We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay at Banana Shout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Banana Shout Resort
Ranked #5 of 44 Negril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were travelling as a couple (both 30 years) and we really loved our stay at the Banana Shout.
We booked our stay (including airport transfer) beforehand by directly contacting Milo, the owner of the resort.
When we got there we found out that the place is absolutely amazing:
Four nice cottages surrounded by plants, flowers and several artworks done by local artists. We stayed in the “treehouse“ which offers you a perfect view over the carribean sea from its veranda. The resort is located at the cliffside of Negril what allows you to jump directly into the water from its cliffs (it`s also possible to enter the ocean by using a ladder). There it was also possible to enjoy the sun in the “relaxation station“! Should it happen that the sea someday is too rough you can also refresh yourself in the cooling pool. Furthermore we really enjoyed the fresh water shower which has been installed in the cave down at the ocean.
But the most important thing which made our stay that excellent were the owners, Milo and Marianne, who really did everything to make sure that we felt at “home“ and enjoyed our stay to the max (don`t forget to try Milo`s fresh basil pasta!!!!). Thank you guys! If there was any wish left, the employees Barbara, Plug, Jah Round and Ashmond were very pleasant and helpful (even at night or in the early morning ;)). You should also grab the chance to enjoy an „AhhBee“-Burger which is really superb.
All in all, it was an excellent stay at the Banana Shout and we will surely come back next year! 
Johanna & Sebastian

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabastian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Banana Shout Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Banana Shout! Only 4 rooms, so nice privacy, very nice owners, relaxed atmosphere in a very beautiful location. Milo and Marianne really do their best to make sure their guests enjoy their stay! We had nice dinner with them twice, which was really nice and made our stay something special. Really enjoyed our private Aaahhh Bees burger dinner (best regards to Aubie & Melody as well). "Cooling pool" is superb addition to the place if the waves happen to be rough! Banana Shout would absolutely be our choise always in Negril! All the best to whole Banana Shout family! One love.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Suvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Been to many places in the Caribbean& stopped searching when we arrived at Banana Shout in 2007. Property is beautiful, intimate, great sunset/view & great rate. Cottages are nicely done & clean. The entire staff is warm & welcoming, like family. Its not a full service resort and that’s what we love about it, you get to enjoy a more real Jamaica. Food & grocery very close w/all you need. Milo & Marianne are very caring, helpful & took us on an emergency visit to the Dr. Over the years, they have ALL become very dear friends to us. As far as service, we had no problems ever, they do all that they possibly can for their guests but we understand it's Jamaica, See you again in Dec.!

Room Tip: Front cottages are great but have stayed in all and love them.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walletsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second time staying at Banana Shout.We spent one night here on our way home in 2012 and fell in love with the place. We stayed two weeks this time, had a wonderful time. Milo and Marianne are awesome host, they treat you like family. You get the sense that they really care about you and go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable.
So many awesome people coming and going,with interesting stories to tell. The staff is fantastic helping out with anything you need. Jahround is the cab driver on site, he took us to the most amazing destinations that we would never have found without his help.
Thank You all for making our stay unforgettable. See you next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryll E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our first time staying at Banana Shout but won't be our last. There's something special going on there that's hard to descibe. It's more like renting a summer camp than it is staying at a resort. Not everything works, there are knobs missing on the cabinets, water pressure is iffy at best, but in exchange for these minor issues you get more than enough to make up for it. How about sleeping with the doors unlocked and waking up six steps from a thirty foot cliff with the waves rumbling through the caves below? How about the kindest hosts ever? We met a brilliant wood carver, a bush doctor and an 87 year old rasta that helped to build the place years ago without leaving the property. The bar and restaurant were closed for the low season but that gives you no choice but to get out and explore the area. This is far from the hassle of the beach scene. We ate at Ras Rodys, Sharks, LTU and Aaaah Bees - all great places with fun people.
Milo and Marianne truly care about their guests as well as the local community. After four days there they themselves drove us to our next lodging on the beach and as soon as they dropped us off we wished we were back at our cabin on the cliffs. It's the type of place where if you want something ask - if you have something share. Skip the all inclusives and get a taste of the real Jamaica at Banana Shout. As Marianne put it, here you're not tourists - you're travellers.

See you next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in Dolphin Bay, the closest to the ocean an it was perfect!
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank dcon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'm not even sure where to start. This is our 2nd time staying with Milo and Marianne, and we enjoyed this stay even more. It is simply the most relaxing and enjoyable place to relax and recharge. You simultaneously feel a million miles away and right at home. This is certainly not a "luxury" resort, and you will be making your own drinks at the bar. The advantage of this is that the other guests are there doing the same thing. As one of our new friends put it "the place acts as a filter against anyone who would ruin the great vibe". Both times we have stayed we met several other couples who were an absolute blast to hang out and party with. There is no judgement here, you just do what you do. We also had the privilege to meet many locals including a special needs young man with an amazing story, several Rasta gentlemen that you could learn from for years, and the most gracious and truly caring staff at any property I've visited. Upon leaving it felt like leaving family and going away. We don't know when we will return, just that we will.....as long as nothing changes.

Thanks Milo,Marianne,James,Oneal,Plug,Jah,Blood,Ashman,Barbara, and Derek!!!

Room Tip: If you choose one of the front cottages, you can fall asleep to the sound of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Banana Shout is the place that turned our Jamaican trip from very good to unforgettable. The experience was so great that we decided to turn back from Florida to Jamaica for the last week of our holiday, after having already spent two weeks there. All of this thanks not only to the great location and laid back cottages of Banana Shout, but also to Milo and Marianne, who make you feel at home from day one. The staff is super friendly. Also worth mentioning is the communal area in the middle that puts you in touch with a bunch of interesting people creating chances for great conversations.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernitayilmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Shout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Shout Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril 3004, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range: $94 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Shout Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Banana Shout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Shout Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing