We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibes in a beautiful spot ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Home Sweet Home Resort
Ranked #36 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at Home Sweet Home. A cute little hotel with a very comfortable restaurant and beautiful ocean view. It is not perfect, but the price would be much higher if it was. There is a new American owner who seems committed to getting the place really fixed up. Great swimming on the cliffs of Negril. This is about midway between town and Rick's. A short walk to Samsara.
We thought Tina, who appears the be the manager, was fabulous. Always with a smile and got stuff done. The pool is small and there is parking for about 4 cars, at most. If you've stayed on the cliffs then you know that road noise is to be expected, but I guess we are used to it from our 15 trips to Negril. Most rooms have an ocean view. Upstairs rooms have a better view, but more likely to hear road noise. There are a few rooms that are right on the cliffs with spectacular views. If you don't mind a little roughness around the edges, this place is a great value. Breakfast was not included in the price, but it was convenient to have the restaurant right there. Beautiful ocean view from the restaurant.

Room Tip: We like room 4 on the second floor, with 2 double beds.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevepitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your review, thank you! It was great having you stay with us. Happy to say the rough edges are smoothing out more and more everyday and the cool vibe is getting even cooler. Tina is in fact the property manager and she's a gem of a person! Look forward to seeing you next year. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Home Sweet Home Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We returned last week from our 9 day stay at Home Sweet Home. We went to Negril not because it's the vacation spot we chose but becasue we were going with friends and this is where all wanted to go. We were pleasantly surprised. This resort is really more like a very large home where you are staying as a guest of the home owners. REALLY! The place only has 16 rooms, so at any one time there were never more than 10 - 15 people around; we got to know others staying there and were able to say hi and chat about our trips. The staff was very helpful, respectful, friendly, and basically saw to our every need. I was somewhat disappointed that we had neither a fridge nor a coffee maker in our room. But, since both couples we traveled with stayed in more expensive suites and did have those ammenities, we used theirs. The food was great every time we ate there - Terry and Teddy did a great job in the kitchen; I enjoyed getting a few local options at each meal. And, Kim mad sure there was wine every day! :) Our room was clean (although a little rustic), bedding was really nice, towels were plush, and the view was great! The balcony was right over the pool, so not quiet or romantic, but great for interacting with others who were out on the grounds. Oh, another cool thing - where else can you get a KILLER sunset every night from the comfort of your balcony (well, not ours) or a lounge chair on the lawn, with NO ONE blocking your view! Durng the day the cliffs were so cool - laying in the sun, enjoying the view of caribbean water with nothing interruptng it - amazing! As is most likely true with all resorts along the cliffs, barking dogs and fast traffic make a bit of noise at night. Thanks John and Kim. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caloray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We had a great time with you too! Very happy we could help you achieve the 'No Worries Mon' experience. Thumbs up for such a wonderful review about a great trip. Thank you!!! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from our nine day stay at home sweet home on Tuesday . We stayed here last year and knowing it was going to be different under new ownership. We were lucky enough to have met the new owners John and Kim last year while we were there as they were working out the transition.
Did this trip with two other couples this year and this was their first trip to negril. We stayed in the sunset suite again this year,we love the room and the large balcony. The room had some renovations from our last stay all positive.
The property itself has had some renovations which were good. The two new suites have a view to die for. The staff all new since our last trip was great. Want to give a big thanks to Tina and Chris for all you did for us.
The food at the resort has changed management and chefs. Terry and teddy the chefs put together some outstanding meals,no complaints there.
Monty,Latoya and chelene were also great behind the bar and waiting on us.
Overall we were treated like family from day one great little place to stay.
Thanks John and Kim see you next year.

Room Tip: Sunset suite has a great view from the large balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for the motivating thoughts! It was so great to see you this year and we can't wait until for your arrival next year. Hope the whole group will join too. We are indeed family! We strive for and hope all our guests will have the same comforting experience. Thanks again to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a time we had at 'Home Sweet Home!' We had not planned on going to Negril and decided to do so on a whim. That for us was a most wonderful decision. How fortunate too we got a room at 'Home Sweet Home.' Yes, as described by some the rooms may be seen as tired and rough around the edges and the water in the shower not as warm as at one's own home but that is what gives it it's charm. Yes mon, we are in Jamaica afterall! If we wanted all that we would have stayed home. It was truly wonderful to be so close to the ocean, to hear its breath, to feel the warmth of its breezes.and to smell the salt air. Who cares for water pressure coming from a shower head when you can overlook the ocean? I do not know what was more blue, the sky or the sea. The staff was so helpful and thanks to Tina. The food, at the on-site restaurant,could only be described as a culinary delight. The pool well used by others had lots of space and chairs but we decided upon the cliffs with their quick access to the ocean. The drivers were easy to talk to and readliy available. Off site we found the Blue Mountain Coffee Shop that roasts green beans for you to take home as gifts. (Sure ya right I am giving away that coffee - not likely.) The Swordfish Inn down the road, well that restaurant has a permanent place in my heart. Great Jamaican cooking and lucky for me I got a bite of the mac and cheese and lobster that my husband ordered. The ice cream there - best rum and rasin ever!!! 'Home Sweet Home' is only a short cab ride to the beaches and night life and a safe walk to shops and beaches. Did I like the place? You betchya. Thanks to everyone at Home Sweet Home. .

Room Tip: Room 12 was magic.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duck278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We were thrilled you decided to come to Negril. It was so great to have you with us. The energizing conversations were terrific. You two are ones to hang with, always on them move having a great time, trying out all kinds of new places and things to see/do. What in inspiration you both were to everyone around you. We really look forward to seeing you next year OR maybe sooner..... ;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for four nights. New owners are helpful and friendly and extremely responsive. Staff great as well. No real complaints (hot water sometimes becomes lukewarm-- minor issue). Seems that the rooms and grounds are being upgraded/improved -- a few slightly-rough edges appear to be getting smoothed out. Not an ultra-luxury kind of place-- homey, comfortable, clean. Quick ride to beach.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy to let you know that we've added a second hot water heater, yay! And, yes everyday we start a new upgrade to smooth out the those rough edges, greatly appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned at Home Sweet Home 17 years ago. We went back in January 2013 and had an amazing time. Although we missed the previous owner Charlie, the new owners John and Kim were extremley nice and very accomodating. Home Sweet Home is a small quiet place pearched up on the cliffs of Negril, where you can hear the waves. The property is in good shape with lots of vegitation. it has a nice pool and offers comfortable lounge chairs with cushions. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable (we moved up to a suite mid week). The food at the restaurant was very good, they offered breakfast, lunch and dinner starting at 7AM M-SU. They serve high mountain coffee which was to me better than Blue Mountain. . What we loved the most is the small boutique feel of the place You can walk out of your room and be in the restaurant in one minute, you can walk down the steps to the water in a matter of two minutes. This property offers awesome snorkeling right off the cliffs or if you have teenage kids, they have cliff jumping. The property has a driver, Chris that can take you wherever you would like to go for a price. We prefer to rent a car from Dhana near Montego Bay. A couple of our favorite restaurants are LTU Pub on the cliffs, Norma's at Sea Splash on the beach. And, for an amazing spa adventure....Jackies on the Reef is affordable and amazing it may be a bit pricey to get a cab ride out. And for horseback riding you have to go to Rhodes Hall Plantation in Orange Bay.....it is amazing! Cost is around $70 per rider but truly worth it. Sometimes the restaurants and spas will come get you for no charge but you have to pay for ride back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 then moved into the suite both were great. All rooms have an amazing view of t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We greatly appreciate your kind review. As ones who have stayed in the past it was really nice to be able to share all the new renovations and upgrades with you both that have occurred since your last visit. It was terrific to have you with us. You've given us a few new spots to check out too which is great. :o) Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I understand the resort is now under new owners, so this should show an improvement. I had a horrible vacation December 2012. The housekeeper is a little too friendlly with the male guests. I don't need to go into detail but women should watch your husbands. Hopefully with the new owners she is no longer employed but she is very persuasive and made my stay miserable. The grounds were very nice and the views were beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StephS457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

I'm so sorry you did not have a good experience. The housekeeper you are referring to is no longer employed at the property. Our goal is to do everything possible to ensure you have the best vacation imaginable. Please ask to speak with the owners during your next stay and we will find a way to express our appreciation for giving us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,357 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#35 of 80 in Negril
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rondel Village
Rondel Village
#33 of 80 in Negril
530 reviews
2.4 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril 20147, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#28 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $87 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Sweet Home Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HSH Resort - Nestled on the beautiful cliffs of Negril, you'll find your tropical home away from home. Offering 14 spacious rooms, each with a private veranda and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean.Explore the island or never leave the resort! Our goal is provide you an atmosphere where you create your own brand of fun and relaxation.You can spend your entire sun-drenched days and moonlit nights here! We look forward to having you as our guest, where you will enjoy the most spectacular sunsets in all of Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Home Sweet Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Negril
Home Sweet Hotel
Home Sweet Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing