We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gardenia Resort
Nearby Hotels
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$123
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$135
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$153
$133
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
13
24
14
12
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
24
14
12
18
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 81 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
14
Reviewed October 30, 2005

I absolutely loved my holiday at this resort. The grounds were really nice and the ataff were so helpful. I went with my mum and grandma and they came back as relaxed as I did. The staff are fabulous (we even made friends with the chef who would prepare us whatever we wanted for dinner.) Both of the chef's are so lovely and cook brilliant food. The bar staff were brilliant especially Theresa and Kirk. They were so friendly and down to earth and done their best to make our stay memorable. We even got to meet the owner. He's such a lovely, down to earth man who would make us coffee in the morning if we were there when he was. The rooms were lovely. They were big and ALWAYS clean. This resort is for those who want to forget about the hustle and bustle of life and just kick back and relax in beautiful surroundings. The beach was about 2 minutes walk and we'd go for early morning walks by the sea, met lots of locals and saw amazing sea life. The nightclub down the road (Jungle) was brill. It houses everything under one roof. I've been to Jamaica about 7 times and this is truly one of the best resorts that I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
117
Reviewed May 23, 2005

I have been booking last minute deals for years and have never been stung - until now! Daniel Beach is rustic to say the least. It has the potential of being a beautiful hotel but has been allowed to fall into disrepair. The day that we got there, the swimming pool was as green as a shamrock and it took nearly a week for them to clean it. Our room was one of the best they had, with a private balcony and windows all around. Other guests weren't so lucky.

Many of the larger, self-catering rooms were damp, had beds smelling of urine, poor/no lighting, dirty floors and in general felt like caves. Also - the range of insect life stalking the bathrooms was quite breathtaking! Not surprisingly, many guests insisted on being transferred within the first day or two.

In spite of the above - my friend and I decided to give the place a go. There is a rustic charm to the buildings at Daniel Beach (if you look closely enough).

Unfortunately, the harrassment from the male members of staff (including the security staff), was too much to overlook. For 3 weeks we endured inappropriate comments, touching, and being heavily overcharged for everything (J$500 for one round of toast)! Complaints to the management resulted in the two of us being surrounded in the bar one night by male friends of the staff, and being so badly intimidated that we packed a bag and rented another room for the night. (This can be verified by Airtours if the management dispute this)!

Both of us ladies are familiar with Jamaica and are seasoned travellers. The one place that you should be guaranteed to feel/be safe is in your hotel. Daniel Beach is not in my opinion a safe environment and I couldn't with good conscience recommend it to anybody - especially female tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2005

I wouldn`t put a dog in the daniel village ,it was unbelieveable my two children wouldn`t stay in thier room . so we all end up in ours, the cockroachers where huge. complained about kids room, saying they couldn`t sleep in it.As for the food you just couldn`t eat what was put out, every day we had to buy out. we ask to be moved to another hotel only to be told we had to pay a extra 2 thousand pounds to move of which we carry round with us.many people paid to be moved it is a place that you should avoid. the only good thing was that we got to see alot of things as we couldn`t bear to stay in the hotel.

19  Thank debbieLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NYC
120
Reviewed January 8, 2005

There were so many things wrong with this place that I've just decided to go ahead and list them.

- Security consists of a guy at the gate wearing a Toronto Raptors jersey who lets anybody in. The lighting within the compound is very bad and there are rogue males wandering around at all hours. If I was female, I would have been very uncomfortable.
- If you're on the second floor and the hotel is close to half full, expect to be without water most of the time. Don't worry though, you can always use the cold water spout outside.
- The food at the hotel restaurant is terrible.
- Some of the rooms have 5 single beds in them.
- If you're near the pool then expect to be up all night. The bar is 24/7 and the music is quite loud.
- The pool itself is one of the nastiest I've seen. It's filled with hair, soap, grass, insects, etc.
- The jacuzzi that others have mentioned is a misquitto infested, muck filled hole.

If you have the oppurtunity to stay ANYWHERE else in Negrill, then by all means I recommend you do so.

20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hull, England
16
Reviewed November 16, 2004

When we booked our holiday last minute (about three weeks before flying), we didn't know much about the Daniel Beach Village, but when we found this website we were more than a little bit disturbed by some comments. When we arrived we were more than happy with what we found. Yes, it's not the Ritz, but the room was clean, and everything worked. We went at the end of October 04/begininning of November, which is the low season, so the place was fairly deserted. The hurricane had just hit not that long ago, which affected a number of the restaurants and their supplies - on most occasions the pool bar (which was the only restaurant open in the hotel at that time of year) didn't have the food we asked for, but when it did come it was a decent meal for a reasonable price. The staff were great - nice and friendly and were happy to help with our problems. They even lent us a kettle (by borrowing it from the bar!)
For a 2 star hotel we couldn't really fault it, but then we had only paid a fraction of the brochure price. If we had paid full price we may have been more critical!
A point to note is that at least 2 groups actually got transferred from Foote Prints Hotel just across the road (which is a 3 star) and were much happier at Daniel Beach. Their complaints were unbelievable - some people changed room 5 times in ONE NIGHT at Foote Prints!
Hmm, "Beach Hotel" is perhaps stretching the truth a little, as you do have to cross a road, which services a million taxis, but it is only 2 minutes' walk to get to the beach.
Food-wise, for those who didn't go all-inclusive, the restaurants are all pretty good: For excellent food and surroundings, try Kuyaba, or even walk to Norma's. If you ask a local (especially taxis) for a good restaurant, they will tell you "Sweet Spice", which is just past the town centre (which is not really worth visiting unless you like urban decay). Sweet Spice is definitely for those on a tight budget, but worth a try - they had a wide selection on the menu, and even had most of it available. No alcohol licence, though they offered to go out and buy us a bottle from the local shop - albeit at an elevated price (still only £7 isn't bad)
Taxis shouldn't cost more than $100JA (about £1) per person, to go anywhere from Daniel Beach to town or maybe only 1 minute up the road. It's always worth haggling - don't let them rip you off (unless you want to add it to your own Jamaican experience like we did) - there are plenty of taxis around (including unlicenced ones - stick to the red number plated ones if you can)
For nightclubs, Jungle is okay for a cheesy dance, and to see what Jamaicans do for fun. I was a bit apprehensive, but there were no problems - locals and tourists - all getting along together without any hassle.

I could go on, but for a last minute holiday we couldn't fault it. Go see for yourself.
Just avoid Foote Prints!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews