We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$492
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$89
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$880
$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveler rating
685
51
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
51
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mahoeseaside cottagethe salt water poolneck massagebridal suitejerk fish tacosthe clifftour of the propertycoconut shrimpwest endoxtailall inclusive optionthe cottagesbeautiful propertyon site restaurantall inclusive plansnapper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 749 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Where to start and what to say that has not already been said about this wonderful resort Christine and Shane have created such a special place. From the carefully planned and manicured property to the hand picked staff this place is truly a marvel. My wife and i spent 7 wonderful days on a full board at the Spa Retreat from Nov 30 to Dec 7 and were impressed from the time we were picked up at Sangster airport. The private driver offering is a nice touch and something less to worry about as it is about a 1 hour to Negril from Montego Bay by car. The driver we had was knowledgeable and told us stories and interesting facts about the island as this was our first trip to Jamaica any advice was well received and welcomed. Our bags were promptly offloaded from the van and brought to the front office as were quite early about 11:30 am we were welcomed and offered a cool drink and a brief but helpful tour of the property, then we had lunch at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant where all the meals are served. From the moment we arrived everything was relaxed and easy going we had a lovely lunch and had our first meeting of the gracious owners/hosts Christine, Shane and of course Rosa. One or both of the owners are on site and always available to answer any questions, address concerns, or just have a chat over a cool drink. The property is constantly groomed and maintained to a very high standard our room which was referred to as G-2 which is Garden Cottage #2 was amazing the decor is warm, inviting and very comfortable our room highlight definitely the double french patio doors opening onto a lovely terrace that overlooked a beautiful garden that came with daily visits from hummingbirds, butterflies and songbirds. We were on a full board that included our breakfast lunch and dinner which were all delicious. We were offered everything from traditional Jamaican food to gourmet dishes and if you ask Christine she'll pick the stuffed chicken every time and we agree it is to die for. If you are in the mood to try some traditional Jamaican food to try should be the ackee and salt fish for breakfast and the Jamaican sampler at dinner is very good. The deserts are decadent the cheese cake, chocolate layer cake and if you are particularly nice to Christine a mango creme brulee which is amazing!! Our first experience in Jamaica was amazing and made even more enjoyable by the wonderful staff and management at this true Jamaican jewel. Nestled away in the west end of Negril Jamaica known as the one love drive . If love to be spoiled, pampered treated like you were royalty give the Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel a look and remember don't worry about a thing just relax pull up a chair for the most spectacular sunsets anywhere and let the magic of Jamaica rejuvenate you. Thanks again to Christine, Shane, Teshawn and Duwayne.oh!! yes Rosa too....see you all next year

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mslebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your gracious review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance and relaxing vibes of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! As a brand new property we are proud to keep the grounds to the highest standard for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to the next time you return to "Negril's Newest Gem" and promise another cool cocktail awaits you upon arrival. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wow. I did not want to leave. Though this hotel is located on the cliffs in Negril, the rooms made me feel like I was in the mountains. This is a great mix of the best Jamaica has to offer, stunning sea views and a cozy room, that helped me to relax and regroup. The service staff was discrete yet attentive. I will be back to lay out relax there again and again! Thank you Christine for an awesome experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banyan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Although grateful to have had you as our guest, we did not want you to leave either! What an honor to state that we offer "a great mix of the best Jamaica has to offer", thank you! We look forward to welcoming you home again and again. Soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel Jamaica truly is an Eden paradise tucked away on the cliffs of Negril. It is evident from the moment you arrive that the staff’s top priority is YOU. During my weeklong stay, every staff member I came in contact with went out of their way to ensure my needs were meet and my stay was pleasant. The Blue Mahoe Restaurant staff were happy to accommodate my dietary needs. The reception staff were extremely knowledgeable about the local tourist activities and made day trips, easy and haste free. The Spa services were exceptional. (An outdoor massage while listening to ocean lap against the cliffs truly is a bucket list experience) Each and every staff member at the Resort was genuine welcoming and accommodating.

The seaside cottages are private, nicely appointed and have outstanding, comfortable beds. The property is very well designed, even when the property was close to full capacity there was still a sense of relaxed peacefulness and privacy throughout the Resort. An added beauty to the property is the lush topical gardens are impeccably maintained.

The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel Jamaica surpasses every expectation I had prior to going. I had an excellent stay and I would recommend the Resort to anyone seeking a personalized, relaxing, boutique holiday experience. 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Seaside cottges are ideal as they are quieter and have stunning views. Yet every room at the Resort is beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyliedelfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and top scores, it is with great pride that our team works to achieve a perfect stay for our guests! We do agree, the sounds of waves crashing against the cliffs while enjoying the relaxing touch of our SPA service providers is nothing short of spectacular and a must try! Your seaside cottage awaits, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The overall ambiance of the hotel sets it apart from all the neighboring "resorts". You feel secure and light years away from the daily grind you left at home. From the moment you step foot onto the resort, the staff makes you feel welcomed. The food at the resort itself was by far the best of anywhere nearby. There's really no need to leave this resort...from the spa treatments to the environment, to an exceptional staff, this place has it all. The overall value is extremely favorable and I would expect this resort to raise prices sooner rather than later. For now, it's the best bargain on a 4-to-5 star resort in Negril.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, ask for the Bridal Suite.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stobman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you distinguishing our boutique property as a leader in Negril. The SPA team aims to provide a private and personalized experience for each and every one of our guests. We hope to welcome you through our gates again soon! One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

If you are looking to forget time, relax, explore and be treated with friendliness and respect - THIS IS THE PLACE!!! The Spa retreat has the flexibility of pampering to your every need, provide excellent food and drink, and be an oasis amidst the bustle of Negril but also has a great energetic vibe for those seeking the more upbeat tones. The property is designed to allow for privacy within the cottages and apartments but offers a great central bar and eating area. The pool and 'beach' area are meticulously maintained.
The staff are friendly, accommodating, passionate and respectful and eager to ensure you have a good time. Delroy, Duwhane, Tyrone, Monique, Tashween, Marcia, Guwayne, Shane and all the grounds staff are incredible. The desk staff of Tacita and Heather are very helpful and resourceful.
Never at any time did we feel uncomfortable or unsafe. The rooms were kept immaculate, the cleaning staff friendly and helpful. We were given a cell phone to use to allow us to call for rides, local businesses, etc. Howie and Audley the 'staff' taxi drivers are friendly, accommodating and great ambassadors for the area. We spent a day trip with Howie visiting the YS falls and the black river and had a good exposure to the area with Howie giving us history and local customs. Both were also fantastic at taking us to local jerk stands that were delicious.
We also splurged on two services the hotel offers - couples massage and the cooking class. We cannot begin to recommend both enough. Michelle and Danisha were excellent and knowledgeable massage therapists. We are both health professionals and can attest to the excellent service received.
Cooking class - DO IT!! Our chef instructor was Shane and he was brilliant!!!! We made several local dishes and there was no shortage of food. Shane was patient, thorough and informative and above all PASSIONATE - we had an amazing time with him and Guwayne and even the dishwashers and kitchen staff jumped in to make it better.
The snorkelling right off the pool area is fantastic and amongst the best in Negril. Corals teeming with fish, skates, urchins, etc.
To Christine and Shane (the owners), congratulations on an exceptional spa resort. Thank you for all your hard work while we were there and we will definitely be returning.
Now...if we had only caught a fish... ;)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are truly humbled by your kind words! It is with great pleasure to learn that the Caribbean Cooking Class and SPA services were enjoyable experiences during your stay with us. We do agree, the organic farm to table cuisine prepared by our passionate and expert Chefs is a combination that can not be matched! Until next time, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews