We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean hotel in a great location”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in September 2012 after booking a deal through CheapCaribbean. It was the best reviewed hotel we could find a deal for on the seven-mile beach, and we were not disappointed. The rooms are clean and well kept. The staff are all quite friendly. There is free drinking water (a major plus), and wi-fi. The continental breakfast was not great, but it was not bad either. We met a lot of guests -- some couples, some families, some singles -- who told us that they had been to Coco LaPalm many times before, so that should serve as a pretty good endorsement. I'd stay here again if I went back to Negril.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikehotelkilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed in a deluxe room at Coco in April 2013. Got a great rate through Negrilonestop. Really loved my room, had everything I needed, bed was comfy and large and the shower was great, good water pressure. The hotel was pretty well full and I ended up located right at the front (road) right beside the parking lot....not the best location, but at least the patio area had nice foilage around. Office staff were well trained and helpful, courteous.

The biggest downside/disappointment was the wifi. Tried going to the pool area where it's supposed to have the strongest signal....got the option for cocolapalm but didn't get the option to enter my password. Asked around and was told that a lot of people use the wifi from Sandy Haven next door as the signal is much stronger and there is no password. After that, that is all I used. Finally, on my last day while I was trying to check in for my flight, I got the option to enter a password for Coco, but didn't have my password with me. That's about the only improvement needed at Coco, amp up your wifi signal and ensure that it can be accessed somewhere out of the hot sun or rain.

I ended up catching a bad cold/flu prior to arrival, unfortunately it really put a damper on fully enjoying my stay there. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Deluxe was very nice, a little small, great for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why spend more when you have an awesome hotel in a top notch section of Negril beach. Seriously, you have fresh fruit, jerk chicken, conch soup (my personal fav) all within walking distance. In some cases, only a few steps away from your beach chair. Really awesome! Will def go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to CocoLaPalm but our third to Jamaica. The staff was friendly and nice to us. The rooms were clean, the beach was awesome! Simply loved to sit underneath the mango trees in the dappled sunlight all day long. You have to go to the bar for happy hour, the pineapple daiquiris are delicious. Oh yea, the orange french toast at the restaurant is a must. The pools are clean and the jacuzzi was hot. Will be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCLisaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Four ladies stayed at Coco LaPalm for 1 week at the end of April. Do not book a superior room as you may be located at the back of the resort facing the road. Best to book a deluxe room. We were upgraded to a much better room on the beach, but only after agreeing to pay $75US extra per night. Our friends were upgraded right away at no charge. The hotel rooms are very clean and the staff is very pleasant. The restaurant serves great breakfasts and the fresh-baked banana bread and coffee was excellent.The beach is great, but we were approached every day by Jamaicans trying to sell us weed! We watched the transactions by a man on the beach who was stationed in front of our resort. He not only sold weed, but arranged for ladies for those who requested such company. However, the beach is public and there appears to be very little the hotel could do. Do try Kuyaba's and Ivan's for sunset and dinner. Ivan's is a better choice than Rick's Cafe--same sunset. Would not return to Jamaica because of the drugs.

Room Tip: Definitely a 3-star hotel with great staff. Book a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My room was booked by the bride included in the wedding package and I was impressed king bed suite by the beach I just wished there's wifi in the room have to go out by the pool or bar to get signal
Great place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Seven Mile Beach in Negril along with Coco Lapalm has become my favorite beach destination...As others have said, this is not a 5 star hotel where you will be pampered all day and night, but it has the best beach in one of the best beach destinations in the world. The rooms are always clean and safe and the staff attentive to your needs. The free Monday night manager's reception is fun and the beach grill has excellent beach food including jerk chicken, Do not miss out on the jerk chicken at the Best of the West across the street. The entire resort is immaculate, the pools very clean and the hot tub awesome; especially at night!

The location without a doubt is the best on Seven Mile Beach with the most waterfront and sand for the size of the hotel. Yes, the beach vendors can be persistent, but Andrew the Security Guard with the stick does a great job moving them along or standing along side guests who wish to purchase to make sure they do not get taken advantage of. The hotel is smack in the middle of Seven Mile Beach and one can walk either way for food, entertainment, a drink or to just walk and enjoy the day and amazing surroundings!

The breakfast voucher is outstanding with a booking through Negril One Stop for the best prices. You get a continental breakfast, but can upgrade to a full breakfast for 2 for $10-12 including tip. Please book with One Stop for thre best prices and service and book transportation with them from and back to the airport with the Malcom brothers. Always a good and safe ride and they gladly stop so you can pick up groceries along the way.

As far as the 75-80 degree crystal clear turqouis water that gently laps the white sand, what more do I need to say?

Room Tip: You get value for whatever style room you pay for but do ask to be away from the road which can be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevenEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
960 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,580 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $97 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing