We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, same great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Firefly Beach Cottages
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
West Rutland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New owners, same great place”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had some fears that the new owners of Firefly would try to change the feel of the place and make it a more commercial property. So far this hasn't happened, and the small romantic feel of the place is still there. The staff is welcoming and competent. The housekeeping staff is still there and as wonderful and trustworthy as ever. Unfortunately my favorite barkeep (Maxine) is no longer there, and although Nita and Sheldon are good, they're not Maxine. The c/o beach is no more, and they have access to the c/o beach at Point Villages. The swimming area isn't as good, and the facilities aren't maintained well there, so I didn't go over there more than once. That beach is right next to Hedo. But Firefly is still a great place to stay. I'll be interested to see how the restaurant that they plan works out. The bar is extended down toward the beach, and isn't the same feel as the last one. Time will tell.

Room Tip: A/C really not necessary until June. Good ocean breezes. All rooms have a different character, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
The managers of Firefly do appreciate your review on your last visit with us. We are happy that you still felt the warmth of the staff and the great ambience of the property. We are doing the best to keep the Firefly 'feel' alive and well and appreciate all the encouragements as well as advise from all the return guests. It is from talking with you and feeling the deep connection that you have with Firefly that motivates us to ensure that this little secret on the seven mile beach is kept well. We do look forward to serving you even better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    73
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
37
103
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I recently returned to Firefly Beach for another 10 day stay. The facility is clean, the staff very friendly and they want to ensure your stay is pleasant. Housekeeping was there every day with a smile on their face and efficient unobtrusive service. We would step out our door and were only a few feet from the beach and a little slice of heaven as the waves lapped the shore. They now have a restaurant and bar to complete the amazing experience.
What more could a person ask for?

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you want. The penthouse is our favorite offering the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of Firefly. We are very happy that you found your stay with us most accommodating and do welcome your review. The management and staff continue to work very hard to ensure that all our guests leave feeling very satisfied. We thank you again for choosing Firefly and making it your home away from home. Hoping to serve you even better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Pictures don't do this place justice! Beautiful flowers surround a group of well-kept, super-clean cabins that are just feet from the beach! We can't emphasize how convenient it was to have our cabin so close to the beach, as well as having Firefly's new bar & deck overlooking the ocean to sit and relax in. The communal bathrooms and showers were clean and tidy all throughout the 5 days that we were there.

The owners and employees at Firefly were SO friendly and accommodating! From the moment we got on our connecting flight in Atlanta, until the moment we left for Montego Bay Airport, the staff were awesome! They fixed us special vegetarian meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on numerous occasions. The cook, Palo, created such delicious meals, that we couldn't believe it wasn't something they normal do! In addition to meals, the staff helped us find cabs, restaurants, and arranged pickup/return to the airport with Mr. Jerry. We highly recommend Mr. Jerry for airport shuttle service. He actually stopped off at local stands so that we could enjoy some local fruit during our ride. Safe and courteous driver and couldn't have been happier or felt more safe since we had our two little ones with us.

Fruit vendors frequent this exact area. The Mango Lady and others sell mango, papaya, pineapple, coconut, and whatever else is in season. All the adjoining businesses have polite employees and owners and it is hard to see where the 'boundaries' of each business begin and end. Everyone is friendly, although some vendors can be quite aggressive.

Although it didn't mention online, unfortunately full nudity on the beach is no longer option at Firefly. But we were told by some other guests that Firefly would take you, by request, to an area of the beach that they also own, that allows nudity.

Firefly is close to Reggae Man Vegetarian restaurant (1-2 miles away?) as well as fruit markets, grocery stores, and local shopping. We found everything we needed just a short cab ride away.

Everyone was so wonderful to our children (ages 1 and 5) and to us (btw, we are expecting another child in another month). It felt like we spent the week with extended family members. They were so flexible with our reservations (we had to postpone our trip just days before our originally planned visit). It is obvious that they will bend over backwards to make sure that you feel comfortable during your visit!

If we ever visit Jamaica again, we would definitely stay at Firefly (Secrets Cabins on the Beach)! Thank you, Andrea, Opia, Sharon, Gabriela, Paulo, and Mr. Paul Jerry!!!

Love from New Mexico, USA! Leslie, Abram, Shen, Song, and the soon to be newborn

Room Tip: If you're looking for peace and quite, don't go on a holiday weekend. The business just nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on Firefly! We are happy that we were able to serve you and look forward to serving you even better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We enjoyed or holiday. Nice weather, nice people. Our kids loved it too although it's not an all-in. :-)

This was our second visit. And we are very sorry... but it will be our last visit. The resort is sold and the beach will not be clothing optional anymore. :-((( This kind of beach was the reason we came to Firefly...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on Firefly! We are sorry that we are not able to accommodate naturalists guests at Firefly, however we do offer such accommodations at our Carib Beach apartments which actually has a more private beach and is just minutes away from Firefly. We hope that you will consider staying at Carib as it has its own charm. Hoping to serve you better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife Jess and I stayed at Firefly for 8 nights and had the best vacation we ever had. We have been to Negril many times before and have stayed many diffrent places, I can honestly say we have never felt so at home and welcomed.

The room was immaculate, cleaned daily with fresh sheets. The staff was like a long lost family, and they did everything to make you feel welcome at all times.

The newly renovated bar is the best on the beach, Sheldon and Neita always make you feel welcome and are great to talk to.

John and Trevor are great, all of the girls in the office are great, they all went out of their way to throw me a birthday party.

I want to thank you all for such a wonderful trip and experience, we are all ready planning our next trip back and cant wait to see you all. We miss everyone.

Anyone who is looking for a beautiful hotel with a friendly atmosphere should strongly consider Firefly, good food good drinks great friends.

Also they have food now other then breakfast and you wont be disappointed.

Thank you again Firefly well see you soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your great review on Firefly! We are happy that you were able to share the warmth and hospitality of our wonderful team of staff at Firefly. We are still upgrading our rooms and so hope to serve you even better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Firefly Cottages no longer has a nude beach so if this is important to you go someplace else.This used to be a very relaxing place to stay with a clothing optional beach Sadly that is no more so it's no longer unique on 7 miles beach. There are now much better alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaptainJim-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, previous owner until 1st March this year. at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am the 'old owner', responding with the permission of the new owners of Firefly.
Previous guests who enjoyed the naturist facility here will naturally be disappointed that it is no longer available.

The reviewer's previous review of Firefly last June gave 5* for 3 categories, while this year he gave 4* to two of those categories and to another category also.

Therefore, while I regret that the lack of naturist facility had such an adverse effect for him, I would say to non-nudists that the new owners are upgrading some rooms and that they are extending the food and drinks menus and as guests they will find Firefly very pleasing.

There is still a great nudist beach in Negril (where I have 2 apartments which I cannot specify here). This is at the condominium between Hedonism and Grand Lido hotels. It is spacious, safe and uncrowded and available to the condo owners and guests of those who rent them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My fiance, a friend of ours, and myself stayed at Firefly the first week of March for my 30th Birthday. We are all well traveled and have stayed in Negril several times. We read many of the reviews before staying but didn't feel like the reviews gave an accurate representation of the property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage with a full kitchen and 1 and 1/2 baths that was near the street.

Pro's:
The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. Gabriela went out of her way to make us comfortable. The front desk girls also sang "Happy Birthday" to me which I found to be very sweet. The location on the beach was perfect. We were right in the middle of Seven Mile Beach and there were several trees for shade if you needed them. There were also 2 hammocks that were very nice. There are plenty of activities and restaurants within walking distance. Margaritaville is less than a 10 minute walk up the beach and there was a restaurant called Sun Beach that was just next door that had great food and reggae music. We thought the room we booked had A/C but when we arrived it did not. Gabriella allowed us to check out another room with A/C and gave us the option to switch. We opted not to move and I'm glad we didn't because we didn't need A/C. The cottage was well vented and had plenty of ceiling fans. The breeze made it perfect at night. I can't sleep if I'm hot and I had no problem sleeping. There were a few times I actually needed the blanket. The maid washed our dishes and changed our linens every other day. We all felt the space was more than sufficient and took advantage of making some of our own meals. It's only a couple of bucks to catch a cab downtown to the Hi-Lo for groceries. We tried out the breakfast at the bar on a few mornings and found their pancakes and french toast to be delicious.

Con's:
The bar staff were not as friendly and acted like you were inconveniencing them to request something. The beds were very firm. We only saw security one day and it was only along the path during daylight. The hot tub and gym area were disappointing. There are no safes in the rooms. The only safe available is in the office. The biggest problem any of us had with this property was the noise disturbance from a place called Chances that was located 2 properties over. We all like to party and have a good time but the level of the music being played on Friday and Saturday night was completely out of control. It was so loud that it was impossible to sleep through. Our friend put toilet paper in his ears and put his Beats Headphones on and could still hear the music. There was a Jamaican guy yelling in a microphone the entire time and the bass was so loud that we could feel it vibrating the bed. Each night it lasted until 3:45 in the morning. We came on vacation to relax and return to our normal lives refreshed and ended up getting about 3 hours of sleep on our arrival and departure nights. It was bad enough that it was the deal breaker for us ever coming back to Firefly.

A few things to note:
If you are expecting 3 or 4 star cottages you will be sorely disappointed. This property is very simple and offers just the basics without all of the bells and whistles.

Not all of the rooms have A/C so if you must have A/C I recommend calling to confirm that the specific room you booked does in fact have it.

Some of the reviews said that there were only a few people taking advantage of the nude policy but we found this to not be true during our stay. Lots of single men lying nude and a few couples. Us and one other person were the only ones clothed. One man would pose on the sand facing the property for long periods of time. It didn't bother us but if you are considering this place for a family stay, it's something you should know and be prepared for.

Overall, the sleepless nights ruined our desire to ever return to this property. Without the noise issue I would've rated this property a 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Avoid booking on Friday and Saturday nights due to noise disturbance being severe. Confirm your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jendot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on Firefly as it is your review that helps us to serve you better. We are sorry that you had some downside on your last visit with us. First I must say that you were here at the first two weeks of the new managers taking over Firefly. Since then we have undergone major refurbishing to the rooms. We have placed new beds, a/c units, linen, drapery, porcelain tiles and even in room safes in most rooms. The upgrade is gradual but I am sure all our guests will be pleased. We have 24hr security, very friendly bar and restaurant staff and we no longer accommodate naturalists but is now a family friendly resort. As for the noise from our neighbours, we have not had any disturbances for a while. We hope that you will consider us as your next vacation destination as we hope to serve you even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#41 of 81 in Negril
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#23 of 81 in Negril
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Property: Firefly Beach Cottages
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Negril
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#29 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, Wi-Fi Most of our romantic rooms comes with fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our Restaurant and Bar is well-known for our luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly in season beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing