We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great week with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar-B-Barn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar-B-Barn
Ranked #59 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Blountville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great week with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Fell in love with this place 2/2010 that is why we are going back in 2012. Morning breakfast by the ocean. Can't wait to get back

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hurleys4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    66
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
22
72
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I booked this hotel based on reviews found here , and it is a deal ! Priceline was $55-$65 a nite all tax inc. plus Free Full breakfast worth $5.00-$9.00 , The location was right on the beach ,room was clean and nice, A/C worked ,free TV,well kept for its age --The Food served here Was Great and not Pricey ! Across fron "Times Sq." shopping center ,I was able to get very good gift prices from store "12B-Legend " shop-1lb Blue Mountain coffee only $13 bucks ! ALL the staff were very polite and helpfull, as a note in J people make a living trying to sell you stuff,just tell them please not now as I respect you and I am on Vacation , only con was low water pressure for 1 day ...I am going back next year and WILL use this hotel again ! Desk Manager ,Denton Very Very wary of your needs ...also if you do go here say hello to Alvin-glass bottom boat captain , Tom -from CT

Room Tip: I liked the 125-128 side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tompecart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I love this small, quaint, hotel on the beach with simple, clean rooms. Be sure to request a fridge for your room. I got by with an ice bucket for the first 2 days, then moved to a room with a view of the beach. I enjoyed a delicious breakfast by the beach every morning. the food is great. I never thought I'd eat pizza in Jamaica, but it was good. Free wireless internet at the bar. I picked up in my room. Not all rooms have access to it. Ask for a room near the bar, if you don't mind the live music some nights with dinner service. Security is great; I never saw anyone strange roaming the property. Security verifies your guest at the guard shack after hours.Two tour drivers hang out at the bar. They can take your anywhere on the island. We hooked up with other guests and split the price of the van for 3 trips. We saved money and made new friends. Great jerk chicken and patty stands across the street, and a market next door to the hotel. I planned to split my trip between two properties. I changed my reservation and remained at Bar-B-Barn, and I'll continue to go in the future.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phxgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Just returned from 7 nights at the Bar-B-Barn and we loved every minute of it. Traveled with my husband and two children (ages 4 & 7) and we all had a great time. Ironically, my husband had stayed at the Bar-B-Barn as a single in his early 30's fifteen years ago. Had not intended to return there specifically, but after I did all my research for this trip, we ended up picking the B-B-B. The price was reasonable, with breakfast for 2 included (the kids stayed free so we had to pay for their breakfast separately, but usually they shared one entree and it was plenty for them).

The pluses of this place are the location and the staff. The beach is one of the best I've every been to and the water was like a bath and crystal clear. I can't say enough about the staff. Denton at the front desk, Maureen, Hope, Milton and the others at the restaurant and Mike & Ray the security guards, Chris and Ewan who keep the place in shape were all phenomenal! Everyone made a point of learning our names right away and couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. They all made such a fuss about our kids.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyMomNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I decided to travel to Jamaica but wasnt sure where to stay, we made a very good choice when booking the bar-b-barn. I cant say enough great things about this wonderful place. The rooms are a good size, very clean, great air conditioning and hot running water for showers. The included breakfast was very good but wasnt brave enough to try the Jamaican breakfast...next time!, Angelea's resturant has amazing pizza and other Italian dinners and the resturant served up some great jerk chicken with a red stripe..:) Top notch service from the staff who treated us like family, always making sure we were happy and having fun, was even teary eyed when we had to say goodbye to our new friends.
The beach,......well what can I say?? Just simply beautiful and well cared for.
My husband and I will b returning for many years to come..We loved it Mon!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlene46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Bar-B-Barn is a great bargain. No fancy frills just a charming spot along the Negril Beach

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilus1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We just got back from a four day trip to Negril. I have to say that our trip to Negril was the best, most beautiful vacation we have ever had. We spent our three nights at the Bar-B-Barn, and honestly upon checking in we were very disappointed in the room and the condition it was in. We immediately felt our hearts sink and felt like the whole trip was a mistake. However, after a refund was assured through the travel company we booked through we were able to get into the vibe of Negril and really enjoy ourselves.

Room: Do not expect a 2 star, (similar to Days inn or similar in the US), this place needs a lot of work. They are doing a lot of renovations so if you're lucky you'll get a decent room. Ours had no working windows (not that we had a view), lots of noise from the kitchen, a rusty broken tub, broken drapes, broken furniture, and the bed was the absolute most uncomfortable mattress I have slept on (not that I got much sleep).

Location/Beach: I loved the location, and other than the room the grounds are beautiful. Loved the beach, it was cleaned every morning and the security (Michael was awesome) kept the vendors moving. We were up at 7 every morning so getting chairs wasnt a problem, though they do need to replace them as they're falling apart. The beach/water in Negril is truly the best I've ever visited...Crytal clear and just amazing.

Food: Loved breakfast, what a great way to start the day...the Pizza at Angela's really is amazing!

Vibe/Atmosphere: Everyone from the hotel staff, to the guests were SO NICE! Most of the people there have been coming back for years and were all so welcoming. I loved, loved, loved how nice everyone was!

In a nut shell: Would I go back? No, not to stay but definitely for lunch or breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayeshak83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#30 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#41 of 88 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#57 of 88 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#46 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
0.4 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar-B-Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar-B-Barn

Property: Bar-B-Barn
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | 7 Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar-B-Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Bar-B-Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar-b-Barn Hotel Negril
Bar b Barn Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing