We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, quiet and cheap.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, quiet and cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

After a few days on the beach we headed for quiet on the cliffs. Clean, modest rooms but great views of the cliffs. Hot water and shower pressure was the only negative thing I could say about the place. Excellent breakfast and lunches and the staff was extremely friendly. Pool was clean as well as the grounds. If you stay here make sure to visit De Bar accross the street for great food and FREE WiFi as Sunset Cliffs is not. Also try Erica's down the road for a cheap local fare. Irie!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
42
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Mid-March 2013 for our second honeymoon.

Although not as fancy as some of the upscale resorts in Negril, Sunset on the Cliffs offers all you need at a great price. Each room is furnished simply. No frills. The best part of the room is the porch - ours looked out on the cliffs and the Caribbean Sea. Our sunsets were as good as anywhere on the island!!!

You can swim in the Sea off of the cliffs via a ladder into the water, or, for the more adventuresome, dive off the cliffs!!! Great fun!

The hotel restaurant was lovely and also looked out over the Sea. Breakfast was very good. We ate there for dinner one night and it was adequate, but featured a menu that leaned heavily toward tourists with pasta and burger options - in other words, not local fare, which was disappointing. There are better meal options in the area (see my other reviews).

If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive place to stay in Negril, this is a great option and I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room for spectacular sunsets!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamikef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have been to Negril many times and have also brought the family (2 girls, 14 and 18) and stay at a different more expensive resort. I decided to take the youngest alone with me and not spend as much money...This is definitely a more budget hotel but absolutely served its purpose! It was relaxing, well air-conditioned, we had a great time, were safe, ate well (mostly at other local places that are our favourites) and enjoyed the free shuttle to the sister hotel on the beach most days. The ocean for the first time on our travels was too rough for jumping off the cliffs but this is not the norm. Most of the staff were friendly and nice however some give off the impression that you are bothering them and do not have very positive attitudes (which on vacation would have been a lot nicer) The rooms certainly need updating and new linens for sure but I am also sure the price would increase. Negatives for us were these: Rooms have no insulation so you can hear the neighbours TV and conversations when they are in their rooms or on their balconies. Extra charge (10$/day for a fridge...never heard of such a thing on any of my travels) extra internet charge (12/day or 36$/week) which hardly worked properly at any time during the day or night. There is no type of socializing in the evenings at the hotel itself so if you go out for dinner and would like to come home sit back and relax, talk to others on vacation, this is not available....it's dead. Food choice is minimal and not really authentic jamaican meals or anything to write home about. Breakfast was included so this was a bonus and it was good however don't think that you will be ordering any fruit....you might get an old slice of papaya (one) or a tiny slice of wrinkly watermelon/pineapple...Not the biggest deal but some fresh local fruit would have been very nice. They do not free pour drinks so a measured ounce is what you get....buy booze and keep it in your room for sure. I would not stay here with my husband however I did recommend it to my oldest for her and her friends to stay at (or stay on the beach and shuttle to the cliffs...) because it is ultimately not expensive, safe and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. I would have preferred to stay on the second because I would have felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariehudon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For those of you who have never been to Negril, it is basically divided into 2 sections.
One being the stretch of a sandy beach known as 7 mile beach(not really that long.more like 4)
and further south of the downtown core is the cliffs region or more commonly called the west end.
This hotel also has a sister property "Sunset on the Beach" which is the very last hotel at the
most southern end of 7 mile beach. Both hotels offer reciprocal rights to a free shuttle to and from
each other. They will drop you off and pick you up. You can enjoy your complimentary (very good) hot breakfast at either resort.The distance by car is no more than a ten minute drive. Some brave guests do walk the road, but it is quite treacherous and always walk facing traffic here!
We stayed on the cliffs for 2 weeks visiting the beach resort every third day. The beach is full of hagglers and husslers...but I do find that the location on the beach is the "quietest" one. further it is not as narrow as other parts. If you do visit the beach, do know that you can charge all food and drinks to your room at the cliffs and vice versa.
There are only 16 rooms in this resort all come with oceanfront spectacular views.They come with a large private balcony to sit and enjoy the stunning sunsets. ( there are other rooms facing the garden which are for long term stays one month or more)
Beds ar queen or 2 doubles. Comfortable. The rooms are large with a spacious bathroom. Lots of closet space. The rooms also come with good A/C , ceiling fan., and cable TV.
We were provided with plenty of bath towels, mats, and beach towels on request at the front desk. There are no coffee makers in the rooms. Breakfast starts around 7:30 am so if you are an early riser and want your coffee, I would suggest you request a coffee maker for the room as we did. This resort surprisingly provides the "real" jamaican blue mountain coffee. Excellent!
There is also a safe in every room that comes free of charge. Lose your key and you will be out
$125...so don't lose it!
There are 2 floors of the ocean front rooms. 8 on one side and 8 on another with the bar and pool
area in betweeen. The quietest rooms would be the corner suites far south or north. We stayed
in room 705 corner suite second floor. The view is slightly better than the lower...not by much.
The women seem to feel safer on the second floor for obvious reasons.
Good hot and cold water that you can drink. Water pressure is better on the lower floor than the
second floor. If you require a vigorous shower then do not book the second floor.
The complimentary breakfast is good and served very quickly. You simply just sign for your food.
All our meals were served in less than 20 minutes which is outstanding by Jamaican standards.
Maid service was there when we needed it. We requested maid service every third day. You can have it daily, but not required in my opinion. It was all good.
Breakfast is served with a spectacular view of the ocean and cliffs. We ate lunch and had a few
snacks here which was good, but there are far too many other restaurants that you will want to
visit while staying here. As in previous reviews, it is true that "De Bar" across th street makes about the best jerk chicken I have ever had. "Sips and Bites" next door is another good place to eat. Excellent curried goat and other dishes.
The pool is kidney shaped and clean. There is hardly ever anybody swimming in it.
There are cliffs you can jump from into th ocean, or step down a ladder for snorkelling.
The cliffs are where most serious snorkelers come and not the beach. You will see practically nothing snorkeling on the beach area.
There are other hotels close by which you are free to visit and stay the afternoon. Rockhouse is next door and Tensing Pen further south. Everything is within walking distance, but a lot of people use the cab as it is simply safer. (2 lane windy road is treacherous with speeding drivers)
Cabs will continually honk their horns at you hoping to get a fare.
So let me tell you why I love this place........
at approx $100 per night including breakfast it is simply the best bang for your buck.
16 rooms gives you the feeling of a exclusive boutique hotel with privacy , peace and quiet.
You almost feel like a celebrity who demands that kind of privacy.
All at a fraction of the cost of the other finest hotels on this strip ..ie Rockouse,Catcha Falling Star, Tensing Pen, Moondance Cliffs , th Caves and The Spa Resort etc. Those resorts all
start around the $300 range and go up to over $1000 per night?
Why pay that? Its all the same ocean water, rocks, coral, cliffs, all basically the same view.
Give me all that and a comfortable room and good security and Bobs your uncle!
The security here was exceptional. Guards day and night. You don't see the night guys as they are undercover .
Further the rooms here had telephones that worked well and all calls within Jamaica are free!
Excellent for room service, security and anything else you need. The front desk is prompt to answer and helpful with most requests.
Loved going to the beach. The staff get to know you at both locations. All very friendly and helpful. If you book a room at the beach beware there are only 2 oceanfront rooms.
The owner/manager "June" was on hand most days and very pleasant and always making sure
your stay is a pleasant one.
Note: the only extra cost here is internet. $12 per day, or $36 per week .
I would not bring children or toddlers here, or practically any resort on the cliffs. Its just too
dangerous. Adults only. Bring your kids to the beach.....Breezes is the resort I believe.

This hotel exceeded my expectations and I would say is probably the best kept secret in Negril.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My sixth time to Negril, second time staying on the cliffs.

We are low maintenance people, so this place is just fine. The grounds are nice, the rooms are clean, but outdated and could use some cosmetic work, but if that does not bother you, you are good to go. Rock house is right next door, which is lovely. Buy a drink there and use their free WiFi since Sunset doesn't have it for free.

The sister property, Sunset on the Beach is nice, and is the last hotel on the strip, which means it is quiet, and very close to town center so you can easily go to HiLo or Cambio from there via 10 minute walk. This trip we split our time staying on the cliffs and staying on the beach. A nice way to visit Negril.

Quiet place, with breakfast (not buffet) included. The coffee is the worst I've had in Jamaica (didn't think it was possible to have a bad cup of coffee inJamaica, but apparently it is). But the breakfast is nice.

I think every room has a view of the cliffs and ocean, which obviously is a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This Oceanfront resort is really quite amazing considering the cost per night. It is basic BUT clean. THe cliffs views are fantastic. We watched dolphins playing in the sea as we ate lunch at their restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly. The grounds are patrolled by security day and night. You get a daily shuttle to their sister hotel on Seven Mile beach and can use their facilities also.
The restaurant is good and provides a lovely view of the sea.
We paid $89.00 u.s. per night per room (not per person) for a full breakfast included.
Terrific price for this place. I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper unit for better views, although all rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindabean58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently took our Honeymoon to Negril on the suggestion of a family member who visits yearly. He suggested Sunset on the Cliffs. The excellent thing about this Hotel is that it is quiet, safe, and you have a free shuttle that will take you back to the beach in the late morning and will take you back mid afternoon.

We did pay extra for a limited all inclusive. Could we have saved some money by eating out at food stands, sure, but it was so enjoyable to not have to worry about going grocery shopping and the rum punch was great.

This is NOT a luxury resort. BUT. We were more than pleased with our stay at Sunset on the Cliffs. Bonus - They have a diving platform near the cliffs. The pool was clean and the meals were nice. We stayed a week, so we did get to know the staff well. They went out of their way to make our trip great. The papaya was fantastic!

We had A/C in our room. There is some bleed-over noise. We were right under the dining balcony and heard spoons and other items dropped above, but it didn't bother us.

If you venture to the beach, stay on the Hotel's property. Security will watch out for you and chase away the hustlers. :) What an excellent, relaxing place!

The only complaint we had was regarding the bed and pillows. The bed was iffy, but bring pillows or ask for an extra. They were super flat and we both had neck aches from the pillows.

Besides the bed and pillows, it was an excellent home base for us and I would love to return!

Room Tip: Room 605 is great with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
2.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#15 of 88 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#23 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 88 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#27 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#33 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset on the Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Property: Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset on the Cliffs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset on the Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Cliffs Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing