We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas/New years at summerset village negril 2012”
Review of Summerset Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerset Village
Ranked #74 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed January 8, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights over the new years it was ok could not take a shower no water at times. Not really resort faults. breakfast included in price which was very good staff very nice. no one bothers you. I think the maids needs more help she works very hard felt bad, to much work for 1 person to do. over all I would stay here again very quiet.

Room Tip: ask for rooms where the pool is located
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Summerset Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Rooms are basic & clean w/small safe for valuables. Quiet at night which is kinda hard to get sometimes in Jamaica. No clubs nearby blaring music till 4am. Maid service and full breakfast included. Clean pool with bar and restaurant. Not many guests, probably about 30, and they were always going to beach or wherever so the pool was my own most days. Negril escape a small hotel on the Cliff side lets guests of Summer Set in to pass the day on the cliffs with access to the sea. Plus the staff of Summer Set is friendly and Ms. Campbell who is the manager is a pleasure to deal with.

I stayed here last year in a motel type room. I am returning this year and renting a one bedroom cottage. They have many types & sizes of accommodations. Located just about a block and a half off the main road on the West End. Cambio and supermarket at the end of the block and lots of good places to eat. Although the prices at the restaurants on the West End are pricier than in town, Lots of guests at expensive hotels on the cliffs to pay the higher prices. An inexpensive taxi ride into town will get you meals at about a third off what you pay on the West End.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget or if you'd rather spend your vacation dollar fishing, scuba diving or touring, than on a more luxurious hotel where your never in your room much anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are looking for somethin easy and unexpensive in Negril it is perfect! Compared to all the other rates in Negril it is unbeatable!
The palce is nothing special though!
The rooms where very clean but simply furbished.
AC is working, but loud. TV was working, but loud as well. We had the problem, that the northern past of Negril was out of water - so we did not have water for a day. We did not have hot water at all.

If you are looking for sth. simple and inexpesive you are right here!
Totally fine for the rates you pay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jette_Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I loved the place ! the staff was kind and friendly and the food was awsome . The bartender went to the store to buy liquior that i wanted ,and the rooms air conditioner was nice and cool . no complaints . Peaceful and relaxing the place is located offset to the main road . enjoyed my weekend getaway !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tameka g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We just finished a 3 week stay here, in a 2 storey "house" and loved it !!, yes the overall place is a little tired and not perfect but we realy enjoyed our stay, simple cooking facilities for those breakfasts at home and evening when you cant be bothered to go out to eat, or had too much rum and sun :-), nice big fridge to keep the rum cocacola and banana's cold :-) the pool always clean and cool, staff excellent and freindly anything you asked for was sorted out within and hour or 2. walk out of here and meet real jamaicans, dont sit there in a big fake resort..... just round the corner from some great cliffside bars/ restaurants, that you can speand all day at and snorkel from into crystal clear waters mmmmmmmm, wanna go back already :-) - Jamaicans 99% very freindly, and 1 % just normally freindly, we didnt meet a hussler or bad person all the time we were there .. use the route taxis ! excellent value !
dive with dream team , Ken and Sabine are real nice people and have great dive spots no one else uses - Forget Ricks , go next door to LTU bar , spent loads of time there good food great atmosphere without the pretence, recommend Xtabi and Catcha falling star for excellent dinners plus the roadside places, esp. Dbar and 3 DIves if u like your Jerk !!!
YS Falls... GO! spend the whole day there , take picnic and drinks, and camera.
Thanks to Petronella, Steve Boomblast Bunny Devon and all for a great stay

Room Tip: get a 2 storey house if u can
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

sweet people, safe environment, good food and quiet location. it is off the main road and away from night clubs so at night only crickets are heard. the rooms have good beds and are cleaned daily by a lovely lady. the cook, the security, the gardener and the office people are all kind. you can rent a scooter through them or just walk down the down to the rental shop. the hotel is located west of the main 7 mile beach of negril, up on the cliffs. rick's café is just up the road for a swim and sunset view. taxi cost a dollar or two to get to town but everything you might need is in the neighbourhood. check out the 3 dives for dinner, good food and outdoor vibe by the ocean on the cliffs. all in all, unless you want to be on the beach, by the traffic of town, this is a great spot to spend a day, a week or a month. enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Recently, thanks in no small part to a wonderful bargain deal I got from the manager, was able to spend 26 days in Negril at Summerset Village, and got far more than I paid for. The room was well kept as are the grounds, the dining room serves up cheap and tasty meals, the pool is sparkling clean, and it was located in a rural residental area, but just approximately a short two block walk to the main road. Route taxis are 100J from the cliffs to the roundabout, then another 100J from the roundabout to the beach. You can pay more for a private taxi if you want, but unless it's night, there's really no need to. This is an ideal place for someone who wants to get a taste of the real Jamaica and yet still be close to all that is going on. Most of the places in Summerset Village do have kitchenettes, except the air conditioned rooms which are in the eight room block I was in, and it suited my needs perfectly. I recommend this place highly and will definitely be staying again. Talk to Petronella and she will be sure to get you a great deal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Negrilah0lic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa La Cage
Villa La Cage
#77 of 80 in Negril
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#51 of 80 in Negril
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#30 of 80 in Negril
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Golden Sunset Hotel
The Golden Sunset Hotel
#72 of 80 in Negril
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#43 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerset Village

Address: West End, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $53 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summerset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet West End Negril garden property with one and two bedroom cottages, hotel rooms and a five bedroom villa. Located in a friendly Jamaican village with accommodating staff beautiful poolside with adjourning restaurant and lounge. Though not on the beach, the property provides a free daily shuttle to Negril's famous seven mile beach and a the property is a stone throw away from the coves and cliffs. Summerset Village is a welcoming resort, where guests return year after year. Property has the old time Negril charm that made the West End world famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summerset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerset Village Negril
Summerset Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing