We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2008

First trip to Jamaica and it couldn't have better. Everything from the location to the cleanliness was absolutely perfect. All but just a few rooms(the 800 #'s) are very nice. The people who work there are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are really good and only cost $5.00 for 2 after applying the complimentary breakfast coupon. There are many other places to try within walking distace along the beach. Chances 2 for1 lobster, Kuyubas and Margaritaville were great. Be sure to book a sunset cruise with Myrna, who walks the beach, on The Red Stripe . We had a blast. The sunsets were gorgious and when looking at our pictures we saw the famous green flash! The pools and hot tub were always clean and refreshing.The gardens beautiful and well kept. The Monday night welcome party and Sat. night beach party were so much fun and the Reggae band was really good. I would definatey go there again and highly recommend CocoLapalm to others.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank memoribletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2008

To reiterate many previous postings, the beach at Cocolapalm is outstanding! The water is perfectly clear (no rocks or seaweed at all) and calm; the sand is so soft it's like walking on velvet; the beach is never too crowded (and there were always plenty of lounge chairs); and because the location is so centralized, there's plenty of food, drinks, and activities available. On one hand, it's peaceful enough to just read or nap, on the other hand there's so much going on, you could spend the whole day just people watching (and buying things - fresh fruit, juice, and patties from the beach vendors). We camped out at the "adult" pool most of the time - you get your space and added privacy, but the view is just as beautiful. We did the hotel's glass-bottom boat tour one day ($20 US) and did some snorkeling (very low-key situation). The guys who took us were really great. They offered to take us out again another day early in the morning to see if we could see some dolphins.

As far as rooms go, we had originally booked a "standard room." But when we arrived, the room smelled awful - very musty/moldy and it wasn't very clean. We told the front desk, and they immediately updraded us to a "superior room." This room was a nice size (and we were very grateful for the upgrade), but still had some minor drawbacks. For example, the beds were hard, the television reception wasn't great, the shower had a weak stream, and there were no alarm clocks or hair dryers in the rooms.

Overall, the hotel staff were wonderful. The grounds/security staff as well as housekeeping/restaurant folks were incredibly sincere, helpful and friendly. It was nice getting to know some of them. You immediately feel welcome and safe at Cocolapalm, and it doesn't take much time at all to feel like you belong. I was happy to tip the staff well. The front desk folks, however, weren't as warm, and we were sometimes met with blank stares. One day we decided to do the horseback riding trip at Rhodes Plantation. The front desk people said they would arrange it, but they apparently just forgot or something. It would have been nice to have someone not just check us in, but spend some time to orient us when we got there.

Some other observations: breakfasts at the resort were great and a nice way to meet other vacationers (coffee can be very strong); dinners were just okay; drinks were just okay (drinks were stronger/cheaper next door to the right). The manager's party on Monday night was a lot of fun - music and free strong drinks. Aside from jerk, there's a lot of lobster around at the different restaurants down the beach. The Italian restaurant down the beach to the left was excellent. And the pizza at "Choices" was very good.

Negril is very casual - you can go barefoot most places (and topless on the beach). If you take a taxi (the hotel will arrange taxi's for you - don't pay more than $20 US round-trip ) up to the restaurants at the cliffs, you will want to have something on your feet, however. We liked the "Rockhouse" and the "Hungry Lion" out that way. And there were plenty more we didn't get to (like "Sweet-Spice" and "Chicken Lavish"). Lastly, have a lot of "tip" money on hand.

The final comment I will make is more about Negril as a whole. If you walk down the beach (which you will want to do) you won't be able to go 3 steps without being approached by someone who wants to sell you drugs. The first night we were there, this happened 12 times. The "sellers" tend to be friendly but aggressive and will keep pushing if you try to just ignore them. You must make eye contact and say "no." I never feared for my safety, however. It was more a matter of, as an introvert, I was really tired of having to interact with them all the time. It became impossible to have a nice quiet walk on the beach. For some this might be simply a minor annoyance, for others intolerable.

I definitely plan on returning to Negril and staying at Cocolapalm! Jamaica is cheaper than many of the other caribbean islands, and the beach at Cocolapalm is the best we've been to. If you're looking for a mellow vacation where beach culture is the main activity, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Greta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at Coco from December 19th to the 24th. We spent out first 2 nights in Suite B (2 Bedroom) and the other 3 nights in Suite A (3 Bedroom). Since there were 5 adults, Mom & Dad with son 21, daughter 20 and her boyfriend 20 we needed a place we could stay together. This arrangement worked out fine. Jillian kept our rooms very clean and left us some extra towels when asked. The rooms were large with several small fridges and a large fridge. We had picked up a case of water, cokes and Heinekins for our room, in advance so we had plenty of space to keep them cold.

We arrived very late, approx. 9:30 PM due to major travelling issues and we were hot, tired and very hungry. Since the restaurant closes at 10:00 PM, Coco made efforts to get us to our rooms immediatley and called the restaurant to warn them we were coming and to take care of us, which they did.

It's not hard to make friends at Coco. Big up for Charlton and Stevie who made sure that our chairs were placed and always ready with a warm greeting. Also kudos to security, Andrew and Jason. They always ensured that the beach vendors kept their distance.

We went next door to Charlea Inn for dinner, which has a live show on Thursday nights. Robin Banks played the first set and Otis Ray was on the second set. We had a great time up and dancing with the staff at Charlea.

Coco's atmosphere is relaxed and caring. We hope to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Cobblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We've been visiting Negril for 30 years, the last eight we've always stayed at COCO LA PALM. But we are having second thoughts about going back due to a really obnoxious group of guests and their kids who return every year at the Christmas break. This group seems to think nothing of letting their kids run all over the property mostly unsupervised, despite the presence of several good-intentioned nannies. We saw kids walking on top of the lunch tables, dragging toys into the whirlpool, playing with carved items that had been set up for sale on a table on the beach, and swimming unattended in the pools. They treat the staff like dirt, and seem to not care at all about how their boorish behavior might affect other guests.

I spoke to the management about this issue, and they've promised to address it, but I frankly don't know how they'll do it, since it's tough to have to police so many children. It's also tough to turn away repeat guests, so buyer beware!

Also the owners need to sink some money into the rooms, and whether they will or not, remains to be seen. The beds are very lumpy, the draperies look dirty and dingy, and the bathrooms are overrun with ants.

However, on the plus side, this is one of the most reasonably priced accomodations you'll ever find during Christmas week in the Caribbean. And it is one of the nicest beaches I've ever seen anywhere. So if you're someone who doesn't care too much about noise or room amenties, this is might be a decent choice.

Will we be back? Yes, to Negril. But not so sure about COCO LA PALM.

Stayed: December 2007
9  Thank WWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at coco la palm from3rddec07 to 10th dec 07 rooms where fine and clean staff are realy nice and thefood was great i think anyone would be hard pushed to find better the beach is cleaned every day and the staff all work really hard at keeping it that way, we spent the next week of are hols with family at mountainside but would of loved to stay at the hotel longer we,ll be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gordons_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We stayed at CocoLaPalm from December 9 through December 14, and what a place! Like others have stated it is on the best part of the 7 mile stretch of Negril Beach.

Room:
We stayed in room 812, which is a basic room toward the road, so you can hear the traffic. I brought earplugs, so I had no problem sleeping at night. The room has 2 double beds, which are fine, and we had no issues sleeping at all. The room also has a coffee maker and coffee is provided, air conditioning, cable television and a small refrigerator. It is a basic room, but it is very clean and served it's purpose for a good nights sleep.

The Beach:
The beach is beautiful! There is one security guard on the beach, who takes care to make sure that you don't get hassled by the vendors.

2 Restaraunts:
Of the 2 restaurants, we only tried Marleys, which is a nice sit-down restaurant. We didn't do the breakfast coupon deal, so we paid around $25 for 2 for breakfast. Dinner ran about $30-$40.

Breakfasts were wonderful. My fave was Pancakes Mania, which is banana pancakes with diced pineapples on top. Yummy!

I had heard that Norma's, which is a restaurant down the beach, had cheaper breakfasts, so we tried breakfast there one morning. I would have to note that although the menu prices are lower than Coco's, they tack on a service charge of over %12 as compared to Coco's %10. We found the bill to come out to more at Norma's for comparable menu items.

Dinners were great. I always ordered seafood. One night I ordered pan-fried Snapper, and it was sooo delicious! My mouth is watering now as I write this.

We ventured down to Margaritaville twice so that my hubby could get his burger fix, and the food there was good. There is no service charge, so make sure that you tip your server accordingly.

Staff:
The staff at Coco, overall, were amazing! Yes, I too found one of the ladies at the front desk was not very cordial, but everyone else, from the cleaners, to the waitors, bartenders, beach security, and the kitchen workers will all go out of their way to make your stay wonderful and memorable.

Jamaica:
If you have never been to Jamaica before I would reccomend that you give it a shot. My husband and I spoke the other couples, who were first-timers like ourselves and everyone raved over it.
The people of Jamaica are beautiful. The country with its rugged beauty and the poverty of it's inhabitants will move you.


Tips with booking the trip:
I booked the trip through Cheaptickets, by using the search engine Mobissimo- go to Mobissimo.com and key in your search criteria. Mobissimo searches most of the airlines and other websites like Expedia and Travelocity. Air fare from Detroit to Montego Bay were $305 for each person. Then we found CocoLaPalm on Tripadvisor and booked the standard room directly on their website. We paid $56 per night, which came to around $70 per night after taxes. The trip total room and air tickets for 2 were $962 for 5 nights

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelGiiirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Location: Possibly the best in Negril, if you are a beach-lover
Hotel room: Bed was comfortable though the room was ant-infested. It's tropical, so I guess it is to be expected. Word of advice, don't keep granola bars (even if they are in a sealed box) in your suitcase unless you want to carry the ants home with you.
Breakfast: The best on Negril beach. We tried other restaurants and they didn't even compare to CLP. CLP has more variety (banana pancakes, orange french toast) and better quality. The banana bread is to die for!
Dinner: We felt that CLP was actually at par with some of the highly recommended (by Fodor's) restaurants on Negril beach such as Norma's and Cosmo's. The curry goat was excellent!
Drinks: All of the mixed drinks that we tried were very good. I would highly recommend the Miami Voice.
The one activity we would recommend in a heartbeat: Chukka Cave Horseback Ride & Swim -- highlight of our trip -- very well-trained horses (we are novice riders) -- the ride into the water was exhilarating to say the least. Plus, they took great photos which come at a price but we didn't mind paying it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gsd_newfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
669 reviews
2.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $102 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing