We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bee-youtiful.”
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bee-youtiful.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Highlights: this property is nestled into the cliffs very nicely, with so many little areas to explore. The pool and snorkeling are lovely, and the whole family loved the bridge (no handrails!). It's a fairly quiet hotel, so if you're looking to stay away from the crowds this is perfect for you. The resident rhodesian ridgebacks wandering around are a fun addition. It seems that almost everything on site is hand-made and/or unique. I thought the food was fantastic, and lunch was a good value. Gardeners, cleaning staff and life guard were super friendly.

Drawbacks: The restaurant wait staff have a real attitude problem- they are very aloof, almost resentful, and lack genuine friendliness (although they aren't outwardly rude). Like, if you're paying $20 a plate for dinner maybe the waiter could at least look at you while taking your order? Bar drinks are pricey.

If it wasn't for the wait staff, I'd be falling over myself gushing over this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HazelsMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPManager, Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank this guest for reviewing our resort. The comments will be helpful as we strive to improve our resort.

Joseph Smith
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    113
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
116
524
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent a relaxing, sun soaked week at Tensing Pen with a buddy and five 22 year olds- the boys stayed in the Long House and we took Red Birch Cottage-both were extremely comfortable and spacious. Really liked that we could get coolers for our cottages and have them filled with ice, beer and water everyday-made life very simple.

Many thanks to Gail,Ruth and Webster for keeping everything clean and never flinching about our odd sleep schedules.

Much thanks and praise to Georgia for the awesome daily deep tissue massages-best my back and body have felt in a long while-try her out -you will not be disappointed.

Shout outs to the kitchen and staff for some great dinners-particularly the curried shrimp, pumpkin snapper and nutty grouper.

Tensing Pen-every time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorkelMan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights on our all around Jamaica trip.

The setting of the place is absolutetely fantastic : our room (north Pillar) had a high terrace with a direct view on the sea where you can sometimes spotted dolphins and enjoy fantastic sunset.
The resort, build on rock cliffs, surrounded by the sea is really beautiful, no doubt about it.

Unfortunetaly, service and confort are not up to the place.

Our room was original and cute, all in wood which was charming. But the bathroom was really small, with an outside shower barely ok regarding water pressure. I kind of like the experience to take my shower outside but some won't. It lacks confort and it is not suited for longer stay (unless you don't mind not washing your hair but i do mind ;). The room is a hut which means no isolation which is very nice to hear the sea (you feel like being in a boat) but less nice to hear dogs barking close by in the middle of the night. Insects are also of the party but luckily we had some big gekos in our room to take care of them. Again, I think it was fun and i enjoy it but some won't so be prepared.

My biggest disapointment was the service (not at reception nor parking nor housekeeping : they were all right, helpful and nice) but at the bar / restaurant area was really poor. The "manager" seems to be very not motivated and make no effort at all to make you feel welcome. Smile must probably be an expensive option on this model of "manager" and greetings are as rare as monkeys in Jamaica. The breakfast was really worth nothing. Bad coffee, some toasts with jam, and that is nearly all, no explanations when you arrive.....only the excellent fruits save it a bit...... Don't go there for food, very average (at least for breakfast and lunch).....but again, as i'm writing this, i just saw some dolphins popping in the sea in front of my balcony.....that makes it better.

It is also possible to do some yoga on a beautiful setting just right in front of the sea. The teacher Fanette has a long experience of teaching yoga in Paris, New York and Negril. We really enjoyed the class and her charismatic personality.

As a conclusion, I won't recommend this place if you' re looking for comfort, great service and food. I would also advise to avoid if you are thinking of a long stay. If you don't care about service, comfort and food, but satisfy with a more "hippie" standard, the great views of that place would do it.

Room Tip: North Pillar is great for the view and the hippie feeling....not good for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luve_Luxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPManager, Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank this guest for the review. We find the some of the claims made by this guest simply shocking! My own personal recollection of the service offered to this guest is completely opposite to the asertions made about the "manager" and the restaurant staff.

I recall numerous occassions on which myself and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to extend great kindness and excellent service to this guest and to grant the requests of this guest.

We are very proud of our accommodations. Our pillars our signature cottages. Obviously they are not for someone seeking the penthouse suite on the 50th floor of some grand luxuy hotel in Vegas. We not pretend that they are either. But if you want a truly unique tropical experience which you will find no where else then a pillar cottage at Tensing Pen is your best bet.

Think outside the box of a regular hotel room...make your booking for a cottage in our tropical wonderland today.

We wish this guest all the best and look forward to welcoming many of you to TP.

Joseph Smith
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good: The property looks just like the pictures. The room was clean, though a few little things were broken (shower control, lamp, etc.). It is beautiful, safe and secluded.
Bad: Food was less than what I would have expected and so was the service. I'd eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in South Cottage and you can hear a dog bark all night. Ear plugs will take care of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieHaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a beautiful facility! We stayed four nights in the Seagrape II and felt very comfortable and private.
Our terrace had a direct view to the ocean and I would say that we had the best sunset view of the whole property.
We always spend our mornings by the pool on the sun beds reading our books. After a couple of time we need to get into the sea (as it was getting to hot).
You can access the ocean from one of their cliffs with jumping from the bridge or using the stairs leading you directly into the ocean.

The famous Rick's Café is just a few steps away from the Tensing Pen. Even if this place is very touristy, you should go there once to see all the people jumping from the cliffs.

The continental breakfast buffet is nice but if you are hungry you need to order something extra (on extra cost).

We had dinner at three nights in the Restaurant. The food was very delicious (especially when you compare with other hotels nearby).

We just felt really sorry about the service quality at this resort. The staff seemed very unmotivated and indifferent to us.

Sadly the point of the service quality is one of the important things in a hotel, so that i couldn't give an excellent review.
We really loved the property and our room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We traveled to Tensing Pen in July 2012. We stayed at the south pillar room and the sea was breathing through our room. The waves of the sea were the only sound we could hear in our open to sea pillar room. It was bliss.
The hotel has done a beautiful job of keeping the natural beauty intact by blending the hotel interiors to a natural scene.
We recommend everyone to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hetal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved the hotel, our room, the wonderful balconies, and ... The Bridge! We went there explicitly to conquer fear and to enjoy a break from our fast paced worlds. We tend to be a bit on the pampered side of things, and we appreciated the wonderful facilities. Comparing the wait staff to our more local interactions in Negril and the southern part of the island, we found them to be less friendly. While we loved the food and property, I find it a little expensive. The take away here is that you are paying for a secluded experience of Negril cliffs on the ocean front. I myself prefer a little more interaction with other guests and didn't realize just how small and secluded my experience would be on this property.
We stayed in the South House Cottage II, which was superb except for the neighbor's dogs barking at night (bring ear plugs?). Our balcony was one of the bests on the resort.
We felt perfectly safe on the property and also felt safe to walk to Rick's Café 3 doors down in daylight. I don't recommend ladies or a couple to make the walk at night. After watching the jumps at Rick's, we finally had the courage to jump off the Tensing Pen bridge, and did so 3 times each that night!
With regard to waiter's tips, I've read the discussions below about the included service charge on the restaurant bill. However, while there, I felt a certain pressure to tip on top of that. The waiters seemed friendly after a tip had occurred, and less friendly without them.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great balcony views. Outlying rooms (south house cottage) is subject to neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing