We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Firefly Beach Cottages
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No Longer”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Firefly Cottages no longer has a nude beach so if this is important to you go someplace else.This used to be a very relaxing place to stay with a clothing optional beach Sadly that is no more so it's no longer unique on 7 miles beach. There are now much better alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaptainJim-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, previous owner until 1st March this year. at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am the 'old owner', responding with the permission of the new owners of Firefly.
Previous guests who enjoyed the naturist facility here will naturally be disappointed that it is no longer available.

The reviewer's previous review of Firefly last June gave 5* for 3 categories, while this year he gave 4* to two of those categories and to another category also.

Therefore, while I regret that the lack of naturist facility had such an adverse effect for him, I would say to non-nudists that the new owners are upgrading some rooms and that they are extending the food and drinks menus and as guests they will find Firefly very pleasing.

There is still a great nudist beach in Negril (where I have 2 apartments which I cannot specify here). This is at the condominium between Hedonism and Grand Lido hotels. It is spacious, safe and uncrowded and available to the condo owners and guests of those who rent them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    72
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
36
101
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My fiance, a friend of ours, and myself stayed at Firefly the first week of March for my 30th Birthday. We are all well traveled and have stayed in Negril several times. We read many of the reviews before staying but didn't feel like the reviews gave an accurate representation of the property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage with a full kitchen and 1 and 1/2 baths that was near the street.

Pro's:
The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. Gabriela went out of her way to make us comfortable. The front desk girls also sang "Happy Birthday" to me which I found to be very sweet. The location on the beach was perfect. We were right in the middle of Seven Mile Beach and there were several trees for shade if you needed them. There were also 2 hammocks that were very nice. There are plenty of activities and restaurants within walking distance. Margaritaville is less than a 10 minute walk up the beach and there was a restaurant called Sun Beach that was just next door that had great food and reggae music. We thought the room we booked had A/C but when we arrived it did not. Gabriella allowed us to check out another room with A/C and gave us the option to switch. We opted not to move and I'm glad we didn't because we didn't need A/C. The cottage was well vented and had plenty of ceiling fans. The breeze made it perfect at night. I can't sleep if I'm hot and I had no problem sleeping. There were a few times I actually needed the blanket. The maid washed our dishes and changed our linens every other day. We all felt the space was more than sufficient and took advantage of making some of our own meals. It's only a couple of bucks to catch a cab downtown to the Hi-Lo for groceries. We tried out the breakfast at the bar on a few mornings and found their pancakes and french toast to be delicious.

Con's:
The bar staff were not as friendly and acted like you were inconveniencing them to request something. The beds were very firm. We only saw security one day and it was only along the path during daylight. The hot tub and gym area were disappointing. There are no safes in the rooms. The only safe available is in the office. The biggest problem any of us had with this property was the noise disturbance from a place called Chances that was located 2 properties over. We all like to party and have a good time but the level of the music being played on Friday and Saturday night was completely out of control. It was so loud that it was impossible to sleep through. Our friend put toilet paper in his ears and put his Beats Headphones on and could still hear the music. There was a Jamaican guy yelling in a microphone the entire time and the bass was so loud that we could feel it vibrating the bed. Each night it lasted until 3:45 in the morning. We came on vacation to relax and return to our normal lives refreshed and ended up getting about 3 hours of sleep on our arrival and departure nights. It was bad enough that it was the deal breaker for us ever coming back to Firefly.

A few things to note:
If you are expecting 3 or 4 star cottages you will be sorely disappointed. This property is very simple and offers just the basics without all of the bells and whistles.

Not all of the rooms have A/C so if you must have A/C I recommend calling to confirm that the specific room you booked does in fact have it.

Some of the reviews said that there were only a few people taking advantage of the nude policy but we found this to not be true during our stay. Lots of single men lying nude and a few couples. Us and one other person were the only ones clothed. One man would pose on the sand facing the property for long periods of time. It didn't bother us but if you are considering this place for a family stay, it's something you should know and be prepared for.

Overall, the sleepless nights ruined our desire to ever return to this property. Without the noise issue I would've rated this property a 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Avoid booking on Friday and Saturday nights due to noise disturbance being severe. Confirm your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jendot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on Firefly as it is your review that helps us to serve you better. We are sorry that you had some downside on your last visit with us. First I must say that you were here at the first two weeks of the new managers taking over Firefly. Since then we have undergone major refurbishing to the rooms. We have placed new beds, a/c units, linen, drapery, porcelain tiles and even in room safes in most rooms. The upgrade is gradual but I am sure all our guests will be pleased. We have 24hr security, very friendly bar and restaurant staff and we no longer accommodate naturalists but is now a family friendly resort. As for the noise from our neighbours, we have not had any disturbances for a while. We hope that you will consider us as your next vacation destination as we hope to serve you even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Not a relaxing experience, there was no was security to keep locals from coming right up to us while laying out and ogling us naked on the beach repeatedly trying to sell us junk every 15 minutes, horrible and loud night time noise until 4 am some nights, over priced poor food, bed springs poking thru mattresses ...spend your money somewhere else!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on Firefly! We the new managers of Firefly do apologise for your recent experience with us and would like to reassure you that every effort since our take over in March has been made to improve our accommodation and services, thus guaranteeing all our guests a very relaxing experience. Most rooms have been refurbished, including new beds. We have not been disturbed by our neighbours noise for a very long time and the beach hassle has been drastically lowered due to 24hr security. We have a new restaurant and bar with the friendliest staff, good food and great prices. We hope that you will reconsider your stay with us as we hope to serving you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile


This was my girlfriend's first trip to a naturist friendly resort, and the descriptions of the property (form the website and from other advertisements) were not exactly descriptive enough in my opinion...other naturists we met there felt much the same way.
We stayed in the Chalet and the cabin was quite comfortable. It was clean and we did not have any issues with the room. Right outside the door is an orchid tree and we watched a swallow tailed hummingbird throughout our week long stay. The grounds were quite nice as well, and the garden was beautiful. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful, and the little bar / cafe met our needs for breakfast and drinks throughout the day (although we did buy most of our own beverages at the grocery store in town). There were some "regulars" there who have all been going at the same time for many years and they welcomed us into their little "family". It felt very comfortable and cozy for the most part (more below on this).
As stated above, this was my girlfriends first trip to a naturist resort. For a "naturist friendly" resort, the only place you could go natural was on the beach itself, which was nice, but small (about 50 yards by 20 yards) and right in the middle of the public thoroughfare. You could not order from the bar, walk to your room, or even sit on our own porch without getting dressed. It was a weird feeling, even for me, to be au natural in front of so many clothed people, but nobody really seemed to mind other than a few reactive looks when they realized we had no suits on.
I said "comfortable for the most part" above due only to one individual who seemingly was trying his best to be a character from "Leisure Suit Larry", hitting on my girlfriend right in front of me and commenting in a sexual nature on another young lady who was there. There were many single, older men there, but all but one were quite polite and well mannered, and he mostly was, just a few instances of inappropriate comments.
We love going local and hanging out with natives, so our dinners were found on the beach - sometimes at restaurants, and sometimes just dining with the locals who had their cook areas. Alton's was one of the best. Small, family, great jerk chicken. Many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. As is common in Jamaica, you will be bombarded by guys selling their wares, marijuana, etc., but most respect you as long as you respect them and just say "nope, I'm good".
Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay. I would have preferred for this to be more naturist friendly and be allowed to go to the room without having to kit up. Would we go back? Probably. The price was right and we are pretty low maintenance. I could see others being disappointed in the accommodations though if they did not do their homework well before hand. I thought I had and still had a little disappointment, but like I said, we did enjoy our stay and came home very, very relaxed, and very tan.
I also have a cabin in Canada and my GF and I joked that this was like camping in Jamaica. We did have a kitchen and our own bathroom in the Chalet. We love camping, so it was fine for us, just do not expect this to be a Hilton or Hedo.
Comment on Booby Cay...what a huge disappointment the island was. The lobster was fantastic, but the beach is small, rocky, and despite being told this was "the place" for naturism, it was found not to be there at all (at least when we went). Snorkeling was pretty good though on the reef out from the Cay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Widgeon287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on Firefly! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that you may know by now that Firefly no longer accommodates naturists bathing, however we do offer all our Carib apartments to all our naturists guests as their beach is more private. We hope that you will consider staying at Carib on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We are currently at Firefly and this week we were told by current employees that Firefly has been sold. They also stated that the new owners will take possession on or about April 1st. The staff remain friendly and cheerful. Like many, we remain uncertain about the future of the resort. Yesterday we were noticing how many large resorts have taken over a large part of the seven mile beach resulting in an unfortunate change to its unique character. Firefly is a one in a kind and we wonder what the future holds for the nicest part of the beach.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Egglefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for your review on Firefly! We the management and staff of Firefly continue to do our best in ensuring that all our guests leave feeling very satisfied. Most of the rooms have been refurbished and new beds, a/c, in room safes, drapery, linen and much more has been placed in the rooms. We have 24hr security which helps to stop beach harassment. New gate which closes at midnight and is security manned. Spa services. New restaurant and bar, wide menu and reasonably priced. Great staff, as usual and the same Firefly feel and ambience. We welcome you back to share in this wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Absolutely loved this hidden gem! The staff is super friendly, loved our unit on the third floor, veranda, the flowers, the almond trees, the white sandy beach and everyone who also stayed that week! Dornette did the best massages, Maxine, Nesrine, and Nieta did the best breakfasts and smoothies, and Gabrielle advised on the most romantic Mayfield Waterfalls tour! We had a true paradise vacation and will definitely come back again!

It was most romantic, chilled out, and fun vacation for us and without FireFly it would never be the same.

Tips:
* take anti mosquitoes spray regardless the hotel you will choose to stay in: use it in evenings and early mornings - that is mosquitoes meal time
** the resort is located in the mid 7 mile beach (amazing!), with that being said, any hotel within 1-2 km walk will enjoy live music performances (Reggae and Jazz mostly) on weekends - which was an add on for us. You can ask hotel staff on quietest rooms/cottages if you require.
*** You will see people wearing nothing on the beach. Enjoy the view ;)

Room Tip: > For those who want full service i.e. fridge, kitchenette, veranda, views - choose the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldroamerII, General Manager at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on Firefly! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to serve you even better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Overall our stay was very pleasant from beginning to end. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, including the provision of an extra key and late checkout. The bar was reasonably priced for Negril and their section of the beach itself was a great example of what Negril is famous for (you can get both sun and shade from their large beachfront tree). The room was more than adequate and had a kitchen with fridge and stove-top stocked with all the utensils and cookware one would need. Our only complaints were that the fan in the room seemed like it was on its last legs (struggling and noisy) while the mesh on the windows was broken in places so that mosquitoes could get in (not the biggest deal though and they provide repellant coils). The other great aspect of the stay were the other guests. Fair warning, this is a clothing optional place. Although we aren't nudists, this was not a problem for us at all, and anyway, only a few of the guests when we were there exercised that option. We actually really appreciated the liberal vibe here, which is what likely draws Firefly's interesting, intelligent and very international crowd, i.e. a nice oasis from the American fratboy hordes. Great conversations and good times all around!

Room Tip: The rooms to choose depend on what you're looking for since Firefly has a great abundance of opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.7 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 85 in Negril
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#41 of 85 in Negril
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#23 of 85 in Negril
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Property: Firefly Beach Cottages
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#25 Family Hotel in Negril
#29 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, Wi-Fi Most of our romantic rooms comes with fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our Restaurant and Bar is well-known for our luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly in season beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing