We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a great vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location for a great vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

CocoLaPalm is a beautiful small hotel right in the middle of everything. To experience the 7 mile beach at its best location please stay here. Hotel is comfortable, modest, clean, and has everything you need. WiFi worked every day. Food at the restaurants is good. Because of the location you can walk the beach to anywhere, finding new bars, restaurants, and fun times.
The security at Coco was fantastic, keeping the peddlers at a safe distance as they walked the beach. While I never got in the pool, it was clean. I did enjoy the hot tub after a hard day of walking and exploring. Got a taxi to go have dinner on the cliffs of negril, and it was 20 bucks round trip. There is a convenience store directly across the street for ease of buying supplies. I recommend for the modest cost for travelling, and still being able to enjoy everything about the 7 mile beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is a perfect medium from the busy noisy road and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    406
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
169
514
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inglewood, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I compared amenities, I read reviews, I had tab after tab open, and THANKFULLY I picked CocoLaPalm. There is a character limit on TripAdvisor, otherwise, I would have just gone with my subject line...

The staff is amazing - friendly, courteous. When they found out it was my first time and I was traveling solo, they made it their business to make me feel comfortable and safe. My room was awesome (upgraded to the junior suite because I am GROWN), and I barely even needed the air conditioning. For the folks that said the water in the shower was lukewarm, uh, it's called letting in run for a few minutes to heat up. Big points for the aloe vera gel in the room!

What struck me the most was that there were SO many people who were repeat visitors - that says a lot in an area that has many options. We formed a great community at happy hour (two for one), breakfast, under the shady trees, just everywhere on the property. Go see Vernon and "Smilin'" O'Neill, Michelle, Freddie, Patrice, Ericka, on and on and on, and you will have a stay that you won't forget.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the Sandy Haven side so you can use their wi-fi. Stay upstairs if you can/are able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzykins_1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have stayed here several times now and this place remains on the top of the list. Everything is good here from the exceptional service that starts with the reservation to the friendly desk staff upon arrival. Every employee here smiles and makes it their mission to provide a great vacation for its guests. I was lucky enough to get an upgrade this trip and it did not disappoint. There's not a better place on the beach in Negril, stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe7954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is where I stayed when I was in Negril. It is a beautiful hotel and the beachfront is large. There are 2 bars on the beach one that serve great Jamaican Jerk Chicken. My favorite drink in Jamaica was the Hummingbird and I fell in love with Jamaican Rum Cream!!!! I have yet to find anything that is close other than Rumchata but just too cinnamon flavor. There are 2 pools on the property and a very nice secluded hot tub surrounded by lush foliage. I loved floating in the ocean daily with the stingrays. Awesome experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here in the April our room was upgrade as they were doing work on the room that we were to stay in which was great.The rooms were nice could have done with a bit of updateing but the were clean with good AC and that all that we what,
The brekfast was included which was great or you could order off the menu which was great we normally had the eggs with bacon and juice and for the two of us it was about €12 which was great.

The beach was great with loads of shade and loads of chairs in the morning the one thing that i found was that the work that they were doing was quite loud and i would have liked if we had been informed of it before we came to stay or at least the travel agent.

they had a great happy hour for 5-7 every day expect monday i think 2 red strip for 3JD which was great.

We never had any problem staying there the hagglers that romed the beach were annoying but that is the way the island is i would stay there again no promblem.Loads of bars and restranunts to eat in walking distance.

The one thing that i did find that is got very quite afer 10.30 in any of the bars i know we when in low season but it was a lot quiter than any of the other island that we have been on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irelandladyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I'm usually swayed by rankings, but so glad my gf picked Coco La Palm, even after walking through Charela, Country Country and Negril Tree House! Definitely the best choice for us, a couple that prefers independent beach hotels over All-Inclusives.

We upgraded to a Jr Suite, 436, closest to the beach. Great central location on beautiful, calm 7 Mile Beach between Cosmo's to the north and Bourbon Beach towards town, with Best of the West jerk chicken and Mike's just across the road. Giant room with lots of light, large balcony and great views of the sea and pool; really liked the spacious double showers. Vernon and O'Neill served up 2 for 1 drinks from 5-7 nightly; manager's reception every Monday and rate included continental breakfast or $5 credit towards full breakfast menu; solid food at the restaurant and great jerk chicken at the beach bar. Well cared-for grounds, wide beach and great pools/jacuzzi. Many staff have been here for years. Construction's going on (beach pool is closed), showing the owners are continuing to invest in what's probably a 15-20 year old property.

Overall, a great value for those who want to stay on 7 Mile Beach; we're splitting our stay with 4 nights on the West End cliffs...

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I really had a wonderful stay at this hotel the room was very spacious and tidy and the hotel is steps away from the ocean, The staff was very prompt with the service and the hotel is very secure. It is a very nice place to relax, unwind and watch the world passing by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandqueen4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing