We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merrils Beach Resort II
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food was terrible.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms - My daughter and I stayed at the hotel in May 2013 for only 3 nights on the weekend. The room was okay....the shower in terms of the water pressure could be much, much better. The shower was so small I literally had my hands at my side so I could turn around to take a shower. However, before you take a shower you need a washrag. When we checked in there wasn't any. When we requested one, the housekeeper who brought it told me she could only locate this one and it was in the dryer. The rag was half-dry. We did not get another until late Saturday evening.

The living area is very informal. Those chairs were hard and very straight. You would think since there is no entertainment, they could have at least made the rooms comfortable for you to relax in, so we sat on the porch and talked. The grounds are small but well kept and so while walking we saw others chatting on the porch as well. We had a good night sleep.

Meals - You are only provided with 3 meals so if you get there after 2:00 or 2:30 (whichever is check-in) don't expect to be fed until 7pm when its dinner. Luckily, I saw this gentleman eating a sandwich and when I enquired from the waitress, she brought us a sandwich. However, you can drink as much as you want.

The meals were horrible (cold, burnt or just okay). The only thing I loved was the breakfast on Saturday but only because I had choices (there is not a lot). They usually have a Jamaican buffet on Saturdays...30 mins later they ran out of an item and they did not replace it. Sometimes the meal starts a little late so don't be taking up an plate until they tell you to do so. Also, I hated the presentation of the desserts (the cake icing was soft due to the heat I presume) and the choices. They had about 2-3 cakes and all they tasted the same.

There is no entertainment, so you are on your own.

Beach - The beach is great. You can walk for miles, just be prepared for crafters asking you to come look at their stuff. That was fine...they don't hassle you to buy. There is security at the hotel and he really makes sure you are not bothered when you are on the beach.

Service - other than the rag situation, the staff were friendly.

Location - I loved how close it was to the duty-free shops.

Miscellaneous - I should point out that I worked at an all-inclusive hotel before and was expecting something similar. So read the site well before coming and don't expect what you usually get at an all-inclusive hotel like Hedonism, Sandals, etc. If the food was better I would go back or even recommend it. I notice that not a lot of North Americans were there. I guess they catered to Russians, Germans or some other nationality as those were the language I saw in the rooms on couple of items (cant remember).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ebswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    157
    100
    40
    33
See reviews for
61
172
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The beach is beautiful. The buildings and dining area are also beautiful. The service? Not so much. A good portion (not all) of the staff acted like we were an inconvenience the time we were there. My family is of Jamaican descent so maybe they're nicer to tourists. The food is okay. I loved the breakfast, as they made omelets to order which were great. Lunch and dinner however were unmemorable. The bartenders were a mix of very nice and cold and they didn't know common drinks. The drinks they did make were watered down. I purchased a wifi card to do some work in my room and the front text failed to tell me that the service was down until I came back hours later to complain. They then gave me the run around until finally giving me my money back the day I left. I will say that the night desk person was very friendly and nice.

Would I suggest someone stay?

The price is great and the beach is beautiful so probably yes, but just don't go in expecting fantastic service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiedances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The beach was the only extraordinary thing about the resort. The service wasn't the best, the staff weren't particular friendly, and the rooms were a little dirty. I did enjoy that it was all inclusive, the food wasn't especially good till the last day and did not have much variety. The bar tender didn't know what the drink sex on the beach was though she said she did. I got a coffee drink instead. My sister paid for wifi in the room so she could do a quick assignment and it did not work. She got the run around till she could finally get her money back the next day.

All in all, if all you are looking for is place to sleep and eat while you enjoy the beach then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pioneerspirit86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you want a resort that provides three meals a day and alcoholic drinks till 10pm, this is the place. For a seven night stay for two, including transportation to and from Montego Bay airport, I ended up spending around $800. $800 in Negril Jamaica right on the famous Seven Mile Beach with everything included. Can't beat that. I love to travel cheap and was thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salahhudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Trelawny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to be but would be better if they could have an open bar with not only sink but something to eat also,if you happen to miss breakfast , lunch or dinner you have to go out on the street for food , room service a plus atmosphere wonderful staff great and well attentive. Another thing in the dinning room there was a lot of flies that needs to put under control :( that part wasn't great

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at Merrils ll four time over the years, the first time it was great this was in the late 80's, but every time since it got worse and this time it was just plain BAD. The rooms are OK, beds and pillows are lumpy, we had no hot water for two days and sometimes no water at all. They blamed it on a drought but we also stayed on the cliffs an had so much water pressure almost knocked you over. Make sure your resort has their own water tanks and pump also a generator. The food, well for the most part it was not eatable. The drinks are the best joke of all, the booze is so watered down and they don't use fruit in their drinks anymore it is all just flavors out of a bottles. I must say the housekeeping was good, front desk was OK, dinning room help sucked and the guard on the beach was no help and sometimes wasn't around. Since I had been there over the last 25 years I can see the owners have not been doing any maintenance or upkeep to the place at all or very little if any. I talked to many other guests and most felt the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krfrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

MIlwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my third stay at Merril's 2 and I'm sorry to say, it will be my last. This place has really gone down hill in the past 5 years and although I always set my expectations low for Jamaica, this place very much disappointed me. The rooms, although freshly painted, are incredibly dark, with heavy curtains that are almost impossible to open. The beds are lumpy and I'm not sure there is a word to describe the old pillows (which I'm guessing have NEVER been replaced). The grounds are nice and the beach is raked each morning. Merrill's location on the beach is okay, but it gets very noisy during holidays because it butts up to the public land (think loud base beating for 24 hours straight). The all inclusive plan is a joke unless you like syrup in your drinks, flat soda, bones and broth. Breakfast is good as they do make fresh omelets to order. My biggest complaint is the service. The staff doesn't seem to care for the guests at all and often acts as though we are an inconvenience. My room had zero hot water for the 4 nights i was there and sometimes no water at all! You can tell the front desk staff about your problems, but they don't offer any assistance. They charge you 3 dollars a day for the use of the in room safe and only have one key for each room. I can't express enough how disappointed I was with my stay. There are so many places to stay in Negril, don't waste your time here, no matter the price. See my reviews for the White Sands and the Blue Cave Castle - two places I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#32 of 85 in Negril
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#35 of 85 in Negril
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
0.1 mi away
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
0.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrils Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrils Beach Resort II

Property: Merrils Beach Resort II
Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | Seven Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrils Beach Resort II 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, Merril's II Beach Resort offers a tranquil and serene environment with 38 cozy, clean, air-conditioned rooms. Wake up to the glorious sounds of chirping birds outside your spacious guest room window, or enjoy the warm breeze from your own private balcony overlooking either Merrils' own botanical gardens or the beautiful Caribbean sea! This comfortable, friendly beachfront resort offers a selection of ocean, pool or garden view rooms, each equipped with two double beds, a ceiling fan, air conditioning, and its own private balcony. Other amenities are also provided such as Cable Television, Safety Deposit Boxes and In-room Telephone Services. Whether you are relaxing by the pool with an exotic Caribbean cocktail, or soaking in the warm rays of Jamaican sunshine, leave your worries behind and let your mind wander. If you ever dreamed of a vacation where all you did is relax, enjoy yourself, and have fun frolicking in the sand, then Merril`s II is where you should be! Our courteous staff are waiting to serve you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merrils Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrils Beach Resort Ii Hotel Negril
Merrils Beach Hotel Ii
Merrils Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing