We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eryting awlrigh, mon!”
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eryting awlrigh, mon!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were invited to Tensing Pen by friends of ours who had visited the resort previously. We were to celebrate a special birthday and the concensus was to celebrate this event here. As it happened, we were available.
Needless to say, our experiences at the resort were wonderfull. The food was top-notch, particularly the pork medallions and my wife especially enjoyed the Carribean lobster. They were delicious! The complementary breakfast was more than adequate although we did opt for an omlette once or twice as a treat.
We were blessed with perfect weather too, which can always make or break a vacation. It helped make our experience the best we've ever had in the Caribean, bar none.
The staff was always there if we needed them and conspicuously absent when we didn't. Our experience was very much like a great summer pool party, surrounded by both new and old freinds without any of the obligations of hosting the party. People came and went as they pleased - it was extrodinary!
Tensing Pen may not be the choice for everyone but for us, we would have no reservations about recommending Tensing Pen to any of our freinds, or to you for that matter...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    115
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
125
544
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The setting is breath taking in this lovely boutique hotel.
Tensing Pen is a perfect paradise to relax, unwind, and enjoy the tropical lush grounds.
We went with two other couples and enjoyed meeting new friends as well.
The staff and other guests are so friendly!
One evening while enjoying the sunset, another guest (Steve) came down from his pillar cottage with a bottle of wine for us! How special was that!
After great conversation, and two of Steve's bottles, we headed over to the restaurant on site.
The restaurant was so accommodating they stayed open late and put together a large table for us and the friends we had made. Even with eleven of us at dinner the food was superb!
(We missed you Karyn H)
Try the grilled Lobster tail, you won't be disappointed!
Not having a T.V. in the room gave us time to read. Something we rarely get to do these days.
The accommodations were fabulous. The towels, sheets, and pillows felt luxurious!
Everyone we met had been there before which is a true testimonial. Some guests even stay for weeks at a time.
Thanks to all the staff and our great new friends who have already booked for next year.
Michael, Karyn, Mark, Fran, Steve, and Jean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We once again chose Tensing Pen for a vacation getaway Feb 2-9, and we couldnt have made a better choice as a place to celebrate my birthday (50!) with our friends. The six of stayed in the Long House for 7 nights, and had a memorable week. Our friends had never been to Tensing Pen before or experienced this unique type of vacation destination, and I think they would agree that they are hooked.
The standards are high at Tensing Pen when it comes to almost everything: quality of accomodations, staff friendliness, groundskeeping, location, food, to name byt afew. Once again the standards were met or exceeded in all areas. Once again the food at The Lodge was top notch. We only are dinner at two other restaurants and found ourselves wishing we had stayed at Tensing Pen both times. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient, leaving room to enjoy a light lunch, (loved the Jerk Chicken Pizza!)
One of my favorite things about Tensing Pen are the people that you meet throughout the week, and even though we were a group of six we met and hung out with many others new friends who made our stay all the better.
Its all been said before, this is a place on earth like no other I have encountered, and needs to be experienced to be appreciated. Photos and words do not do it justice. Come, experience and enjoy.
Thanks to the staff and our friends, both old and new, who made turning 50 a most memorable week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have gone to Negril for 10 years now, and have tried Sunset at The Palms, Kuyaba, Rockhouse Hotel, and Tensing Pen. Do not recommend Kuyaba. All the others, great places, your choice as to beach or cliffs. We prefer the distinctly laid back vibe of the cliffs.

We love the Tensing Pen, and will be returning this fall for our 8th consecutive year. we have stayed in different rooms on the grounds, but prefer the small garden rooms, great prices, air conditioning, and lets us spend our money renting a scooter. We ride that scooter all over the island, experiencing everything we can. Food at the hotel is delicious, and fairly priced. Staff is very friendly, helpful, and treat you like family. The dogs are wonderful, and our favorite part of the hotel :))

Give this beautiful hotel a chance - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms don't have air conditioning - if it's important to you - ASK. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danijoe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just finished a five day vacation staying at Tensing Pen. Honestly, what more could you ask for in a Jamaican resort. Located on the beautiful cliffs on the West Side of Negril, (and a short ridw to the commercial 7 mile beach) this is a small, boutique resort that caters to your every need. This visit we stayed in North Pillar. Its a beautiful hut on pillars, 2nd hut from the pool and dining area with awesome views of the ocean and sunset. Last visit was Seagrape. A bit further from the pool but set away from it all and also with beautiful views. No a/c but who needs it. Sleep with the doors open and let the sounds of the waves lull you into lala land.
It is truly the people who make this resort so special. The front office people are so accomodating. The staff treat you like friends!!!! Razor will make you great drinks...Everytime!!! Webster is the coolest guy and will make sure you have everything you need in your sleeping quarters. Owen will take care of your dining needs. Malcolm also makes a mean dirty banana and will see to it that you are well tended to! The Chef makes wonderful food for all three meals. We ate at many places in Negril and came to the conclusion that the best food was on site!
The best thing about Tensing, in my opinion, is its size. It is a small resort and thus, encourages the guests to meet and mingle. Cleveland Mike "the Mayor", Edie and Isabella have been there each year to make us feel welcome. Mike is a source of all the info you will need in Negril. We also met a group of six (3 couples) from Canada. They were such a treat that we ended up hangin' with them a good deal of the time. Happy 50th, Mike!!!! (Did you do the nightime jump of the bridge?). Don't get me wrong. There is plenty of room for privacy if you want it but we really enjoyed meeting and getting to know the other folks at the resort.
Let me end with one more thought. We have been to Jamaica many times. We have stayed in other areas such as Port Antonio and Montego Bay. For my money I will always go back to Negril and Tensing. It is our Nirvana (and apparently other peoples too as almost everyone we met was returning for their 2nd, 3rd, 10th or 20th time.) Returning vacationers are the mark of a truly great resort!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's one of those places where you want to tell people that they won't like it just so that you can keep it to yourself. It's a paradise; a playground for adults. It's quiet, peaceful and it feels like you're at a cottage somewhere back home except you're in beautiful Negril!

You get to watch some of the most beautiful sunsets and the stars at night are spectacular, relax on your own little private terrace and if you're lucky, you may even see a pack of dolphins swimming by as you're having your morning cup of joe.... but like I said... you won't like it ;)

As you will probably read in other reviews; it is not all inclusive. The staff is extremely nice and friendly but do not expect to have someone bring you breakfast in the morning. It's not that kind of place, (and it was perfectly fine by us). It is a unique experience in many ways. And just as a side note: the food at night is -phenomenal-.

I read a lot of reviews about the noise, bah! It's not that bad....Here's my advice; we asked for a stand alone fan in our room because we like sleeping with a fan back home...... it muffled the sound quite a bit... Besides we found ourselves to be so wiped from snorkeling and staying out in the sun all day that we slept like babies at night!

Anyways.. I could write a novel about that place, it was an amazing experience. We will be back again. A&G

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortyninthparallel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I booked the Tensing Pen blind after reading Tripadvisor and other suggestions. My wife and I were having a small wedding (party of 6 including us). Our family was not staying with us (a blessing!!) and we had spent 4 days in Negril already when we arrived at the Tensing Pen. Our wedding was there and we had a couples massage given to us as a gift. The wedding was on site and the dinner was on site. We stayed in South House 2, the upper air conditioned unit on the very south end of the property. Our building has a metal vaulted roof with a/c and stone walls. Our porch was huge with two chaises and two chairs. Our bed was a 4 poster and the bathroom was neither big nor small. The positives of the room: The porch was huge and the room cooled easily. The negatives of the room: the neighboring property has 3 dogs who can get riled up. They can get the property's dogs riled up then all hell breaks loose for a moment. Also, the south view is of a residential home and casita, so its a little less stunning than some of the huts and not nearly as quiet and private as the sea grape units on the north side of the property. Another negative is that the rooms are shared by a stairwell, which carries sound. As Tensing Pen is mostly couples, and this IS Jamaica, you can pretty much throw discretion out the window. If this is an issue, book a hut. We probably will next time.

The grounds are stunning. Niemy (spelling?) the groundskeeper was a please to chat with and was proud of his work. Jump the bridge, jump the cliff, chill on the couch, chill by the pool, chill chill chill. Several of us had the same feeling that the Tensing Pen is like a quiet oasis; outside the gate is noise and traffic and hustle, but inside the Tensing Pen, that all melts away. Positivies of the resort: Massage was great. We had a pedicure on our deck as well. The massage was in their tent on the water and was a treat. The pool is nice, though rarely used and there are all sorts of places to lie in a hammock or jump in the water. Negatives are a less than stellar view on the south end of the property and it can be a noisier on the south end because your close to Ivans and Ricks and the lighthouse, all of which you can see from the balcony.

The restaraunt and bar are homey and nice. The food is reasonably priced and delicious. The drinks are expensive, with a mixed drink costing you $9.60 without a 20% tip. This can be fixed by going across the street and buying a bottle and some mixer, but its such a nice bar, it would be nice if you could drink affordably in it. The food was fantastic and we ate there often. We had continental breakfast included and we looked forward to meeting with our new made friends in the morning over granola and strong coffee. We hope to see them again when we return to celebrate a future aniversary. Overall, the only negative of the restaraunt and bar is the drink prices. We can still smell the chef getting ready for the dinner menu when we think back to our stay.

For those getting married, we had the Tensing Pen basic wedding package, which included 25 photos, set up, flowers, minister, paperwork, coordinator (Shanique) and other things I can't remember. You will have to fed ex your paperwork to Jamaica, ($87 from Ohio). Chair rental was $7 per person (we only had 4 people and got off cheap) and our party was small, so we had a private table at the cost of $60 to set up and tear down. I paid for my wife's hair to be done ($96). The girl that did her hair said she was doing her make-up as well. My fiance didn't know it wasn't included and we were charged an extra $120 for the make-up, which turned out to be a seperate charge. My wife did not know this, so the charge was a bit of a shock. Also a shock was a $140 charge to steam press a dress, a pair of pants and a shirt. A bit excessive. You will get your pictures quickly. I would attempt to work with the photographer and buy all your pictures. 25 pictures will get used up quickly and $5 a picture will add up. Why am I telling you this? Prepare for unexpected expenses, always ask questions and establish a price before you do anything or you can't complain. We didn't complain about the charges; it was our wedding and we want to return to the Tensing Pen again and again. I should have known the make-up wasn't included with the styling and I should have asked how much the pressing would be (we brought a steamer but figured it would be one less thing to worry about) Overall, our needs were met, the grounds were lovely, the food was great and the experience is something my wife will never forget. The negatives were not enough to keep us from going back to the Tensing Pen. We can't wait to celebrate a future aniversary there and hope to reconnect with old friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rswartz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
224 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 81 in Negril
692 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,586 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tensing Pen Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing