We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tensing Pen Resort
Nearby Hotels
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$131
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$168
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$109
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$130
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$484
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
$63
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
$639
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveler rating
776
126
28
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
126
28
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock cottagesouth houselong housepine pillarrhodesian ridgebacksgarden studiorazor bladeras rodymassage hutthe cliffcontinental breakfast issea grapejump offyogurtwaves crashingfront officefamous vincent
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 954 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I spent one week at Tensing Pen as part of our visit to Negril. Tensing Pen was a wonderful place to stay on the cliffs. The property is unlike anything we had ever seen before with amazing natural beauty. The property is quite large with many paths carved into the rock cliffs to walk around and explore. The property also features beautiful and lush gardens that are carefully maintained by Niney and the other staff. You feel a part of nature here. During our stay we saw many Jamaican hummingbirds off our veranda, parrots, bats, finches, crabs, lizards, dolphins, flying fish, schools of gar fish and other colorful fish swimming close to the rock cliffs. The palm thatched huts blend seamlessly into the natural surroundings. We had a few creatures visit us in our room, mostly lizards and one bat. This was not due in any way to a lack of cleanliness and only added to the charm of the room for us. The property is very peaceful by day. We loved relaxing in the hammocks, jumping from the bridge, and swimming in the clear water. The hotel also has spa services....Georgia gives a wonderful massage! We stay in the garden studio which had a nice view of the water and the gardens. At night, the hotel can be very loud due to traffic and music on the road and because many people in the neighborhood across the street keep large numbers of dogs to protect their properties. There were a few nights that we had difficulty sleeping due to the noise and the barking dogs. There was also a large wedding party at the hotel for part of our stay which created its own noise. I would recommend checking with the hotel to see if there will be any weddings on the property before booking your stay.

The staff of the hotel are all friendly and professional. Razor, the bartender, makes a great drink and is always good for a laugh. The hotel provides a free breakfast of coffee, tea, fruit, cereal, yogurt, and bread. We often paid more for salt fish and ackee, porridge, or pancakes. We ate out at many local eateries while staying here... two great ones are right across the street: Ros Rodi that features vegetarian Rasta food at very cheap prices and Sharks that is Jamaican home cooking at its finest.... Juliet makes incredible jerked chicken, curried goat, and fish..... don't miss it! We also loved Sips and Bites (about a 20 min. walk) and Three Dives (a short taxi ride). We ate at Ivan's next door, and the Rock House, but enjoyed the food at Tensing Pen more and found it more authentic. The fish escoviche is delicious!

The hotel is a great get away for couples (they do not allow young children) and would make a wonderful honeymoon destination. We loved our stay but sometimes felt a bit claustrophobic, especially at night when you need to take a taxi to travel anywhere. We would likely stay for 3 nights next time and spend our remaining time on the beach, but that is strictly due to our own personal preferences.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yfiscarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

So, for our honeymoon my husband & I couldn't decide between an all-inclusive resort or a resort that was smaller and less known.. so we decided to do both! We were enjoying our time at the all-inclusive. We felt the food was a little less than hoped for, and didn't care for how many people there always was around, but we loved the all-inclusive's beach and watersport actitives.
When we got Tensing Pen, we were so excited. We were so happy with how beautiful the grounds were. We couldn't believe our room was right on the cliffs of this breath-taking ocean. We were finally relaxing. We didn't want to leave Tensing Pen ever! We jumped in the water and relaxed in the hammocks as the ocean just sprayed water on us. We would fall asleep to the ocean breaking against the rocks. It really was heaven.

We stayed in the Pine Pillar as an upgrade. It was a beautiful hut with all wood floor/siding/bed/ and porch. It was the greatest room I have ever stayed in. There was celing fans and a bedside fan. There was no A/C, but that would have drown out the wonderful ocean noise, so we just showered or went swimming to cool off and then had the fans, and we slept the best we ever slept. The fresh air and ocean tides were so relaxing. Oh and our shower was below the hut (outside) so we got to shower while looking out at the ocean. The rocks covered our bodies, but it was still kinda exciting to shower outside!
We then had to move to our original room, The South Pillar. It was just as pretty, but just smaller than the Pine Pillar. The Pine Pillar had to be the best room in the place, but we still enjoyed the South Pillar. The waves crashing you could hear even more from the South Pillar.
So, we loved the Tensing Pen Resort, and will reccommend to everyone. I wouldn't want to stay in any of the rooms that have their backs to the street, because across the street is kinda noisy, but I would have been happy to stay there regardless.
The free breakfast was just toast, cereal, and bread, but it was still yummy. We did order some bacon & eggs one day and it was only two dollars to have some extra bacon and eggs. Not bad! You can eat across the street at some of the smaller local joints for pretty cheap, but ask up front how much the cost of the lunch/dinner will be, since there are no menus to look at.. but it was a fun experience.
We ate lunch at Tensing Pen it is was okay.
We ate next door at the Catcha Fallin' Star twice, because their food was really great. I wouldn't have wanted to stay at Catcha, just because the rooms were not on the ocean like at Tensing Pen.

Overall, I give it the best rating possible. Nice people, clean huts, and wonderful views and very close to visit the local area.

Room Tip: The Pillar rooms were best. We liked having no A/C so you could hear the ocean waves crash whiles sleeping. Pine Pillar was exceptional!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was a first time trip to Jamaica for me & my husband and we loved staying at Tensing Pen, the staff of people there is great!....We had a great time with Owen & Razor at the restaurant & bar....they are so entertaining!....Mikkie was always helpful & kind to us, he helped us many times during our stay. Our housekeepers were great, they were flexible with our schedule & our room was very clean. Everyone in the office at Tensing Pen were always very helpful & friendly. We highly recommend Tensing Pen Resort for a wonderful vacation in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canddduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here and at Catch a Falling Star. Both are great. I love Tensing Pen, had a great time with the staff. The setting is amazing. I have been to JA alot and wanted to bring my wife to Negril. This is way away from the hustle and madness of 7 mile beach. Really loved it. Love that jumping bridge!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnateChiroWellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I loved every minute of my stay at Tensing Pen. Great place. No frills rooms - basic comfort that anyone needs. The best thing about Tensing Pen in my opinion was the staff...every single person here is as friendly as can be - and they are genuinely great people. Never a dull moment with Owen. Remember to ask Razor (the bar tender) for a "rock steady". The staff will gladly arrange a tour of the country side for you. Gp to Tensing Pen talk to other guests at the restaurants and you will thoroughly enjoy a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abimbola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews