We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco La Palm, ticks all the boxes for a quality beach resort”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Coco La Palm, and was not dissapointed. The room was perfect. The resort is very well kept, the staff are extremely professional and polite, and have to say that Coco La Palm is situated on the best part of the 7 mile beach of negril. Looking forward to our next stay there in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

We have been coming to Negril for several years and this was our first stay at Coco La Palm. Every aspect of it was terrific. The staff treated us as valued guests. There was an atmosphere of the staff enjoying and appreciating their opportunity to be part of the Coco team. We walked the 7 mile beach for over 50 miles total over the week, really a special place. We plan to return and would not stay anywhere else!! We did a fishing charter on the Mocking Bird boat. Ricky and Marvin (8907542 or 4358760) put us on Bonitas, Kingfish, and Tuna over the past years, and Mike the cook at Coco prepared our filets when we came in. For a super experience, have them pick you up from the beach at Coco. You'll love the four hour trip ($200.00 total US$)! We used Shorty's Tour for transport from and to Montego Airport, safe and on-time...the best. Try Sweet & Spice Restaurant for one of your meals.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackLMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was our first time in Jamaica and at CocoLaPalm...we will definitely return here again. We stayed here for 1 week in early January and stayed in a deluxe room. The room is a bit older, but decent, spacious and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We received free continental breakfasts (coffee, fruit, pastries), which were very good. If we didn't want the free continental breakfast, we got a $6.50 voucher to apply to a hot breakfast. We ate lunch at the beach bar and dinner at the restaurant, but the food was not very good. We ate all our lunches and dinners at other restaurants along 7-mile beach. We walked the entire length of 7-mile beach and felt that Coco had the best beach and water. Coco's beach is long and wide, with plenty of lounge beds and shade if you need it; and the water was very clear and clean (no sea weed or debris). We also loved the laid-back atmosphere of this hotel and met many repeat visitors to this hotel. The beach vendors were friendly and never a problem for us....everyday, we bought pineapples and papayas from an older Jamaican woman...she was wonderful. Coco does have a security guard on the beach -- he was wonderful but the security wasn't necessary during the day because the beach vendors aren't aggressive. We were so sad to leave Coco and Negril...and have decided to come back every year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZebraStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The resort is in a great location. We weren't expecting the free continental breakfast so that was a pleasant surprise. Best part of the resort is the beach, lots of shade, lots of lounge chairs, free use of floating air mattresses. Security was ample and kept good tabs on the goings on. Great mix of travellers, grandparents and grandkids, young families, young adults... suitable for anyone except those looking for wild nightlife! Used the taxi service available through the resort - no complaints. Hi-Lo for groceries seemed overpriced, ask first about extra fees if using your credit card. Not a problem using USD at most places.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtlhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I loved this resort. The rooms were simple, but great. The food was really good at the restaurant at the resort. The location was excellent. If you didn't want to eat at the resort, you could walk down to a lot of different restaurants. It was the off season, so food was a little slow, but once we realized that it was fine. Don't go to a restaurant when you're starving; the wait could be over an hour at some places. The staff was super friendly and helpful. This is a great resort if you want to sit on the beach all day and relax. I would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doughty0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was my first time at CCLP and it probably won't be my last. Everything was wonderful from the staff to the location on the beach. We used our breakfast vouchers every morning. Breakfast was delicious. We ate dinner at CCLP a few times. I thoroughly enjoyed the seafood in coconut milk. All of the staff was so friendly and I felt like I had been coming there for years. The nightly entertainment was so much fun. I laughed quite a lot. I would have to say my favorite part of CCLP was the beach. It was relaxing and spacious. I really took advantage of the floats they offered. Security was very good about keeping the hagglers away. Due to a snow storm in the northeast we decided to stay an extra night in Negril and the staff was very helpful in helping us to arrange another night there. I was sad to leave Coco. They did make my vacation a great one.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaqueeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was our second stay at Coco la Palm. Our first stay at “Coco” was in April 2010 after a stay at Beaches in January 2010. Mom, Dad and seven year old daughter arrived October 27 to take advantage of the special “Halloween Rates” that where in effect until November 1 as well as some very favorable airfares on Westjet.

Once again Coco La Palm more than exceeded our expectations. Situated in the middle of Seven Mile beach, you have the freedom for long beach walks towards the town of Negril or towards the big resorts and the deserted public beach area.

Our Junior Suite provided more than enough space, with a huge walk-in shower, plenty of clothes storage space, comfortable king bed, in room safe, free wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fan, wet bar with mini fridge and a large outdoor balcony.

Both the Seaside Restaurant and the Beach Bar and Grill served great food. We ate breakfast every day at the Seaside Restaurant and lunched mostly at the Beach Bar and Grill. The Chef’s Salad is delicious. We would wander out for dinner to many of the local eateries on the beach.

We hired a cab on our second day to purchase provisions at the Hi-Lo Grocery Store in Negril. Transportation $10; Red Stripe Beer, local papayas, bananas, mangos, avocados, Appleton Rum and Ting; priceless.

The resort was holding its annual Halloween Party and it was a blast. For three days, we started with the morning Trivia contest. Each day we competed in either, ocean volleyball, beer chugging, ( Red Stripe of course ) patty eating, tug of war, Jamaican dance off, sand castle building, Bocce Nut tournament ( Coconut throwing at a target in the sand ), Water Balloon toss, scavenger hunt and of course the daily Happy Hour.

The Competition culminated in the awards ceremony, points for participation and points for winning an event, and a dinner and show put on by the staff. The show was great and it was put on exclusively by the staff. There were no hired outside contractors, only employees who truly cared about our Jamaican Experience at this resort. This caring was consistent with our first experience back in April.

Thanks to everyone; Carlene, Sheri Anne, Opal, Richard, Chester, Michelle, Steve, Barb (Sand Castle Queen) and of course “Cave Man” John as well as all the others who made our stay so unforgettable.

If you want to take a little Jamaica home, visit Donovan. He carves exceptional pieces of wood art just out side the Beach Bar Grill at Coco La Palm. Watching him turn a piece of wood into beautiful objects is an experience not to be missed. If you have something in mind he will custom carve it for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
2.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $103 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing