We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to rate - you may love it but you should know what to expent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Firefly Beach Cottages
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tough to rate - you may love it but you should know what to expent”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Firefly is very tough to rate. We stayed ten days and had a relaxing time -- it may be exactly what you want, or you could be misled by other reviews or their website.

First, the staff is very friendly; they really do try. Housekeeping is efficient and thorough -- though they're somewhat unpredictable as to when they show up.

The price is very reasonable, and with some changes could merit a 4-star rating. We didn't want an all inclusive, so found the freedom of room only very attractive.

The location is great -- central Negril location,close to many restaurants and nightlife options.

Our room -- #18 penthouse was really comfortable 18-19 hours a day, great for sleeping, wonderful view of the beach. As other reviewers have mentioned, to does get very warm and stuffy (balcony too) from about 11-4. We didn't try the (small) window A/C -- that might have helped, but it almost seemed silly -- except when we would up packing in the heat.

So what's not to like?

The restaurant - I never was clear just when it opened -- 730 or 8? -- it seemed to vary depending on how many guests there were. Or when it closed. At least once I got a drink after ten, and on most evenings the last week we were there it seemed to close NLT 9. But really, don't bother. They do indeed serve fairly good french toast (and hot dogs!) for breakfast, but they don't have a clue. They only seem able to do one order at a time, and the wait can be frustrating. There are lots of really GOOD breakfast options within easy walk -- La Vendome being just the best we found.

The clothing optional experience -- Allowed on the beach and in the jacuzzi. You really need to be quite calloused to the stares of beach goers to opt out of your swim suit. The beach is really exposed to both passersby and to traffic on the adjoining properties. Be prepared to be fully exposed in more ways than one if you want to sun bath nude, and to walk right past nothing but clothed people to get to the water. And, you WILL get both beach vendors walking right up to you -- some quite aggressive, as well as very considerable foot traffic to the adjoining restaurant. They really could use a fence to reduce this cross-traffic. If that's not enough, there were little kids -- between maybe 5 and 10 -- hanging around the Firefly beach most every day.

Also, the small restaurant/bar - at least minimal clothing required -- and it seemed most everyone had more than minimal -- is RIGHT NEXT TO the shaded part of the beach. ANd, at least during our stay often was populated by 2-3 barflys/alcoholics.

Finally wrt clothing optional -- not permitted in the garden - but it was never really clear just what part of the greenery was garden, and what was beach. I chose a liberal interpretation, and no one seemed to care.

Jacuzzi -- small, one needed to ask to have it turned on, and by a certain hour. It didn't seem worth the effort.

Gym -- in name only. It's a bunch of quite old weights, almost all of which are too heavy for the average fit person to contemplate using.

One previous reviewer mentioned the noise at one neighboring property -- we found that to be true, and very disturbingly so -- i.e., 315 am before they stopped -- for one of the ten nights we were there.

The beach -- it's TINY. You can see the building close to the beach? The beach itself is no more than twice as wide as that.

Weed -- we could smell it every day, not only from the next property, but for the first weekend from patrons of Firefly while on the beach. It's there, easily, if you want it -- we didn't.

The tour company the front office recommended -- don't! They gave us a bait and switch, and we didn't get to the rum factory, which was our prime reason for booking the tour. The driver was only that, and seemed not to care for our comfort -- too much AC, and horrid static-y music. The only Jamaican 'music' I didn't like.

Wireless -- we found it unusable. Ditto the office laptop. On the bright side, they didn't charge us for trying, and the manager very graciously let me sue her extra international minutes to call home.

Firefly certainly isn't horrid, and you may find it exactly what you're looking for -- just be forewarned and go in with full knowledge and I expect you might like it a lot.

Would we return? Probably not. But do we regret the experience? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Suite 18 is the best they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadrunner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    73
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
37
102
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We do not like the clonetown all inclusive type places where you blend in with the clone masses, spend way too much for the all inclusive "deal" and feel like your at just another beautiful beach anywhere in the world. We like to experience a little more of the culture, break out of the box a bit. Firefly is in the middle of the best part of 7mile (7 kilometers really) beach. Sure, there are vendors who come by selling trinkets. Buy a few, ask them about their family, get involved. Build "respect" as they say in Jamaica. Firefly has the sweetest, most loving staff. It feels more like coming home. This is the second of many upcoming years in a row we'll spend at Firefly (next year is already booked). Best breakfast too. This is a clothing optional motel with accompanying clothing optional beach. Best customers in the world with nothing to hide. Only about 1/2 opt out of clothing at one time or another. This is a place to feel free, forget about stress. Ya Mon!!!

Room Tip: Room on the sand behind restaurant is closest to the beach, has nice patio, but noisy. 3rd floor oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinandJennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I started coming to Jamaica about ten years ago, initially, staying at various hotels - until I discovered the Firefly. Since then I've been escaping to the Firefly twice a year. At many hotels you have sun, beach, and ocean but you can barely tell what country you are visiting it is so homogenous. At the Firely you get a piece of real Jamaica in a simple, unpretentious, always friendly, and genuinely caring, personal service. The grounds are almost a botanical wonder and the breakfasts and lunches are scrumptious. Then, the location in the middle of the best beach I've ever seen (including Hawaii) gives you access to a multitude of small and more fancy restaurants and reggae music venues. The atmosphere is laid back and you can't help but fall into conversation with the other guests at the small bar or lounging on the beach. The rooms are always clean, whether one of the very simple (and inexpensive) to the fancier rooms. It is not a five star in the sense of the big fancy all inclusives. But if you want to really relax and enjoy Negril, the Firefly is simply a natural paradise - the way it's been for something like 30 years. I'll be there again next week.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed a few nights in one of the Firefly Cottages 10 years ago. It was unforgettable; the fact that it is situated on the best beach in the Caribbean is definitely a plus. Great rates, great location, great staff. If you plan on spending most of the time in your room, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskakeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you want a sterile room in a resort that could be in any hot country then this is not for you. Firefly is a small unique resort where there is an extremely warm welcome from genuine Jamaican people. The apartments and studios are all individual offering different amenities. The furnishings are basic but comfortable and towels and bed linen is fresh and frequently changed. We stayed in the beachside studio consisting of a small kitchen with cooker rings and fridge freezer, bedroom and compact shower room. We also had our own veranda that caught the sun all day. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily and always smelled fresh. The small beach side bar stocked all the drink you could need and Maxine and Nesrey cooked wonderful breakfasts of omlettes, pancakes, french toast etc to order. The beach area has trees to offer natural shade at all times of the day and the sea was so warm! We were well looked after and given accurate advice about the local restaurants all along the beach, and trips out to sea and inland.

Room Tip: The road can be noisy, so the nearer the beach the quieter, but all rooms are individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

i stayed at firefly last year and am going back again this year. it was a great experience and the staff were all quite nice. the pancakes and coffee in the morning area a great way to start your day. there's always some problems with locals wherever you go in jamaica but as for firefly, it's a great experience with really nice staff and a little slice of peace and heaven amongst all the big resorts. would definitely recommend it to friends and family. and not to mention, the prices are great and the rooms are well kept and the location is also excellent. highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grittymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

If you want to get away from the all inclusive and the crowds firefly is the place for you, very relaxed and no hassles. Very well maintained grounds, raked every day, and so is the beach. staff would have my chair put out for me, so every morning i would be down at the beach with my coffee and take a dip. Staff made sure i was fine every day. I had my share of meat patties from the venders. The local fruits were delicious. The most relaxing vacation I have had "No Problem".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylove2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#33 of 80 in Negril
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Property: Firefly Beach Cottages
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#29 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, Wi-Fi Most of our romantic rooms comes with fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our Restaurant and Bar is well-known for our luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly in season beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing