We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whistling Bird Resort
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

WB is paradise. Intimate and friendly. Highly recommended for those free spirits who fled from the big hotels. We have felt very loved and protected Barvra, Lille, Sonia ... &. Thanks! Essential things to do: a night at Alfred's and a boat trip on the Captain Moses with Rohen. Come back soon !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Whistling Bird Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

A gem ~ small enough to be intimate, yet large enough for privacy, Whistling Bird is ideally located along the seven-mile beach stretch of white sand, Negril.

It allows for all of the comforts of an "all inclusive", yet you can make it your own, and be flexible.

Beginning with the ride from Montego Bay International Airport there was never a dull moment. The staff was friendly and informative, providing tips of things to do, places to dine and party without being intrusive.

Check-in was informal and thorough as we were greeted with a hug like long lost friends (though it was our first time at the Whistling Bird). That set the tone for our stay. It felt like home.

The rooms were clean and provided for privacy both inside and out becaus of the layout of the two room cottage we used. The daily housekeeping service was prompt and thorough. Ms. C took care of that with a friendly smile.

Ms. L and Ms. B were thorough, professional, warm and friendly. No request went unanswered. Mr. C, Mr. D, Mr. S, Mr. H all did there part to ensure that we felt safe and secure during our stay. and Mr. J provided the best service taxi service we could have wanted. He showed up at places without our request.

On the down side, there could be a moore consistent morning routine. Coffee/Tee/Fruit being available in the morning or throughout the day should be a staple. I should add here that just prior to our visit there were heavy rains whch caused some delays in goods getting to the market, sitll, things like Tea, Coffee, Hot water, Cups, Spoons should always be available to guest. Though the linen and particularly the towels were clean daily, they could be softer for the body., Nothing a fabric softener would not take care of.

Relax in the Hammock or on a lawnchair almost at the water's edge, while still on the property and you would be swept away. While relaxing, you would enjoy the gentle waves which lulls you in between vendors bringing their wares for you to sample and purchase. However, the vendors are respectful and if it gets too much, a staff member would appear, seemingly out of nowhere, to move the vendors along.

Nightlife is another plus. Strategically located across from the club "Jungle" and down the street from "Alfred;s" and "Roots", you will enjoy all the clubbing, live reggae music and DJ music you would want.. If you prefer to stay on site, you can still enjoy the music, however, when you are in your cottage, the music is muted and not intrusive.

Stoll up and down the beach and you just might end up in 'town for some local shopping or banking, or a short taxi drive would take you to the Westend and Rick's Cafe for more entertainment.

With a few adjustments, the Whistling Bird could be pretty close to paradise without the cost. You must experience it for yourself.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2trvl150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We have been priviledged to be able to stay at Whistling Bird 3 times; we even brought our friend from Germany; a trip she will never forget (and she brought others), and we have sent you other families, and couples...
your place has always been special
..a neverland, if you will
and your staff is unbelievable:
we cannot imagine a staff better than yours.
really
and we have been to other places in Negril, before we came upon (before the hurricane long ago, and after) your truly gorgeous and special place.....
great for families, and just adults, also...you feel as though your are a "family member"..and if you want privacy? It is there...you want attention in a respectful and flexible way? It is there
"Irie" (we just learned what this really means after hearing Jimmy Cliff speak on television a few days ago).
Take care,
Robert and Louise
NJ, USA
we will surely spread the word....!

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
Thank solomonset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

we have been going to whistling bird resort since it first opened, we have stayed there at least ten times, and we would not trade it for any place on the beach,,,,,this last review was from someone who must want her butt wiped for her......the staff the rooms the food, u can't beat it....the beach is fantastic, walk either direction and u find nothing but great people and great food, and then there's the sunset...wow......i'm sorry for this woman and her family, if she had a problem then she should have talked to the lead staff person......jim or lilly would have fixed it for them......we love it our daughters loved it......

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gphs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This was by far the WORST place I have ever stayed at in my entire life. I would of rather slept in a tent.

Let me begin with the arrival to the Whistling Turd. When you pull into a resort you can usually tell how your week will go by the looks of the outside....Well, there was a large, broken down grey cement wall with overgrown bushes and plastic flowers. There was no parking lot, it was just a dirt stop. The sign on the wall that they had hanging was run down and tacky, showing the backside of 3 girls in thongs...a nice picture for my kids to see.

When you get around the corner of the makeshift parking area...there is more dirt or mud. (depending upon if it was raining out) This small areas leads to the broken down sidewalk through which they called "beautiful jungle rainforest". This consists of overgrown bushes, hardly any flowers and more dirt.

The check in was ridiculous. No lobby, just a few Jamacian's deciding what room to put you in.

The room: Very old, run down. The beds were about 500 years old and yellow and brown. The rooms were so dark that you can't see any of your clothes. There are no dressers for your clothes. They only had two cabinets that resembled something you would see in a kitchen for your clothes. The lighting in the bathroom was dark. The water pressure was AWFUL and we did not have a hot shower the ENTIRE time we were there. I honestly didn't even feel clean after taking a shower. To get to the shower there was a ramp that you had to go down to get into it....very slippery and my daughter fell several times. There was only a screen on the bathroom window and no curtain, so bugs could enter at their desire. Anyone walking by can also get a free peep show. I witnessed a few employees snorting lines right outside our window.

BUGS: Let me tell you that I got bit every night by bugs. They must have been in the beds. One day my husband counted 17 bites! It was awful. I had to sleep with bug spray on every night and apply itch cream constantly.

We asked for an air-conditioned room. The entire week we had no air and they kept telling us they were fixing it.

This roach motel is located DIRECTLY across from a Jamaican nightclub-The Jungle. The Jungle ROCKS a few nights a week from about 10-5am. The music is so loud it sounds like its in your room. While the club is open, the streets sound like the Daytona 500. Cars peeling out, racing, beeping. One night, I heard gun shots. I was terrrified to sleep every night at this dump.

Food: GROSS and expensive. The cook in the kitchen acts like she wants to murder you when you place an order. Then your food may come within two hours if you are lucky. The only thing I would eat there is the fruit plate. Good luck getting a drink.....sometimes the bartender is gone and good luck on getting a cold beer. If you order a frozen drink , the straw is guaranteed to have a hole in it. There is no entertainment or nightlife at this place.

The beach had about 10 of the most uncomfortable, broken down chairs I have ever seen! They had holes in them and it was like laying on a screen door. Did I meantion that everytime you sat on one the back of the chair hit you in the head. It was very pleasant. I also notices that the beach in front of the "Turd" smelled of pis. When I took walks along the beach, I didn't notice the smell anywhere else.

I couldn't wait to get out of this place and counted the days....I wouldn't go to this place if someone paid me to go.


AWFUL

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keriann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I have stayed twice at Whistling Bird. To start with, the setting is beautiful. They take great pride in their grounds to the extent that they offer regular guided tours. The staff has remained constant over my visits there, and they seem to consider their guests to be like family. The bungalos are basic but comfortable. The food is authentic Jamaican, especially if you request something a day or two in advance. My oxtail was superb - thanks again Sonya.

If you are looking for the typical all-inclusive walled-off enclave, this is not for you. If you are looking to experience Jamaican hospitality, cuisine, and pure tranquility, you will find it here. No problem!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upright_n_locked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

After walking around and looking at many of the countless choices for rooms/hotels/resorts to stay at in Negril, we found Whistling Bird to have the most relaxing charm. From the friendly and exceptionally helpful staff, to the well manicured lush garden paths that lead to uniquely rustic cottages you are sure to find a happy slice of real Jamaica here. Rooms are cleaned daily. Staff and management will happily make suggestions or arrangements for a variety of adventures.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ishouldtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.7 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#29 of 80 in Negril
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#75 of 80 in Negril
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#25 of 80 in Negril
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Bird Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Bird Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#30 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $228 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Bird Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach cottages in a unique enclave. Totally immersed in nature, intensively landscaped. The cottages can be large or small, simple or deluxe. Whistling Bird offers amenities, several are unique. It's a small family business - an "UN" hotel,more like staying with a Jamaican family than a hotel in Jamaica! Ane we have and excellent Staff and a pretty full slate of services to offer. We can do food and drink, a simple breakfast or dinner for example. We offer a Genuine Jamaica lifestyle and serve Jamaican food and beverages in our private, open air bar and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whistling Bird Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Bird Hotel Negril
Whistling Bird Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing