We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel on Negril Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar-B-Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar-B-Barn
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on Negril Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Bar B Barn. We've been to Negril several times and stayed up and down the beach. Bar B Barn was by far the best experience. We booked the "suite" which features two adjoining rooms. I was traveling with friend from the states and local friends from Negril. Bar B Barn provided the absolute best customer service we've ever seen in Jamaica. The staff were friendly and helpful. One member of our party dislocated his shoulder while cliff jumping at Rick's Cafe. The front desk staff helped negotiate fair taxi rates and provided prompt service when we had to get his travelling companion to Montego Bay to meet the ambulance. We do not generally purchase all inclusive packages, however Bar B Barn is a place we easily could have done so. Breakfast each day was yummy and we found ourselves eating dinner there more nights than not. There is music at the bar each evening. The location is great if you like live music - it is near Bourbon Beach and Alfred's is a 5 minute walk away. Across the street is a pool table/bar with food as well, not to mention a new women's shop and a great patty stand. There are two convience stores and a Cambio money exchange next door. Negril Towne Center is walking distance - a little bit of a walk but not bad or a faire taxi ride. The Times Square Shopping center is about a block away and there is an ATM located there. All in all a great location, beautiful grounds and scenery and the best staff on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micjantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    38
    14
    19
See reviews for
24
78
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MD, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed over New Year's at the Bar-B-Barn hotel on the beach in Negril. We had stayed there nearly 13 years before on our first trip together and wanted to go back to where we started. Well, the nice botique type hotel, bar, restaurant and the friendly staff are still around, but the rooms and furnishings look like they have not been changed in many years. You can't beat the location, service and the costs though. All the place needs is a little TLC in the rooms with sitting chairs (ours had a broken cushion), dressers (no pull knobs on drawers) and light shades ( not attached to fixtures and just sitting precariously on the bulbs). But who stays in the room much anyway...the beach is awsome and Mr. Security Man keeps things cool. We would recommend the Bar-B-Barn over many much more expensive resorts in Negril anytime you are on a budget..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpsclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The price is oustanding. It started when I was great at Montego Bay Airport by Charlie the Taxi Driver/Tour Guide. Very Polite. Very Friendly. It was what in it for me not him. Greated at minute one by Angela the Hotel Manager. She is very friendly and very versed in the art of Hospitality. She gets it. The staff is very well trained, smart, friendly, accomodating and fun. Thanks to Ann Marie Jesse and Maureen. You are all the best and I don't just say that. My mother is in the hospitality business here in Boston and I would recomend them to here any time. Food is Good. Very tasty Jerk Sauce. I met three security guards on site. All very well mannered trained and friendly. Third shift guard Iva Wellington returned my lost wallet on night one. He said " I did the right thing" He did for sure! The location is on the beach that is alittle more relaxed. It gets more colorful further down so it is their when you want it which you will. Best New Years Eave of my life at Albert's Ocean Palace 20 Foot Sounds System with excellent Selector.

GO TO BAR -B-BARN Oh yeah and Alton at the front desk was great too.

Yours truly John from Boston just back to Boston and Snow storms

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnd2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

my stay at this hotel from the start was poor management ,electric went off first nite i was there no back up generater were u think a hotel with 37 rooms would have such things like that in place. was bitten to bits by bed lice.the food in the hotel was overly price so ate a sweet spice were food was great and good price .never go there again . if management put more effect in to looking after there customers than tryin to rip them off then it would be a better place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horace50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

Thanks a lot for relaxing and friendly atmosphere!!! Italian restaurant was perfect, I'd never eat such pasta even in Italy!!!! Professional staff, good location and clean rooms - that is all what we faced here!

Ms. Angela, many thanks for aloe and olive oil! It saved me!!!


Best regards,
Julia and Renat from Moscow

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Bar-B-Barn is a family run hotel that makes you feel like a part of the family while on your stay there. The food is excellent (must try Angela's Italian restaurnat). The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. Lots of fun if you're vacationing with friends and romantic if you're visiting with that "special someone". Great location on Negri's seven mile beach. October will be my third visit to b-b-barn and I can't want.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveNegrilJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is a great family hotel, the service and the staff is excellent at Barb-B-Barn.
I will be making another trip next month. Jamaica irie, no problem mon

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nappojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#31 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#47 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 85 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#53 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#2 of 48 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar-B-Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar-B-Barn

Property: Bar-B-Barn
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | 7 Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar-B-Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bar-B-Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar-b-Barn Hotel Negril
Bar b Barn Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing