We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Rasta Mikey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merrils Beach Resort II
Ranked #47 of 81 Hotels in Negril
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved Rasta Mikey”
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Merril's II was great. The rooms and food exceeded my expectations. The staff: Jermaine, Son, Charlie, etc. were all great. Everything is really clean, security keeps grounds free of unwanted visitors. Make sure to find Rasta Mikey and his One Love glass bottom boat. Well worth the money. Can't wait to go back. Will stay at Merril's II for sure. Irie.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    164
    101
    40
    33
See reviews for
62
179
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2005

This was our (my wife and I) first trip to jamaica, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was huge, the staff treated us like long lost family. We truly hated to leave.

The only reason I did'nt think Merrils was excellent was on a few of the nights the food choices were very limited, but the beauty of a resort like merril's is that if you are a guest at one of them, you can use the services at any of them.

So if we didn't like the buffet at Merril's II we would just walk down the beach to Merril's I. (merril's III was being remodel'd while we were there, so it wasn't open).

No problem.

know before you go, drugs are available, but a simple "no mon" is all it takes. Anyone who sez they felt threatened or in danger is not being truthful about Jamaica. The people we met were wonderful and at no time during our stay did we feel anything but peace and respect (even walking down the beach after dark).

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 1, 2005

This was our second trip to the island of Jamaica and we used this site as a reference in booking. The hotel was clean, staff was average and the food was, well, a little too European for our tastes. We didn't starve but, lunch and dinner weren't the meals we enjoyed on our previous stay (Mont. Bay).
The walls of the rooms must be thin as the couple next to us must of been on their honeymoon!! If you are in need of a quiet, restfull vacation bring ear plugs as the two Raggae Bars on either side of Merrills II were open all night at least four nights of our stay. On the plus side the beach was good, Margaritaville a blast, we went once a day (she really likes the drinks). Tops on the beach were optional and there really is a nude beach within walking distance (mostly old naked guys). At dusk each evening the smell of strange smoking mat'l. is very prominent. Just a little on the seedy side for our tastes, will return but stay in Mont Bay area.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2005

We just returned on Jan 30th from a 7 day trip.
Remember this is not a mega resort and you aren't paying Sandals prices. It was a taste of the real Jamaica.
Grounds: great plants and flowers, cleaned every morning
Service: was everybit as good as a high end property.
Tip the waiters and you'll be well taken care of.
Very personalized and attentive.
Rooms: need updating and some repairs, very dark, but great balconies and open windows.Extrememly clean.
Maids were excellent, just ask if you need anything. As to washcloths, bring your own, we've traveled all over Europe, etc. They don't have them or use them. This resort caters to Europeans, so....
If you ask, you can get about anything you need from the maids. Leave a few dollars a day, on the bed, and it will be appreciated.
Food: local flavour, don't expect a grill with hamburgers, etc. There are two main choices for each meal, lots of local dishes, and wonderful desserts. Remember, this is Jamaica.
Fruit choices are slim, due to the hurricane destroying their trees, but still good, usually 3 choices at each meal.
Drinks: Can't go wrong with Red Stripe, liquor is all local brands so don't expect top shelf. If you must have those brands, bring your own.
Beach: beautiful caribbean water, it's a public beach, so yes, there are vendors selling everything but a polite no thank you and they leave you alone. You can walk for miles each way. Never felt unsafe, but used discernment. Several topless, Merills I and III cater mostly to Europeans. There were quite a number of Americans at II.
All in all, it was a great vacation, all the staff were very helpful.
A lot of it is what you make of it. If you want top of the line rooms and food choices, stay down the beach at Sandals, Beaches or Couples.
If you want the real Jamaica, great beach and personalized service, stay at Merrils II

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank aktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 31, 2005

We stayed at Merrils II jan 12 -19 and had an overall good time.
Considering the price it was a bargain. The food was mediocre and there wasn't alot of variety but there was plenty and it certainly kept us going.
Two nights i paid an additional $20 and had a pretty good sized lobster which was prepared well.
The service was EXCELLENT. The staff went out of their way to be helpful
and were very friendly. The drinks with the all inclusive were easily gotten and the barstaff would fill an oversized container if you had one. The beach was beautiful and well maintained. The rooms were in need of paint as well as the buildings themselves but dispite this were actually quite attractive. The rooms were set in two rows with a tropical garden in between. all rooms were a very short walk to the beach, bar and restaurant.
Not bad at all and we would go back.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2005

This is not the place to go if you want even "above" average. While the staff was nice, especially the waiter, Omar, and a security guard, Stanley, the food is mediocre at best -- very repetitive. Our first 2 days we were put in a TERRIBLE room with a "tool shed view", where the ceiling leaked onto the floor, it was moldy and stunk, we had no hot water and a smoke detector battery that kept beeping. Despite reporting these things to the office several times, nothing was changed. We even went so far as to climb up and take the battery out of the detector, but they just put the old one back in instead of putting in a new one. After that, we were upgraded to a nicer room, but the office staff remained untrained and confused whenever a question was asked. We constantly had to ask for towels and they didn't know what a washcloth was.
Be aware of the fact that in Negril or in resorts where the beaches are "open" to the public, you will get harrassed constantly by vendors to buy everything, including drugs and sex. I was walking with my fiance at night on the beach and got asked by a native if she could "join" us! I understand that these people are poor and need to make money, but it makes it hard to relax in that atmosphere of constant pushing. This of course is not Merril's fault.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julia522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 20, 2004

This was my first time traveling to negril. I warn ya dont travel the beach alone at night, the second night i was there i think i ran into every waco out there that night. but besides that its a great place to visit. Everyone at the resort was great and very helpfull. theyll bend over backwards to make sure you have a good time. they treat you like your at a 5 star resort. they offer a variety of jamaican cuisine. and make sure ya tip if you want good service. over all it was a great trip.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#39 of 81 in Negril
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar-B-Barn
Bar-B-Barn
#57 of 81 in Negril
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#36 of 81 in Negril
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.1 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
0.1 mi away
Grand Pineapple Beach Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrils Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrils Beach Resort II

Property: Merrils Beach Resort II
Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | Seven Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrils Beach Resort II 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, Merril's II Beach Resort offers a tranquil and serene environment with 38 cozy, clean, air-conditioned rooms. Wake up to the glorious sounds of chirping birds outside your spacious guest room window, or enjoy the warm breeze from your own private balcony overlooking either Merrils' own botanical gardens or the beautiful Caribbean sea! This comfortable, friendly beachfront resort offers a selection of ocean, pool or garden view rooms, each equipped with two double beds, a ceiling fan, air conditioning, and its own private balcony. Other amenities are also provided such as Cable Television, Safety Deposit Boxes and In-room Telephone Services. Whether you are relaxing by the pool with an exotic Caribbean cocktail, or soaking in the warm rays of Jamaican sunshine, leave your worries behind and let your mind wander. If you ever dreamed of a vacation where all you did is relax, enjoy yourself, and have fun frolicking in the sand, then Merril`s II is where you should be! Our courteous staff are waiting to serve you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merrils Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrils Beach Resort Ii Hotel Negril
Merrils Beach Hotel Ii
Merrils Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing