We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I honestly have nothing to say other than this resort was one of my best resorts iv ever been too, as u can see all the other post's are exactly what i was gonna say its fabulous here and u should be ashamed if u choose other resorts i give this resort 10 (stars**********)

Room Tip: multiple style rooms! romantic seaside cabanas, 2 story also is very nice
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grantoloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for your review and kind words of your stay at The SPA Retreat! We love to here these positive comments and we look forward to your next visit....one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 691 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Thanks to Christine and Shane for saving our vacation. Not to mention the wonderful staff, aiming to please on every level. Dian & Heather were so helpful. Wayne whipped together the best filthy banana's ever. Yum!! We WERE staying at The Caves, and on our last day/night, a staff member informed us that they had fouled up our reservation for the last night, and needed us to leave. UGH! They recommended The Spa Retreat, which was their second mistake... ;-) We are Hawaii people and were dipping our toes in the Jamaican pool of resorts, and found our home. Not only will we be back, but The Spa Retreat is the only place we will stay!!!! Within an hour after being removed from The Caves, we were checked in, set-up with massages, and relaxing in the salt water pool. YAY! That night we had the Surf and Turf (lobster & tenderloin) at the Blue Mahoe that rivals The Palm. The guy walking around accompanied by a dog named Rosa and a Heineken is called Shane; he is the man!!!! thanks again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your review! Our team was happy to assist you with a one night booking, although just a teaser of The SPA Retreat experience I’m sure :). Human booking errors are highly unfortunate and hopefully rare, and we hope that your days at The Cave were fabulous prior to joining us. Thank you also for your kind mentions of our outstanding hospitality staff – they are the best! Looking forward to your return to The SPA Retreat…One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

You have already read many outstanding reviews from others who have stayed at this beautiful resort. We agree with all you have read. Our experience however shines a light on a different facet of this resort and its staff and brings to the surface the truly caring and considerate nature of its staff, management and owners.

While in the middle of our recent holiday in Negril, my wife stepped in one of the many roadside holes there (please be careful!!!) and fractured her leg. Apart from the many local good samaritans who stopped to help, we simply can't say enough about the concern shown by the staff at The Spa Retreat. From ensuring that we went to the correct medical centre, to finding us a real protector as a driver (shout out to Captain Ray) to get us there, to then making sure we were well looked after and comfortable before our early return home, everyone at the resort went above and beyond the call of duty in helping to smooth out what was a monumental speed bump in our holiday. The icing on the cake was the "we wouldn't have it any other way" stance of the owners on refunding us the cost of our unused nights' stay ... something absolutely unheard of in today's competititve/cut-throat resort industry.

While we will certainly keep our eyes open (for holes!) on our next visit to Negril, we need look no further than The Spa Retreat for our accommodations. They are simply the best in every way and we thank them for all they did to make our stay a wonderful (albeit shorter than planned) one.

Alan and Andrea

P.S. - The Pepper Steak is wonderful!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aslusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you both enjoyed your time at The SPA Retreat (minus the pot hole incident), and we look forward to your return. *Our staff agrees – we have the best AAA steaks in Negril! One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were staying in Negril and went here for dinner based on a a recommendation from someone at our hotel. The meal was delicious, and the views, service and friendliness of the staff excellent. We enjoyed it so much we went back for a day, had a wonderful massage and lunch, and a tour of the property. The place is well thought out with spacious rooms and great facilities, close enough to enjoy the Negril nightlife, but quiet, safe and extremely comfortable. Somewhere we will definitely stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: The individual round bungalows at the front are luxurious!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WestHamfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled you spent some of your time in Negril with us for SPA treatments and dining in our Blue Mahoe Restaurant! Our staff agrees, the Seaside handcrafted Cottages are absolutely breathtaking ~ we hope to have you as our guest soon. One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stopped by the Blue Mahoe last night for supper as per a recommendation from our bus driver. All of our meals were fantastic, everything was beautiful and cooked to perfection. They even had Ceasars with real clamato juice :) . . A canadian staple beverage.

The Architecture and design of the resort, blended with the coastline seamlesly and is an example of Canadian adaptability and ingenuity, hats off to the owners/designer.

The owners were very warm and welcoming and they gave us a tour of their exquisite resort, the views and accomodations were breathtaking. We will definitely stay here when we come back to Jamaica and would recommend to anyone who wants a beautiful place to stay in Jamaica.
R & B Wiebe

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wieber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found your way to our Blue Mahoe Restaurant for dinner during your time in Negril. Our team looks forward to having you as a future guest of Negril’s newest gem, The SPA Retreat! One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

While staying in Negril we went here to see some of the staff that we know from other places in Negril. While having a drink we meet the owner Shane and he gave us a tour of the place and we where blown away. There have spent a lot of time getting the little things right, from wonderful rooms to a great staff and wonderful food. if you want a top notch place to stay and have some of the best food I have had in Jamaica stay here!

Room Tip: Every room has a great view of the ocean, the resort in located on the cliffs side and not the beach...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for your fabulous review! We are so happy you found us and received a tour of the SPA Retreat property. We look forward to your future stay with us in paradise…One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

When we arrived in the Jamaican airport there was a sign that said "Smile, You are in Paradise!". Well, I don't know if that is true in all of Jamaica but it certainly was at The Spa Retreat. We booked here because we were hoping for a time of rejuvenating. We wanted good food, ocean view, hot weather, unique atmosphere and to be treated well. We got that and THEN SOME here at the Spa Retreat. We never left the premises....we found no need to. The food was excellent....rooms were very clean and comfortable....the unique ceilings, lines, and attention to detail was breathtaking. Every morning we woke up and said " another beautiful day here in Negril." . All the staff called us by name and took very good care of us. We will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Room Tip: The stone quad cottages on the oceanfront was well worth the extra money!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for your review! Our SPA team is thrilled you enjoyed the unique atmosphere, cleanliness and delicious food that The SPA Retreat offers our guests. We look forward to your return to Negril’s newest gem! One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
242 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $194 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing