We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mixed Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pushcart Restaurant & Bar

Pushcart Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #9 of 189 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We're a bit mixed about dining at Pushcart. I had a vegetarian dish, the Bushman stew. It was wonderful. A nice mix of legumes & vegetables in a spicy sauce on a bed of rice. It was nicely presented and the taste was delicious. My husband had a jerk platter with shrimp, chicken & pork with festival. It was nicely presented but the food was cold and dry - definitely overcooked and had been sitting around for a while. Not enjoyable.
We were there around 7 and the entertainment started. It was interesting. The group of three did a Jamaican version of folk music. It was something different than what we had experienced in other restaurants & bars in Negril. Once we realized what they were all about we relaxed and enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    161
    62
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Jamaican food & Friendly Staff at Push Cart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I don't know what they do to the staff but these are the friendliest and most helpful waiters/waitresses in Jamaica. It is a fantastic atmosphere in the evening or day overlooking the ocean on the cliffs on the west side of Negril. Food is good, staff is friendly, and it is good value for your dollar, they even have live entertainment. Must visit, we make this our regular evening eating spot when in Negril.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dining on the cliff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great place with a superb view at sunset. Good local specialities. Rum cake is not original. Reserve a table on the seaside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARCOALBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

After we enjoyed the sunset at Ricks Cafe, we traveled down to the Push Carts. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food; very authentic food. We were in a party of four and we each tried something different; from curry goat to the catch of the day. Mmmmmm this is a definite stop for anyone wanting relaxed atmosphere, fantastic view, and excellent food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bilt4lvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pushcart is great for a "Semi-Nice" meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The escoveitch is fantastic, the views are stunning, and the entertainment is usually very mellow and laid back. One downside is that the catamarans like to pull up and let the party people out to swim here. It can be amusing, but it's pretty loud and clashes with the vibe.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pushcart Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Pushcart Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing