We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Firefly Beach Cottages
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good & Bad”
Reviewed January 17, 2008

The good - the hosts are wonderful, helpful people. The beach vendors selling fresh-squeezed juice, fresh fruit, hot bread, fresh-cooked lobster (with plate and fork), and whatever else you might like are great! The beach and water were calm, warm and clean. The numerous restaurants, including Firefly's breakfast, were excellent and convenient. Having our own kitchen with fridge was also great as were the sunsets from our porch.

The bad - We had the "Cozy Cottage" on the beach, a mere 20 yards from the bar next door which constantly played the radio quite loud. It's proximity may make you hesitant to enjoy the clothing-optional aspect of this guest house - there were very few people during our four-day stay who did so.. The bed was, unfortunately, hard and small (full-size). The water was luke-warm at best, but then the air temperature was never below 75 F so it didn't matter much.

  • Liked — Convenient locations, helpful hosts
  • Disliked — The noise and proximity of the bar next door.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RedHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    73
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
37
102
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

After the third trip this year to Firefly I just had to put it in writing. It's an idyllic setting on the upper end of Seven Mile beach, just south of Margaritaville. Unless you are lucky enough to get the cottage on the beach or one of the beachview penthouses, the garden view is just as pleasant. There is a workout room as well as a Jacuzzi in the Garden area.
The bar is staffed by a couple of the finest young ladies ever-Maxine & Shawn. Kick back and enjoy a Red Stripe or a good rum blender. They also serve an excellent breakfast ALL day until close for those who may lose track of time.
Close enough to the nightlife,yet far enough away to get a good sleep when needed. Excellent dining in either direction.
Within the resort are some cedar cabins from the days when Negril was just a fishing village. There are four of them that can sleep up to three-I think one can handle four. Cleaned daily and comfortable, there is nothing more economical on the beach.
To close, I have to add that Firefly/Secrets is a clothing optional resort-the only one on 7-mile besides the A/I's. This goes for the beach area and Jacuzzi only, but it is Naturist oriented and for families, couples, or singles-who needs tan lines or a wet suit?!

Helpful?
3 Thank ZAPPAED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

In 2 weeks, my husband and I will be returning to Firefly for our third trip. We love to travel and don't often go more than a couple of times to the same location. Firefly is different. After our first stay we both commented that "it was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken". The atmosphere, the staff, the people you meet, all are wonderful. We always rent the penthouse because we love the view. Everything is readily available on the beach. We can dine at a different restaurant every night. We can, and often do, buy fresh fish or lobster from the local fisherman and cook our own. We stroll the beach several times a day, relax in the warn sun, swim in the crystal waters or take trip with Capt Ziggy to the reef to snorkel. Yes, the vendors, can be a pain but they respect the word "NO". We can hardly wait to get there and hit the beach. We have no regrets and plan to visit several more times.
Widget

  • Liked — quaint and restfull
  • Disliked — all the steps to the room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Widget10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My wife and I hit the jackpot when we selected Secrets Cabins on The Firefly Property. Just exactly what we were looking for. We felt like family from the first nite. We spent 9 total beginning March 14. A beautifull beach ,a bar with cold Stripes and friendly folks.The grounds were clean and secure and not once any uncomfortible feeling. And no it was not all inclusive. We were not in a zoo with a fence surrounding us. We were free to move around as much as we liked.Secrets has the best Bar and The best pancakes on the 7 mile beach. Another favorite eating place is Rainbow Arch. You can't go wrong. Many food and drink choi ces line the beach in both directions. If The good Lord is willing and The Creek don't Rise,We will surely return to visit our new friends soon.

Helpful?
7 Thank shuffleshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

From the first meeting with Mr Jerry to the long goodbye on the beach the firefly experience was definitely worth it! As it is run by women, I found that although most of the accommodation was modest, it was very clean and cosy.

We had originally planned to go hotel hopping in Negril. However the beach was a big inhibitor of this plan. Although it is only a tiny strip of sand it was the most homely bit on the entire beach. The bar staff were lovely, the security guards were both ace and the beautician/masseuse Dornette was also fantastic. Therefore, there was absolutely no need to leave the beach!

Also I found that aloe-vera really is excellent for sun burns, just as the locals pointed out!

If you are up for a lazy few days on one of the nicest beaches, Firefly would be one of the most relaxed experiences.

Warning to Brits going to Jamaica: Make sure to exchange your pounds for dollars in England or go to a licensed money changer when in J. The local Jamaican pound to j dollar ratio is not fair at all. They don't seem to be aware that the dollar is almost half of the pound!

Security was ok. Make sure to use the safe deposit boxes at reception, available for 2 dollars a day. This really makes a difference to your peace of mind.

Special thanks to: Maxine, Shawn, Dornette, Joan, Annmarie, DC, Campbell, Mr Jerry and also non-firefly people: Peanut man, omango and Farmer Brown. for giving us a truly Irie beach holiday experience!

Word of warning, never book Firefly/ Negril for just one week as leaving that place is one of the hardest things I have ever done! We were very close to swiping our credit cards for an extra cheeky week but sadly it wasn't to be. Miss you Firefly!

  • Liked — The level of cleanliness, even in the huts!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Dele&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conesus NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We took a chanch 6 years ago to go to Firefly, having found their ad on the internet and communicating via emails. They seemed much friendlier than the bigger resorts we have stayed at in the past (Sandals, Couples). They really did care for our comforts and remember our names each year we have come back. We are going again in about 3 weeks for our 7th visit and can hardly wait to see the staff we call our friends. That means all of them. We have pictures of them and the hotel grounds about our house so that we can be reminded all year long. The rooms are cleaned each day and wonderful fresh flowers are waiting for us almost every day. You know that you must really enjoy a place when you have dreams about it. My wife and I have many as we approach our departure date. One more thing... The Sykes (Audry and David) have a newsletter that keeps us tuned into Firely all year long. Never got that from Sandals and we stayed there 3 times before finding Firefly.

Tom & Marilyn Brown
Conesus NY

  • Liked — Freedom
  • Disliked — Sometimes too loud from bands next door.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hellotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Stayed at FireFly on Nov 20 - 29. I had a great time. The room was simple but clean, the housekeepers did a Great job, I tracked in a lot of sand. The water was hot every time I took a shower, room had a kitchenette, lights went out but candles and matches where right on the table, came back on within the hour. The ladies at the bar/office where full of info, whatever I was interested in they pointed me in the right direction. They were very pleasant and get a thumbs up for Great Service., FYI, the BEST pancake breakfast for less that 300J all day. I had booked and paid for the Secrets Cabins, then I changed my mind 10 days later (the outside bathrooms), I called and spoke to the office staff and was able to switch for not too much extra. I saw the Security guard every night I was there - they also had motion lights,I felt very safe. Firefly is clothing optional on the beach only - public beach but no one really paid attention - found out that i can converse with 7 nude people and not have issues with it, to each his own - wished my boyfriend would have let me go topless. The beach vendors - where not a bother, just say no thanks, very firmly - with a smile,they will go away. Very quite property, not too close to the music but not that far away. The office has internet access for a small fee. If u are looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not the place for u. Clean, Safe, Economical, Great Service right on the beach, FIREFLY is the place, Cheap Red Stripes too.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank buggirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1.7 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.2 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Property: Firefly Beach Cottages
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#25 Family Hotel in Negril
#29 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, Wi-Fi Most of our romantic rooms comes with fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our Restaurant and Bar is well-known for our luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly in season beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing