We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Negril
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
214
128
24
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
128
24
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff west end the penthouse owner charlie rooms are clean and comfortable laid back every morning luxury hotel huge balcony relaxing stay ice machine flat screen tv real jamaica caribbean sea come home ocean view the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 396 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

We chose to stay on the cliff side of Negril and were so happy we did. This location offers beautiful cliff and sunset views. There is a lounge area right on the cliffs. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Tina on the desk and the driver Chris go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. The only downfall is the restaurant where the cook refused to serve me when I said I was a vegan. He actually seemed offended and was quite rude. I heard from a couple other guests that he was also rude to them but they enjoy the hotel so much and plan to return that they did not complain to the owner about him. So go, enjoy the hotel and views just don’t eat there.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BingoPJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSHNS, Guest Relations Manager at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2019

We're happy you choose the cliffs too! Thank you for your review and feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

WE just got back from Jamaica last week, we spent 5 days at Home Sweet Home and then 9 days on the beach. This was our 2nd time at HSH and the reason we like it, is that we like to spend some time on the cliffs and this is close in proximity to many amenities we like going to. It is a short walk to the market, No Exit Bar, Sandra's Bar, Canoe & Quality among other places.
We upgraded this year to the Penthouse and loved spending our afternoons on the huge balcony watching the boats go by and it is an excellent place to view the beautiful sunsets. If you can swing it, this is definitely the room to book.
We are sorry that we missed seeing Charlie this year but Tina is very accommodating. She is usually always on the property and can assist you in anything you need and always with a huge smile. Our housekeeper JoJo was great, the room was always cleaned and she would leave us extra towels if we requested them. As in other reviews this not a luxury hotel and certainly needs some upgrades but if you are looking for a clean place that is close to amenities and is safe and great for snorkeling, this is your place. As a matter of fact, we went to Xatabi one day to snorkle the caves and and we felt we see more in the waters near Home Sweet Home.
My only real negative about the place is the bar/restaurant.....It would be great to have a happy hour to bring guests near the bar to mingle and have friendlier people working that area. Monte and Tess aren't the friendliest people so we only ate breakfast there twice and ate elsewhere the rest of the time. It's too bad because the view from the restaurant is beautiful overlooking the sea.
We will definitely stay there again....

Room tip: Best views from any of the cliff side rooms
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

We regret that the amenities and services provided did not meet your standards or expectations. Your criticisms are greatly appreciated by us all as we do have an ongoing process where feedback such as yours are incorporated to implement enhancements. I do hope that as these changes come to fruition you will be encouraged to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

This is our second time at HSH. The first was ok due to circumstances beyond their control. This time was so relaxing. Now don't expect a luxury hotel, but rather a clean safe place with an amazing view at a reasonable rate. We upgraded to a cliff side room and were so glad we did. It had an amazing view, comfy bed, refrigerator, toaster and utensils. We stayed 5 days there and moved to the next 5 days on the beach. We were so sad to leave. Next year we may have to stay there the whole 10 days. We could get up anytime and get a chair, unlike the beach hotel that they started putting their towels out the night before! UGH! I think 6:30 am is too early when you are on vacation!
It is in walking distance to good eating and drinking establishments. We would head north toward the Canoe Bar and then the other way to Caios by Samsara and visit a lot of the places in between. Convenience store is a good walking distance and across the street from there is a fruit/veg stand.
Tina was great as always! She is so helpful!
Chris was our driver and is a very safe driver. We used him a few times besides airport transfer. Would highly recommend him.
The negative side, I hate to say would be Monte, the cook. Either he likes you or not... He was very rude to our guests we had up from the beach. We were trying to talk them into staying a few days on the cliffs versus the beach, but that won't happen. I think if they got someone else with a better attitude more people would eat there. We tried a couple of times but the attitude was not a friendly. A lot of other great places to spend our hard earned money.
Don't want it to end on a negative note because we loved it at HSH and will be back again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioweegena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. we try to accommodate all our guest by providing the right amount of facilities so each individual is comfortable at all time. Chris has been with us for may years and he is indeed a safe and reliable driver. we are so sorry that you had a negative experience with the cook, that for sure we will be taking care of. We hope you choose us again for another vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

Just returned from Home Sweet, and the cliffside resort nestled pon the sea was utterly fantastic!

Situated on only about an acre of precious shoreline, Home Sweet Home features an ocean view for every room.

And what a view -- an amazing blue ocean glistening in the Carribean sun like an oil painting.

The rooms are well-appointed -- my upstairs unit included a kitchenette and an oversized balcony -- with attentive service in the form of hands-on owner Charlie Rossley and friendly, veteran manager Tina Hammond.

There is also a good chef -- and free room service -- and they're willing to open a tab for guests.

The pool is nice, too. You can lay on a raft (provided) and gaze at the sea.

The resort features a peaceful vibe. There is a great little outside restaurant a few steps from the front gate called Connie's, and there is a lively bar to the right called No Limit with a good mix of mostly tourists and friendly locals.

Call or click Home Sweet Home. Great hotel!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank gerry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Thank you for your five star review Gerry! Its always our pleasure to host you. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

Over the years I have walked by Home Sweet Home many times and wondered what could go on beyond those walls that allows this place the audacity to give itself such a name. After the recommendations of some friends, I decided to play their game and this year I finally gave the place a try. What a gem! Once you are behind the pink coral exterior, the welcoming grounds are alive with flowers and trees. Home Sweet Home offers an intimate hideaway just up the cliff from one of the best beaches in the world. Each guest room provides a remarkable ocean view or two out of your windows and personal balcony. Fine food, fast Internet, beautiful scenery, sunny and shady spots to laze, good clean rooms, ocean access with decent snorkeling and a welcoming and accommodating staff all adds up to one great value. Charlie the owner, has collected a group of regular bohemians who call the place their home away from home, offering friendly greetings, soft guitar jams at sunset and a very cool vibe. The staff, led by Tina , made sure every little thing was alright. A good place to call home, Home Sweet Home.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Thank you Brian for your glowing review! We are so excited to know that you had a pleasant first experience at Home Sweet Home. We hope to serve you once more. Everything irie until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews