We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally an Oasis”
Review of The Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oasis Resort
Ranked #62 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Literally an Oasis”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous time at Oasis. The hotel is off the beaten path, which makes you feel so safe and relaxed since its such a quiet respite from the busy town and beach (a easy cab ride away)...You can walk to cliff resorts for swimming and snorkeling or just hang out by the Oasis pool and lovely gardens. The staff is a group of sweet and friendly Jamaican women who are very helpful, the rooms are spotless and a nice size with airy balconies. We loved it! It was perfect for our romantic getaway. As far as other comments about things being stolen I don't believe it, the staff was extremely conscientious and we just put everything in the safe that was provided in the room. The only small caveat is that since its a small place, ordering food takes a while (not unlike other places in Jamaica) so bring a stck of cards and relax, the coffee can take a little while. We would definitely return to the Oasis!

Room Tip: The place is small, so they are all pretty good, but we had a second floor room, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieandmike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

After our third day there we stepped out the room for breakfast and went back to the room and all our money was stollen in that short amount of time. We normally took our things with us and didnt think they would steal our things while were still on the property. We to ld the manager Colin Whyte but we suspected he had something to do with it also. The rooms were ant n bug infested, the AC didnt work and the food ( Lunch and Dinner food) was disgusting we didnt know what animal or parts we were even eating. And I dont recomend this hole in the wall dump.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MrsJones212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at The Oasis Resort in July 2011 - two women traveling alone intending to explore the Westmoreland area, visit friends and family and top up our tans!!

Upon arrival the hotel staff were not aware of or able to confirm our booking but this was not a problem, we were still welcomed without fuss, shown to our room and invited to get something to eat / drink. We found our room (No. 10) to be clean with two double beds, air-con, television (with cable), fridge and a good size dresser with storage draws. The bathroom was fine; instant hot water. The windows were all 'meshed' to keep the mosquitos out and the balcony was fitted with burglar bars - which made us feel safe given that we were located on the ground floor. There was no telephone in the room but there was free Wi-Fi available which was accessible around the pool / by the bar.

Note: There is a US$3 per night fee for use of the safe.

The breakfasts were basic and all served with tea/coffee and juice as part of our booking. The dinners were basic but satisfactory (microwaved) with a choice of various meat/fish/chicken dishes mostly served with rice-n-peas & salad. There's no need to dress up for dinner - it's not that kind of hotel - simply laid back. The staff were all very polite and the manager Colin White was particularly helpful with tips and advice.

This hotel is VERY quiet and is off the beaten track. It's not located on the beach front but does have a swimming pool. That said, the hotel runs a free shuttle bus to and from the beach twice daily - 10 min journey. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families with children as there is no lifeguard, no evening entertainment, no activities. It's just a small, quiet hotel suitable as a base or place to simply relax and unwind without interruption or noise. The only entertainment is the t.v.

I'd defiantly recommend this hotel as a quiet, laid back retreat with easy and convenient access to the main town activities, shops and beach. The amenities and rooms are basic with a satisfactory standard of decor / cleanliness. If you're looking for a vibrant place with entertainment, high class mod cons and room service this hotel is NOT for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muggins_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Save your money and don't waste your time. Going to this hotel was a gift from my in-laws. I am posting this 8 months later and the horrible time that we had on our 1 yr. anniversary is still fresh in my mind. The "manager" Mr. White was totally and completely unhelpful. While we were there the power went out, Mr. White just walked past us and smirked as he went to address the problem, no explanation, no apology for the inconvenience. Nada. We asked for tennis balls to keep ourselves busy during the power outage and the balls were old and had no bounce in them left - thank goodness there are 3 balls in the can since 1 out 3 worked! The food was terrible. Anything we ordered was unavailable and the specials they had weren't special at all. The family next to us ordered a bottle of wine and sent it back since it was stale. The wait for the terrible food was at least an hour - at least! The pool was full of leaves so we couldn't swim since they were constantly in the pool with a leaf sweeper. My husband did get in the pool but ended up helping them clean out the leaves. Our room was terrible. Bed uncomfortable, t.v. barely worked and of course there was no one to complain to but Mr. White who as I mentioned early, not at all helpful. We made the best of our 1 yr. anniversary as best we could. We loved Jamaica so much, we were there for our honeymoon and thought we'd go back for our 1 yr. anniversary. We will go back to Jamaica but NEVER again will we go back to this dump. Its unfortunate because the staff is nice and helpful -- but, in my opinion, the staff can never make up for poor management. Stay far away would be my advice, especially if you're planning a getaway for someone else!! Go to / send them to Tensing Pen (right down the road) or ANYWHERE ELSE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IWENT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon and the hotel had everything we were looking for. Clean rooms, COMFORTABLE BEDS!!, fridge, air conditioning, friendly staff, pool, internet access and a great breakfast!! All at a reasonable price. The hotel is on the cliffs but it has a beach shuttle for the guests. It is also a secure hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Great hotel! Clean, comfortable, nice staff. Good value for money

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were two couples in Negril for a six nite stay. We decided to stay 2 nites on the cliffs, then move to the beach for 4 nites. For the cliffs we chose The Oasis Resort and it couldn't have been a better choice. The place is a bit off the westend road and is very peaceful, the perfect place to just relax. We did the all-inclusive plan and were not disappointed in any way. The staff were all wonderful and friendly, the food was very good and served in a timely manner, and the drinks cold and plentiful. We had plenty of Mango daiquiries with the mangos coming right from the trees on the property. We really had no probelms to report with this property and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justchuckfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa La Cage
Villa La Cage
#76 of 80 in Negril
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#71 of 80 in Negril
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#48 of 80 in Negril
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Summerset Village
Summerset Village
#74 of 80 in Negril
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#33 of 80 in Negril
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Resort

Property: The Oasis Resort
Address: West End Road | P.O. Box 99, Negril Negril P.O., Jamaica (Formerly Thrills Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience located on the Western Tip of Jamaica! The Cliffside of Negril is a very special experience. A perfect opportunity to enjoy the "Real Jamaica" away from the crowded resort area nestled in a tropical garden. A tranquil and serene environment that allows you the comfort and serenity that only "Jamaica's Natural Beauty" can offer. We offer the best in personal service, food and comfortable accommodations in a lush tropical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Hotel Negril
Thrills Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing