We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xtabi Resort(Negril)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveler rating
685
51
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
51
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mahoeseaside cottagethe salt water poolneck massagebridal suitejerk fish tacosthe clifftour of the propertycoconut shrimpwest endoxtailall inclusive optionthe cottagesbeautiful propertyon site restaurantall inclusive plansnapper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 749 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I chose the SPA retreat for my wife's surprise birthday destination based on it's reviews and it was a perfect choice. We had to cancel our trip last year because of a death in our family too late for a refund, but they allowed us to reschedule our trip until this year at no additional charge (Thanks, Jamie). When we finally arrived at our destination, we were completely blown away by how genuinely friendly, personable and attentive the entire staff was. Heather at the front desk was there with our welcome drinks and throughout our stay cheerfully coordinated every activity. She and Christine ( the gracious and gorgeous owner) arranged champagne, flowers and chocolates for my wife's birthday. Gregory, who gave us our tour of the place, was outstanding with his infectious smile and ability to get everyone to have fun. Then there is the place itself. Shane, the other owner, is an architect by trade and he made excellent use of the site on the lower cliffs of Negril. The curving walkways, curving walls and the cluster of only 18 stone suites and cottages overlooking the sea were a feast for the eyes. Speaking of feasts, Shane (not the owner) the chef served up an excellent array of tasty and well presented dishes at the Blue Mahoe restaurant from jerk chicken to steak and lobster. Marcia and Duwayne at the bar and the restaurant were always quick with a smile, your food, Red Stripe beer, wine or rum punch. I asked for their best available Seaside Stone Cottage and we got # 7 next to the spa and very quiet. Another tip: don't bring so many clothes! We didn't use half of ours and even New Year's was a casual affair. One of the unique and thoughtful perks there is the little cell phone they give you with the names of employees and preferred drivers already programmed into the phone. The salt water pool, couples massages, cabanas on the "beach" area, great snorkeling and Rosa (the cliff diving dog) make sure you have all the relaxation or activity that you desire. There is no workout center and you have to ask for a TV if you want one, but rest and relaxation are the keys to a great getaway.
As beautiful as the place is, the people are what make The SPA Retreat special. Everyone spoke to us by name and we felt we had gained some true friends by the end of our stay. We hope we are fortunate enough to return one day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 2Dox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Wow! We are extremely flattered that you have deemed The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel the "best boutique hotel ever", thank you! From the moment our guests reserve their future stay in paradise it is our utmost concern to consider their every wish and plan for each detail. I am thrilled that after rescheduling you were finally able to make it to experience our private and unique property on the West End Cliffs of Negril. It was our utmost pleasure to set the scene for a romantic and relaxing vacation. We will be counting the days until your return, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've been going to Jamaica for over 10 years, and it still amazes me to stumble on gems like The SPA Retreat. I attended an incredible yoga wellness retreat there a few months ago (Nov 2013) - what a blessing to find this place! I have always stayed away from the cliff side of Negril for the sole reason of not having the sandy beach right outside my door. I was pleasantly surprised to see how easy it was to take a 5 minute cab ride to the beach, and then head back The SPA for secluded peace and relaxation on the cliffs. Christine and Shane, the owners of The Spa Retreat are warm, down to earth people that travelled to Jamaica for years before deciding to open their hotel in Negril. They have masterfully created a memorable destination for anyone wanting to experience a luxurious oceanside vacation in Jamaica. The accommodations are 5 star, really! - they are far above anything I've experienced on the island. The service staff are genuine, friendly and always willing to help. There is no hassling anywhere near this hotel - very unlike the beach which can be quite overwhelming. The food is fresh gourmet and there are many dishes that are authentically Jamaican - I still think about the ackee/callaloo/plantain breakfast. I really can't say enough about this place. The view of the famous Negril sunset from this property is as good as I've seen, and the swimming in the turquoise water off the property is easy and safe. I was a solo traveller and I felt completely welcome and "at home" at The Spa Retreat. Thank you Christine and Shane, I will be back, it's only a matter of when.

Room Tip: I loved my rooftop suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the private and intimate nature of our boutique property. Our team aims to offer exceptional 5 star service amidst a luxurious cliffside setting. We trust that you felt the positive energy and zen vibes of our wellness retreat! Namaste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel in December 2013. We have not been able to stop talking about it since then! Its wonderful. It's situated on the cliffs off West End road overlooking the beautiful Caribbean sea about 5 minutes drive from the Negril town centre and 10 minutes from Negrils famous 7 mile beach. The Resort itself is small and intimate, the antithesis to the large soulless all inclusive options we've tried before, there is a genuine concern for your wellbeing that I have never felt elsewhere. We came tired and left refreshed with memories that will never fade. Our only regret is we couldn't stay for longer in our fabulous Garden Hut No.5. The combination of handmade wood and stone enclosed by the most beautiful garden immediately transported us where we wanted to be...away from it all. Go sun lounging on their 'beach' patio overlooking the cliffs, and when it gets too hot go cliff diving or snorkling (they provide the gear for free!), then have some cocktails by the bar and watch the most beautiful sunsets imaginable. This is a haven from the world, there is no TV just peace and quiet in a place of understated luxery. The beauty of Jamaica encapsulated and concentrated for your enjoyment. The staff are ever attentive yet not intrusive, you're given a mobile phone with credit that gives you a direct line to each member individually even the owner, such a nice touch. Do yourself and loved one a favour go to Jamaica and stay here as long as you can here. Big up SPA retreat! we will return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn that you have shared your SPA experience with family and friends. There is no greater compliment than to receive a recommendation from a happy guest, so for that we truly thank you! Hurry back, our SPA Family is waiting to offer reprieve from the stresses of everyday with some well deserved rest and rejuvenation! One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spend four nights at the SPA Retreat and loved everything about it. The food at the restaurant was excellent, the staff was amazing - incredibly helpful and accommodating, including the owners who went all out. The setting was beautiful - gorgeous position on the ocean - wonderful swimming and just hanging out. Rooms were great, especially the balcony rooftops. Overall it was a lovely holiday - very quiet and relaxing at the hotel and close enough to the beach where we could walk and spend the day or get to any other night activities. Terrific from start to finish - would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. How fantastic to learn of your satisfaction with all components of your stay! We aim to put all of our guests at ease in an effortless state of relaxation. Each and every one of our SPA Family members is there to pamper and nourish the soul with genuine service. Our only wish is that you did not have to leave! Soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went stayed at three different hotels in Jamaica on our trip and The SPA Retreat by far was the best. Staff was always very happy, service was great, food was very good and the rooms were awesome! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Get the Seaside rooms!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AJRatani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Wow! Thank you for your review, we are honored that you feel of all the places you stayed in Jamaica, "The SPA Retreat by far was the best"! Watching our guests relax and enjoy their time on our cliff side retreat brings many smiles to the faces of our team members! We feel truly satisfied to learn that you were content with your stay and look forward to welcoming you back "home" again soon. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews