We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTICO / GOOD PLACE !”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I stayed at the CCLP from the 15th thru the 22nd. What a wonderful place. All staff was exceedingly helpful and polite. Must speak of Sheldon the taxi cab driver. I left my purse in his cab with lots of cash and documents. He returned it to me when found 100%. I don't think that would have happened in America. Thanks again my friend! This location is wonderful, and has a beautiful good size beach front. Not much hawking by day. All breakfast items are good,. .would like to have had fresh Mango on the menu though!
Dinner there one night, I thought it was good too. The Rockhouse everyone raved about I found to be not that great. Best of the West jerk chicken across the street is very good, and SPICY. . and a bit expensive $11 for a half. Try the Hummingbird drink at the CCLP bar .. happy hour 2 for 1. VERY GOOD, Rondel and JJ have a great snorkel trip very affordable. $30 pp. Good reef to see lots. Can't say enough for this place. Not fancy but
very comforable and accomodating. Would go back in a heart beat. Plan to next year. Oh and do splurge by letting Joan give you a massage. She is GOOD. If you encounter Mr. Slinky on the beach, hawking for The Palms he is a nice guy. Food there was good.
They also have a live band on Sunday nights. Flavour was really a good trio.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorganME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed at Coco from may 9-16 2009, and our stay was absolutely wonderfull. Our room numbere was 323, and it was toward the front of the resort, and was a deluxe room. The A/C worked excellent, as we only had to have it turned up half way, and the room stayed very cold. The rooms are a little old, but very clean. We did not have any mosquitoes or ants in our room. The cleaning lady was very nice, and did an excellent job everyday. The entire hotel staff were very friendly, and more than willing to help you out with whatever you needed. Upon first arriving here, were were kind of worried with the appearance of the hotel, but you have absolutely nothing to worry about. Not that we needed it, but the security gaurds on the beach and in the complex gave you a very comforting feeling, but like I said, we never felt like we needed them at all. The pool is very nice, and the hot tub is WONDERFULL!!!! The thing we liked best was the beach and the ocean. The beach is beautifull and the water is CRYSTAL clear. e were clear out to where the water was up to our neck and you could see the Ocean floor and your toes as if you were not even in water. I have only seen water this clear in one other place and that was Maui in Hawaii. The french toast and bannana pancakes are wonderfull at breakfast, the the bartender makes a drink called Dirty Bannana, and this is a must try. By far the best mixed drink I have ever tasted. The dinner at the hotel is O.K. The food was good, but tasted a little bland. We ventured out every night to eat at different restaurants, and you should do this as well. Most will pick you up, and take you back when finished. Cosmos has really good seafood. We had the fried fish, and it was a huge Red Snapper, no batter, and it was the best piece of fish I have ever eaten. It cost 10.00 US, and is very good. The Palms has very good Lobster, 2 for 1 and cost 38.00 US for both meals combined. Well worth the money and very tasty. Also if you like fresh fruit, every day except for Sunday, there are two lady's that walk the beach selling fresh fruit. They will cut up and slice it for you as well, and it tastes great!!!! Best in the West Jerk Chicken across the street from the hotel, is fabulous. The shack looks a litttle scary, but the food is wonderfull, and right next to the Jerk Chicken stand is a little convienent shack called Mikey's, and they have pop, beer, chips etc. The bar next to Coco is called For Real Bar, and the beer is cheaper there. Chances is another place to eat within 100 yards of the hotel, and the pizza is incredible. There is a guy there named Ryan that will also rent you a jet ski if you want one, and is very helpfull on local information, and places to go. He is a local, and can be trusted. Please E-mail us if you have any questions, and we will be glad to help. The biggest things we liked about the hotel is that if you want some shade, they have huge shade trees just back from the beach where you can cool off, and the resort being smaller, you see the same people every day, and really get to know them. Feels like family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at CoCoLaPalm. It fit our needs well. It was a good value as we wanted a suite and their suites were reasonable. It was good for our family and the staff was very accommodating. Our only complaint was that the restaurant food prices seemed high, but the food was good. Obviously, no hotel looks as wonderful as it does on the website, but we were not disappointed. We would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YardieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at CLP in October 2008 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Jnr. Suite that was recommeded by Karlene when we made our reservation. This was awesome. The room was a wonderful surprise for us, we never expected such love and attention and care that we received from everyone. Everyone on staff made us feel comfortable and at home which made us relax with ease. Special thanks to Kedora and Donna from the Restaurant, who made sure our breakfast was perfect. Juicey made me some strong home-made soursop juice....great. Carol made sure our room was clean at all times...big up! Special thanks to Karlene and Jackson from the front desk. Thanks a million for the Sweetsop Karlene...kiss the baby for us.
Our entire trip was great...the grounds nice and clean....the beach was awesome....jaccuzi and pools...no complain. The only sad thing is leaving. Coco La Palm delivers...the best in negril. See you soon guys.

Hugh & Debra Daley
Brooklyn New York,
October 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wauchoped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Just returned from another great stay at Coco.

Location- One of the best parts of Seven Mile Beach. Clean ( Thanks to Steve who takes care of the beach and sets up your lounge chairs for you ) Night time swimming is a must! Certain parts of Seven Mile Beach have lost quite a bit of beach front due to erosion.
Staff- Friendly, always smiling and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Conroy, Clive and O'Neill to name a few.
Rooms- We had a beach front room. Great view of the beach and Negril's amazing sunsets. Rooms are a little stale, but with a beach like Coco's we didn't spend much time in the room.
Food- Great breakfast ( highly recommend Marley's Rising Sun ) Go across the road to "Best in the West" for their Jerk Chicken. Go to "For Real" beach bar for drinks. ( right next to Coco, better prices )
Security- Felt safe no matter what time of the day or night. Lots of people selling any and everything but never felt uncomfortable as security was there to make sure they weren't harassing you.

Tips: Know your conversion rate from American to Jamaican dollars. Depending on the place, it's better to pay in $US based on the conversion rate that they use. Head into town and stock up. Six pack of RedStripe for $600 Jamaican ( $7 US ) at the HiLo Store. Buy Blue Mountain Coffee at the grocery store, cheaper than the airport.
Don't be afraid to haggle with the vendors.
Explore the beach and town for different events and food. This is the best way to experience Negril.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dexterdogcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I stayed at the Coco La Palms in June of 2008 for 3 nights. I found the food to be excellent at the restaurant on the property, as well as the jerk chicken and pork at the little bar/grill near the beach. The room was quite satisfactory. The pool was not. It seemed to have some algae growing in it. I went once, but that was enough.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at CocoLaPalm in March. We had a junior suite room with a balcony and view of the beach. The room was spacious and had a charming rounded, wooden ceiling. The room also included a refrigerator, flat screen TV, and a safe.

The CocoLaPalm has a wide section of beachfront. They also have several trees on the beach, good for anyone who likes some shade. Across the street from the hotel is Best in the West jerk chicken stand which had great food. There is also a small store (more like a hut) across the street where we bought water, beer, and rum to keep in our room.

CocoLaPalm has a great location on the beach. Lots of restaurants and entertainment in walking distance. The hotel resturant was pretty good, especially the breakfast, but I would highly recommend venturing out to other places on the beach as well. You will definitely get approached by vendors while walking on the beach. We found the vendors to be nice and respectful and not too persistant if you are friendly and firm in turning down their offerings.

CocoLaPalm is a good value for someone looking for a nice (but not fancy) hotel. We considered staying at an all inclusive, but we found this place to be a better value, and it gave us more of a Jamaican experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachcomer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
676 reviews
2.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#8 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $103 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing