We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jamaican defraud !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Firefly Beach Cottages
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

A sort of camping . cozy cottage is very very old, noisy at the bach of the bar , a little restroom whit broken majolicas! Webside is misleading , the price are different when you go there ! if you will want to change the room they apply penalty .They play on currency between $ and £, you will pay a room only for bed like a suite in four strars ‘’ all inclusive ‘’. never again !

Room Tip: only the room in a building are accettable , but very expencive for that place ! do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldo i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusToo, Owner at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

The reviewer booked 5 nights on our internet site at our clearly shown rates for February high season. He stayed the first night in the cottage on the sand. Next day he said it was too close to the sea, so he moved back to a larger unit which was $35 a night +10% tax more.
He did not pay the full $35 for the change.
After he left he saw our low season rates on the internet and asked for a refund for the amount between the high season rates and the low season rates with a threat to report fraud to TripAdvisor if we did not succumb.

I'm showing the email correspondence (with only minor exclusions of irrelevant sections).

The guest had no complaints when he was here and it is worth noting that his ratings bear no relation to the previous 7 reviews regarding' location' where we received 34 out ot a possible 35
and 'value' (33 out of 35),

I show here the emails (leaving out the identification of the guest as is required).

"So one night at cozy $130+10%= $143.00 plus four nights in apartment (considering the maximum tariff for a garden view ) $150 +10% per 4= $ 660.00 for total amount of $ 806.00 not $1,209.00 that I payed ( whit this amount a lot of ‘ all inclusive’ resort in negril are available ).At the end I would prefer that your organization will reimburse me the difference of $406.00 instead of thinking in a Jamaican defraud .I am waiting it before explain my opinion on trip advisor ."

My reply:
"Dear ----.
You must know that hotel rates in most countries go up or down according to the season.

In Jamaica rates are lowest when it is summer in the USA, Canada and Europe. Rates are highest when it is winter in Italy, Europe and North America where most of the guests come from because the climate in Jamaica is at its best.

The main busy season in Negril is from Christmas to the end of February. For hotels that seek the university students on their Spring break March may be busy. So it is to be expected that a rate of $130 + $13 tax = $143 would apply only to the low season, and that the high season rate would be 50% to 100% higher. Our website shows very clearly that only our low season rate is $130 + $13 tax.

Until this week we did not have the facilities to show rates in US$ when guests made reservations on the website. However, we did show on another page our standard high and low season rates in US$, which have remained almost unchanged since the recession started about 4 years ago, although inflation has continued.

When I did conversions between £ and US$ I used a rate of 1.55 to 1, which has been close to the rate quoted by money changers. You made a booking for 5 nights at £135 + 10% tax a night for a total of £743. You paid a deposit of £216. This was your choice, booked from our website. The rate is very competitive .

When visitors arrive at Firefly new transactions are often done in US$.

For four of your 5 nights you asked for a penthouse suite which has a rate about US$35 + tax higher than the room originally booked. So if I convert £743 to US$ at 1.55 to 1the amount is $1114. Adding four days at $35+10% is another $154. So your total is $1268. Mrs. Dell tells me that you paid only $1210. This agrees with the figure ($1209) that you told me you paid. You will therefore understand that we should have collected a further $58. If you wish to return in late April or May or June when the climate is still nice you will of course get the low season rate and a discount that we offer to returning guests. And we would be delighted to see you again. If you have any other items to discuss please don't hesitate to contact me.
Regards
David Sykes"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 241 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was our first time to Jamaica and we loved everything about Jamaica, Negril and especially the Firefly Inn...we plan to return next year for New Year's Eve which was a magical night on the beach and a memorable celebration at the Firefly's beachfront bar/restaurant...for us Firefly captures the true style of Negril, whatever that is, in all the beautiful and artful details found on the lush property, and the wonderful, and again beautiful, people we met during our all-to brief stay (one week) at this Caribbean oasis...Clearly, we highly recommend Firefly to people, and already to friends, who like to create their own fun and adventure and are not looking for the big hotel all-inclusive commitment. Firefly has it all, including it's own stretch of white-sandy beach, and don't forget the jet-skis just next door...we love those jet-skis...can't wait to get back...Respect Mon...Bientot JimDaraOliviaRachel from Montreal

Room Tip: Take any room that's available when you arrive or make your reservation...we started in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jima55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was our 1st time at Firefly and we loved it !!!! The staff and our wonderful Hosts David and Audrey Sykes are all so gracious and kind, We Needed a place to just relax and we found this little place of sheer bliss,
We will be returning the following year and cannot wait!!!!
Thank - You Firefly we Love You
Bill and Mae Stroud

Room Tip: We Found the rooms very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mae_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our first trip to Jamaica was a success and we will definitley return to Firefly Cottages. As two single Moms traveling with our 16 year old daughters we were looking for a safe and authentic experience. Safety was never an issue during our stay at Firefly. We had the pleasure of experiencing the Gardenview Penthouse. It includes a small veranda, one room with 2 beds, kitchen are, tub with shower and A/C. It is difficult to review this location because it has so many great qualities but there are little things that were definitley noticed. Stairs to our room were very steep, the beds are not real comfortable, water pressure is low, the garden view is nice but not serene, if there are parties next door it can be very loud till very late. However, the staff were absolutely fantastic! The bar area serves amazing omelettes and drinks, I recommend Tia Maria and Rum Cream with your coffee in the morning:) Plenty of beach chairs were always avaiable and the walk to the beach is short and easy. Firefly is centrally located and perfect in either direction for restaurants, shopping and nightlife. There is wifi available in your room but it did not work on the veranda well or at all outside of room. Outside restrooms and showers are helpful too. There were beach vendors but a friendly smile and no thanks or "i'm good" sufficed and they moved along. The smell of Ganja is non-stop from early till late and it is offered often but not aggressively. Clothing is optional but we did not experience any guest with less than a swimsuit. You have to have dinner next door at the Sun Beach Restauraunt too! The food, staff and entertainment earn 4 stars:) Other reviews of Firefly on Trip Advisor seem very accurate so I will leave you with this thought, if you enjoy the resort experience this is not the place for you but if you want privacy, beachfront and freedom Firefly is a great place to call home while visiting Negril. I have included several pictures because as we researched it was difficult to find any pics of the hotel and grounds.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms seemed to be the nicest and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotsofdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Firefly is very tough to rate. We stayed ten days and had a relaxing time -- it may be exactly what you want, or you could be misled by other reviews or their website.

First, the staff is very friendly; they really do try. Housekeeping is efficient and thorough -- though they're somewhat unpredictable as to when they show up.

The price is very reasonable, and with some changes could merit a 4-star rating. We didn't want an all inclusive, so found the freedom of room only very attractive.

The location is great -- central Negril location,close to many restaurants and nightlife options.

Our room -- #18 penthouse was really comfortable 18-19 hours a day, great for sleeping, wonderful view of the beach. As other reviewers have mentioned, to does get very warm and stuffy (balcony too) from about 11-4. We didn't try the (small) window A/C -- that might have helped, but it almost seemed silly -- except when we would up packing in the heat.

So what's not to like?

The restaurant - I never was clear just when it opened -- 730 or 8? -- it seemed to vary depending on how many guests there were. Or when it closed. At least once I got a drink after ten, and on most evenings the last week we were there it seemed to close NLT 9. But really, don't bother. They do indeed serve fairly good french toast (and hot dogs!) for breakfast, but they don't have a clue. They only seem able to do one order at a time, and the wait can be frustrating. There are lots of really GOOD breakfast options within easy walk -- La Vendome being just the best we found.

The clothing optional experience -- Allowed on the beach and in the jacuzzi. You really need to be quite calloused to the stares of beach goers to opt out of your swim suit. The beach is really exposed to both passersby and to traffic on the adjoining properties. Be prepared to be fully exposed in more ways than one if you want to sun bath nude, and to walk right past nothing but clothed people to get to the water. And, you WILL get both beach vendors walking right up to you -- some quite aggressive, as well as very considerable foot traffic to the adjoining restaurant. They really could use a fence to reduce this cross-traffic. If that's not enough, there were little kids -- between maybe 5 and 10 -- hanging around the Firefly beach most every day.

Also, the small restaurant/bar - at least minimal clothing required -- and it seemed most everyone had more than minimal -- is RIGHT NEXT TO the shaded part of the beach. ANd, at least during our stay often was populated by 2-3 barflys/alcoholics.

Finally wrt clothing optional -- not permitted in the garden - but it was never really clear just what part of the greenery was garden, and what was beach. I chose a liberal interpretation, and no one seemed to care.

Jacuzzi -- small, one needed to ask to have it turned on, and by a certain hour. It didn't seem worth the effort.

Gym -- in name only. It's a bunch of quite old weights, almost all of which are too heavy for the average fit person to contemplate using.

One previous reviewer mentioned the noise at one neighboring property -- we found that to be true, and very disturbingly so -- i.e., 315 am before they stopped -- for one of the ten nights we were there.

The beach -- it's TINY. You can see the building close to the beach? The beach itself is no more than twice as wide as that.

Weed -- we could smell it every day, not only from the next property, but for the first weekend from patrons of Firefly while on the beach. It's there, easily, if you want it -- we didn't.

The tour company the front office recommended -- don't! They gave us a bait and switch, and we didn't get to the rum factory, which was our prime reason for booking the tour. The driver was only that, and seemed not to care for our comfort -- too much AC, and horrid static-y music. The only Jamaican 'music' I didn't like.

Wireless -- we found it unusable. Ditto the office laptop. On the bright side, they didn't charge us for trying, and the manager very graciously let me sue her extra international minutes to call home.

Firefly certainly isn't horrid, and you may find it exactly what you're looking for -- just be forewarned and go in with full knowledge and I expect you might like it a lot.

Would we return? Probably not. But do we regret the experience? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Suite 18 is the best they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roadrunner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We do not like the clonetown all inclusive type places where you blend in with the clone masses, spend way too much for the all inclusive "deal" and feel like your at just another beautiful beach anywhere in the world. We like to experience a little more of the culture, break out of the box a bit. Firefly is in the middle of the best part of 7mile (7 kilometers really) beach. Sure, there are vendors who come by selling trinkets. Buy a few, ask them about their family, get involved. Build "respect" as they say in Jamaica. Firefly has the sweetest, most loving staff. It feels more like coming home. This is the second of many upcoming years in a row we'll spend at Firefly (next year is already booked). Best breakfast too. This is a clothing optional motel with accompanying clothing optional beach. Best customers in the world with nothing to hide. Only about 1/2 opt out of clothing at one time or another. This is a place to feel free, forget about stress. Ya Mon!!!

Room Tip: Room on the sand behind restaurant is closest to the beach, has nice patio, but noisy. 3rd floor oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinandJennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I started coming to Jamaica about ten years ago, initially, staying at various hotels - until I discovered the Firefly. Since then I've been escaping to the Firefly twice a year. At many hotels you have sun, beach, and ocean but you can barely tell what country you are visiting it is so homogenous. At the Firely you get a piece of real Jamaica in a simple, unpretentious, always friendly, and genuinely caring, personal service. The grounds are almost a botanical wonder and the breakfasts and lunches are scrumptious. Then, the location in the middle of the best beach I've ever seen (including Hawaii) gives you access to a multitude of small and more fancy restaurants and reggae music venues. The atmosphere is laid back and you can't help but fall into conversation with the other guests at the small bar or lounging on the beach. The rooms are always clean, whether one of the very simple (and inexpensive) to the fancier rooms. It is not a five star in the sense of the big fancy all inclusives. But if you want to really relax and enjoy Negril, the Firefly is simply a natural paradise - the way it's been for something like 30 years. I'll be there again next week.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#44 of 81 in Negril
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#48 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 81 in Negril
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 81 in Negril
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#38 of 81 in Negril
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#29 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $49 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, Wi-Fi Most of our romantic rooms comes with fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our Restaurant and Bar is well-known for our luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly in season beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing