We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CocoLaPalm Was Great!”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Fox Point WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CocoLaPalm Was Great!”
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We absolutely loved CLP and are frankly a little surprised we hadn't found or heard about CLP sooner, especially since we've been going home to Jamaica for the last 20 years! What a little gem CLP is! Located on Negril's awesome 7 mile beach, nice accommodations & ambiance, pretty landscaping w/lush folliage, friendly staff who'll go out of their way to make you feel @ home, good food (both the beach grill and their restaurant), and did we mention the beach (smile)! Everything was just great and exactly what we were looking for. 'Relaxation to the inth degree!' You may do as much or as little as you wish. CLP represents Negril @ it's finest... If you only book all inclusives do not hesitate to step out of your comfort zone and try CLP. You may partake of their signing priviledges and simply square away your bill @ the end of your vacation. CLP is now on our list of preferred Jamaica resorts! We will be returning guests.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank razzldazzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    430
    89
    29
    16
See reviews for
184
549
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

My girlfriend and I spent countless of hours on tripadvisor and finally booked a weeks stay at the Cocolapalm. At first glance, CLP looked cozy and well secured. The front desk staff was friendly as well as accomadating unlike many reviews by others. Their garden is well kept and rooms are very clean.
Positives: Breakfast is cheap and delicious... Beach is wide and beautiful... Trees on beach offer perfect shade...Pools are clean and well maintained... The adult pool has a great view of the beach... Staff is extremely friendly... Safe box in room... Fridge in room...Satellite TV... Taxi stand right across the street... 4 minute walk to the most happening night spot on the beach (Margaritaville)
Negatives: King size bed was sinking along the middle... Jacuzzi was at times extremely hot.

Overall, we highly recommend this resort at the reasonable price they offer... but make sure to stock up on food in the towns Hi-Lo supermarket. Cocolapalm is definitely a cozy, relaxing environment.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank StarvinaMarven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Just returned.

First, we have travelled a fair bit but never to Jamaica. Had always read a lot about being hastled on streets & beaches. I want to first dispell that concerned...at least around CLP. Yes, you will get asked (alot) about buying something, even pot, but a No thanks will end the conversation. Lots of tourists always walking the beach, even in the evening. (We were never on the beach past 9:00 though....just use common sense.)

Second, Jamaica isn't the lowest cost island, but not much different than other Carribean islands. More than Mexico on average....But expect to spend $12 - $30 pp an evening dinner....without drinks. Expect to tip about everyone that breathes.

Third, the CLP is a nice resort....but don't expect perfection. Staff is friendly...even groundkeepers. Entertainment is entertaining. Grounds are groomed (sand & landscaping). Pools are fine. Beach is very nice. Security on site at all times. Always beach chairs. Restaurants ok.

Fourth, the rooms - tough for us to call. The first day we were given #824. I would not have been pleased with it...even though why go on vacation and stay in the room?? (We only paid for a Standard Room.) But I would not pay over $60/night Maximum for a room like this in USA. Really needed updating. YET...at check-in they kept saying that 824 was only for One night & the 2nd day we would get an upgrade!!! Hmmmm....we thought. The 2nd day we were given an excellent room (532)...used to be the Manager's suite. Perfect location (2 bedroom suite, ground level, largest walk-out patio to beach, 10 steps from sand, 20 steps to restuarant, 30 steps to bar, 40 steps to pools). Two of the staff told us that it was their favorite room. Sometimes luck can be the best surprise. (Other standard rooms looked nicer than 824, from what we could tell.)

Last, there were times that you needed ample time for a meal. Service was great sometimes, othetimes not so but staff always was hustling!! Not sure why the inconsistency of food delivery. Food was fine...I would have a hard time describing it as great. We found other restaurants within short walking distance to be better for the same cost. Don't be afraid to try others.....the beach is like a buffet of restuarants. (We rarely eat lunch. Ate food from CPL grille once and it was good.)

So, overall we found the relaxation we definitely needed. Never in an elevator or much walk from the beach or any part of resort.

Only suggestions: 1) Probably would have eaten off-site more for evening. 2) AND....the continental breakfast has a value of $6.50 pp for which you can order anything on the menu and get the $6.50 pp credit. So you don't have to stick to the CB. 3) Jamaicans respect your being there....enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Getoutahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

My recent visit to Jamaica has brought me to the COCO LA PALM RESORT .

Coco La Palm is hidden away on the 7 mile beach in Negril. This resort is small and offers a more personal experience to your stay. The staff is very friendly and makes the effort to remember your name the next time they see you. The rates were very reasonable compared to the monstrosity of the all inclusive resorts.

The beach at the COCO was cleaned on a daily basis and the security was top notch.


If you are looking for a family owned resort that is very well maintained with gorgeous gardens, and that offers a very low key environment, then come to the Coco La Palm.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank brooklynexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

We booked at Coco La Palm after being away from Negril for 2 years....we return every 3rd year.

We decided on Coco La Palm based on one meal we had the day we left while on our last visit. They serve warm banana bread at breakfast daily. Just a really nice touch I guess is how we saw it. So we booked our Negril vacation based on this impression and they've won our hearts.

Of the 19 people we traveled with 10 of us stayed at Coco La Palm. ALL 10 thoroughly enjoyed our stays. Clean rooms, pleasant staff, beach bar was fun, a bit pricey compared to the beach hut bar right next store 100 j red stripes - but the food they serve is terrific.

We had prearranged transporation with Dudley Warren of Big Ship Tours http://www.bigshiptours.com/. Besides courteous, friendly and helpful, he has to be the safest driver in all of Jamaica. We HIGHLY recommend Dudley for tours and transporation while in Jamaica.

We feel it has the best location on the 7-mile stretch of beach - in between everything. It also has shade, sun and service. The property is beautiful. The beach as well as the grounds. There are two pools and a hot tub, which we didn't use any of - but there were folks using both.

Breakfast is probably the best meal - have Rising Sun (french toast) or an omlet with calaloo. While lunch at the beach bar is next. Dinners come and go just depends on what you're looking for - but their hospitality is fantastic at this hotel.

There were experienced and inexperienced travelers alike in our group and all felt safe, as well as content at this property.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank nattyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broolyn NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Coco was great. We just returned from our Negril getaway and the hotel was fab! I went with no expectations. When we entered our room (313), I was not blown away by fabulous accommodations like I might get at the Ritz, but again I was not expecting that. All I wanted was clean sheets, clean shower and clean location. My room was all of that and more. Very roomy for 2 people; Nice amount of storage space, large shower, even a dispenser for soap and shampoo (I did not take advantage of that amenity.) The staff was friendly enough, I am not one for sappy hospitality, and I was not there to make friends, the staff was efficient… they took care of what need to be taken care of, and answered numerous questions about what to do, where to go, and how to get there. I dropped a bottle of Appleton’s and a red stripe, and the house keeping staff took care of everything straight away!

I stayed at beaches in Ochie in 2004, I felt the room was comparable to that!

I loved the beach. But you got to get there early if you want a towel, every time we went to the beach after 2pm… no more towels! On the public beach we were not hustled, only asked if we wanted to buy ganja once, we felt safe on the beach at night!


TIP: looking for red stripe for a $100 JA? There is a little bar on the beach RIGHT next to coco. The best way to describe the location, walk out to the beach, as you are looking at the water make a right, it is on the beach property of the purple and pink hotel next door. BUT DON’T GET A PINA COLADA FROM THAT BAR… nasty! Coco’s beach bar has the best colada’s and dirty banana in the area!
Good jerk chicken… right across the highway!
And a pretty good breakfast up the road, I can’t remember the name of the place, but it is owned by a Canadian women. I am sure the driver or the front desk staff can help.

Last but not least… Joseph, he took us to the black river, to YS falls and to bamboo road all for a reasonable price! I highly recommend him, he is nice, and ON TIME! We met him when we were walking on the beach looking for a horseback riding adventure.
e-mail me and I will hook you up with his number!

Peace, blessings, one love…JAH Rastafari

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Lyricalpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

Just returned on February 8th after a five night stay in the Junior Suite (#336) at Coco La Palm. The room was really roomy and comfortable. There was a large balcony with two lounge chairs and a small round table with chairs. The management and staff were helpful and friendly. The maid always left lovely floral art and created lovely swans with the towels. It was really cute. (Thanks Erica!) I loved the amenities in the Junior Suite which included a large bathroom with a two-person shower with a dispenser with body wash and shampoo, double sinks and a hair dryer. They provided plenty of soap as well as body lotion and aloe gel. There was a frig in the room as well as an air conditioner and ceiling fan. The air conditioner wasn't needed most of the time since there was great cross ventilation with the windows open. The breakfasts were great. The beach bar for lunch in your bathing suit was a really nice feature. Happy hour at the main bar from 5-7 is nice at sunset.Overall the place was well run and well maintained. Respect is the key to enjoying the place and the people.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank LSCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 81 in Negril
948 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 81 in Negril
5,530 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing