bustle of Negril, but honestly could not wait to get back to the Spa. Just be aware that the drivers are a bit nutty and there is no defined sidewalk.
Rooms: We stayed in a Seaside Cottage. More than enough room, well appointed, comfy bed, everything worked great, including shower, A/C, safe, etc. Plenty of outlets. Queen beds in Seaside rooms were fine. We saw the somewhat larger rooftop rooms with Kings, which also had covered porches for the afternoon showers. Very clean, housekeeping came twice daily like clockwork. Note that the rooftop and garden rooms appear to back to the street and may be slightly noisy. Also, seaside rooms 1 and 2 are very close to the restaurant and bar and may lack a little privacy.
Food: Very good, bordering on spectacular. Not huge portions (which was good). Very reasonably priced compared to other resorts and even back home. Seems the meal plans are not really worth it unless you drink A LOT and get that included. Drinks and bar service were great.
Service: In a word, perfect. Always there to get what you need but not overbearing. Just the right level of attentiveness, friendliness and camaraderie that makes you feel like you are with friends and family. This starts at the top with the owners and flows through to every single person we interacted with. Could name individuals but would not want to leave anyone out.
Spa: Great services, wonderful staff. Would be missing out if you do not partake. Note that there is no fitness center or gym, so rating for Fitness Center refers to the Spa Services.
Snorkeling: Borrow their gear and swim off the cliffs. Average quality / quantity of fish and wildlife as compared to other Caribbean locales. Took Vincent’s tour out to the reef and saw better stuff, but still not as good as places like St. Johns or Belize.
Other things: Top tier wireless and cellular. They have relations with locals for excursions to ensure you get charged a fair price and get a quality experience. Note that you cannot add gratuities onto any bills here (I think this is a Jamaica thing, not just this location). So even if you are paying with a credit card or on a meal plan, you need to tip in cash. And the $80 rides to and from the airport also required cash. We typically bring very little cash on our trips and use credit cards for everything, so we ended up getting change often so we could tip appropriately (10% seemed the norm) and having to ration our cash a bit. Again, not a fault of the property, just a helpful tip generally.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We are absolutely humbled by your glowing review and simple description of your experience being "perfect." The SPA team works hard to provide an unparalleled level of service paired with an exquisite setting and worry free ambiance. We are thrilled that you could feel the positive energy and caring vibes throughout your stay. Until next time, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose this property based on quality reviews and high ratings at trip advisor. We are happy to report we found other's enthusiasm for the Spa to be validated by our wonderful experience there. The beautiful property was complemented by friendly and helpful staff. The resort is restful and provides seclusion and beautiful views for lounging by the ocean. In short, we had a wonderful time there and hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theo778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad that your time at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel met and exceeding your expectations. The private and intimate nature of the property certainly allows for a well deserved reprieve from the worries of everyday life! Soon come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We don't typically do all-inclusive, but with the reviews of the food prior to going and knowing we just needed to chill we decide to do it. And quite happy that we did! Shane, the chef (owner has the same name and he was great too), truly cares about the food he makes and he does his very best with his team to create authentic Jamaican dishes as well as fusion dishes like Jerk Chicken Alfredo. They also have very good American comfort food. The fish and chips are excellent too.
We weren't there just to eat! We booked a seaside cottage and were very pleased with the quality of the room. If you want complete privacy you should go with one of the other cottages, but we never felt like we were in a fishbowl either. If it is was made from wood, Shane, the owner, built it! High quality wood work is on display throughout the property.
We really enjoyed the saltwater pool and that the ocean was just steps off the pool for snorkeling. Aside from music being played in the background there was a lot of quite enjoyment to be had.
We did get a few massages and thought that Temeka (sp?) did a great job with the 90 minute deep tissue.
We stayed ten nights and I believe what made the stay so great was the entire staff. From Duwayne, Tyrone, Richmond and Paul at the bar to Monique, Delroy, Marvin and the rest of the waitstaff and the already mentioned spa staff, chefs, owners and Heather and her team in the offices they all made us feel at home in the cliffs of Jamaica! We hope to return to Jamaica again and there is no doubt where we will be staying.

Room Tip: Try to avoid seaside cottage one if at all possible as it is very close to the restaurant and bar. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MjohnstonSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are excited that you enjoyed the Unlimited Food & Beverage served fresh from our 5 Star Blue Mahoe Restaurant! All of our chefs, including Shane, put a lot of love and care into each dish prepared especially for our guests. On behalf of all of the team members mentioned as well as the rest of The SPA Family, we thank you for spending time with us and look forward to the next time we meet on the cliffs of Negril. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The SPA Retreat provided a very welcome "weekend getaway".

The service was authentic, warm, efficient and extremely friendly. The hotel offers a great mix of first-world service with that unique Caribbean charm. The views are fantastic, rooms well-appointed and free WiFi is always appreciated.

I thoroughly enjoyed the food and having the open kitchen feel, but also having the ability to dine by the water on the patio, offers a welcome choice. We were thoroughly impressed by the food...for all the talk of farm to table, this is the real deal, with lots of fresh and flavourful local produce. But as a 'self-proclaimed hamburger aficionado' their Blue Mahoe burger was a definite winner in my book.

My wife enjoyed her spa services immensely and the salt water pool also gets huge bonus points.

It is always a pleasure to experience the essence of the Caribbean (the sea, sand and the unique island charm) in a relaxed but highly efficient and service-oriented resort environment.

The sunsets were spectacular...particularly the view that captures the infinity pool, the ocean and the bright orange sun against the magical Caribbean skies!

We will definitely be back...next time for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dkg2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you retreat with us! Our team takes great pride in offering warm, friendly service authentic to the positive energy that can only be found on the great island of Jamaica! We look forward to welcoming you for an extended stay and taking you into a deeper state of rest and relaxation next trip. Soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
262 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
518 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 81 in Negril
1,053 reviews
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $188 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing