We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to unwind and relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Tensing Pen for 5 nights at the beginning of February. We were looking for a place for us to reconnect and relax for a few days. Each morning we would go for a jog outside the property and then come back for a fantastic breakfast made to order each morning. We did yoga on property with an amazing instructor in a yoga setting overlooking the ocean. We spent most of our time reading, listening to the ocean and the birds, snorkeling, cooling off in the pool, getting messages at their outdoor facility (like in the movies), eating at their great restaurant, sipping drinks at the bar with the bartender, Razor, and our favorite thing, watching the sunset. At sunset, most of the vacationers are either out on their balconies alone or visiting with others out on the cliffs while watching the famous sunsets of the Westernmost tip of the island. We only left the property 2 evenings to try dinner at other places but really never had the desire to leave the property, (aside from our morning jog). It was just soooo peaceful and quiet. My husband and I had a very romantic and relaxing vacation and we have pledged that our marriage needs this vacation once a year. Tensing Pen is really a place to chill out, I wouldn't recommend it to people that want to party hardy- it is really more geared to those that want a peaceful vacation and especially if you want time alone with your loved one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bees60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    111
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
113
501
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Tensing Pen is a wonderful escape. We go there to loose ourselves, but gain so much (and I'm not just talking about weight from the fabulous meals).
It's like a beautiful form of meditation - one can totally let go and loose all of the nonsense and useless chatter that clouds our minds in our daily lives.
One quickly learns to slow down, and take time to smell the hibiscus (and the wonderful coffee in the morning).
Easily a place to enjoy over and over and over again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I travelled to this hotel in November for my 50th birthday and needless to say I wouldn't have had it any other way. From beginning to end the trip was over the top if you want to get away from the hustle and bussle and just sit back and enjoy paradise. Just not having any electronics in the room or the area makes you think where am I, as there are not cellphones going off or everyone carrying a blackberry. Leave them at home and if you really need to use a computer there is wifi in the lobby. The grounds and the buildings were amazing and the staff kept apologizing for the hurricane that had done some damage to the property. Staff were great and workers were cleaning up the remainder of the damaged areas. The cottages were fantastic and created the relaxing atmosphere that is Tensing Pen. The continental breakfast was simple but satisfying and eating at Tensing Pen or any of the boutique hotels or small restaurants in the area and all are reasonable. Go and see Leroy and Rose in the tin shack across the street for a fabulous jerk chicken plate of food. They will make you smile everyday. Alices across the street was also great and we can really say that every place we ate from the Rockhouse to Catch a falling star and Tensing Pen offered great food. We walked on the road day and night and felt very safe. We walked into the Town of Negril on two occassions (1. hr) walk. A few stores around but nice to go into the local area stores and see their wares and share in some of their foods. There is nothing like sitting on a cliff every night watching the sun slowly drop into the ocean with a rum and coke or a glass of wine and the new friends you meet. We met people from all over at this resort and a lot of them are returnies.... 4th time 6th time and we now see why as we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Tensing pen for our 10th trip to the island over many years. We had the best trip of our lives,love the island and love Tensing pen more. It is truly a tropical paradise and a great get away value. The staff was outstanding- like family by the end of the week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garyn6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Beautiful individual rooms with great views over the sea. Small, very individual and calm. The perfect spot to unwind. We stayed in Rock Cottage 1 which is about 30 feet from the sea. Slept better here than almost anywhere. Has the best ever view of sunset. Rooms very well maintained and simply stylish.
The food is excellent. Home cooked and far better than the local restaurants.
If it had a beach it would be perfect for me as when the sea is choppy I don't always want to climb down the ladder in to it. But there is a pool to cool down in if it is too rough.
I love this place. It is very special. This was our 2nd visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

we have been everywhere in the caribbean with our 3 girls and have never wanted to go back to the same place until tensing pen. in fact , our three girls would never let us going anywhere else. the experience is far beyond the beautiful grounds , the incredible restaurant , and the unigue , comfortable and incredibly well maintained cottages.. what makes tensing pen so great is the people that work at the resort and the way the resort is a part of the jamaican experience. everyone at the resort is so helpful , willing to converse about jamaica , and just generally always friendly ,gracious and hospitable. the resort also encourages guests to reach out to the negril street life. from the incredible sit down restaurants to the street vendors i.e. ros rody and others to the shops and artists. every year we also take a day with melvin crooks (876) 369-5866 to explore jamaica which we highly recommend. he will also pick you up in montego bay airport.
Our initial concern about the resort was a lack of a beach . After being there for 5 minutes you never even think of a beach . the ocean just opens up into to your lap. the swimming snorkeling , jumping from the bridges and rocks ,floating on a raft is a blast. But the best part is the waves crashing against the rocks at nights. the wind and sound is so relaxing you dont want to go to sleep to end the mood. If you want to go to the beach the resort arranges you to go to a hotel on the seven mile beach where they make you feel welcome
if you are so fortunate to go there consider yourself lucky and just relax and let the jamaican life take control.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Tensing Pen is by far the most beautiful place we have stayed in Jamaica. From the moment you arrive you transcend into a timeless and pressure free existence. The views and the serenity are unparalleled. The fine food and friendly service are outstanding and your ability to escape the everyday grind are immediate. Suffice it to say that you absolutely owe it to yourself to take a vacation there even at twice the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
128.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing