We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Moon”
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CocoLaPalm Resort
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Baby Moon”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We just got back from a 4 night stay at CocoLaPalm, Negril. Let me preface by saying I am 7 months pregnant and safety and comfort were my top priority. We arrived to our room (324) a Standard room on the first floor. Big mistake, I immediately burst into tears the room was tiiiiiiny, and there were people walking past our window (My priorities were not addressed) Thankfully, hubs went back to the front desk and explained the situation and asked what our options were. We ended up upgrading to a Junior Suite for $30 extra a night. Trust me, that I do not like 'wasting' money on a hotel room you are never really in, but this was totally worth it. We stayed in room 416 the first night, and then moved to 426 (ocean view) the rest of the vacation. The difference in rooms were so substantial. Okay-- We had dinner there twice, the food was great, and probably would have been happy eating there all four nights but we wanted to check out other restaurants. Lunch was pretty good, during our stay (for lunch) we had a jerk burger, tuna melt, pizza, and jerk chicken. The pizza was the best option. We also went across the street to Best In the West (jerk chicken) and yes, that was very good too. What else? The beach chairs, wow don't get me started on this... What I don't like about some hotels is when guests wake up super early and put their towels on beach chairs to 'claim' them and then go back to bed. Being 7 months pregnant, and not being able to be in the sun for too long I had difficulty finding a bed. The beach hagglers weren’t too bad, you just say "no" and they keep walking. The hotel and beach were well kept, and the staff was friendly. Really, there's not much else to say. We got what we were looking for which was a nice, small, quiet hotel, with a clean beach. There were a lot of repeat guests. If I was the type of person to stay in the same hotel over and over again, I would have no problem returning. I am still on the fence as to whether I prefer All-Inclusive vs. Regular hotel. There are pros and cons with each. I think going forward I would prefer All-Inclusive based soley on money reasons.

Activities: We visited Ricks- Where the locals will jump off 80 ft cliffs to the water, that was pretty cool. We only stayed for an hour which I think is all you need. We also, did a snorkeling trip one morning (only $55 total) for an hour and that was pretty fun too.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 416 and 426 both ocean view. Definitely worth the $30 upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    430
    89
    29
    16
See reviews for
184
549
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just returned from second visit to CCLP. Like our first time, it was an excellent trip.
We booked through OneStop which was quite easy and a great price. They did tell us we wouldn't get a Deluxe room and we would have to switch rooms halfway through. However, once we got to Coco we were pleasantly surprised with the same room from our last trip and no switching. It felt like coming home. The room was always clean, staff went above and beyond great service and the location is perfect.
As usual we loved our Coco breakfasts, always getting eggs or pancakes for a few dollars more. My friend had the banana pancakes everyday. She absolutely loved them. Only had lunch once at the grill. I wanted a fish sandwich, but it wasn't on the menu. They made it for me with no problem and it was the best I have ever had. We had dinner a few times at Coco. It was ok. I think it could be a little better. The drinks were always yummy and the semi new bartender Donovan is a great addition to the other bartenders. The reggae band on Friday night was excellent! I would love to hear them again. The beach was amazing as usual. Gibson does such a great job keeping the vendors from being too bothersome. However, they never really are. Just telling them "no thank you" and with a smile does the trick. Gibson likes to do word searches, so I left my book with him. Gives him something to do.
As repeat visitors the resort gave us pretty nice Coco tshirts. I'll definitely be back for another vacation! Thanks to everyone at Coco. Too many to name them all. Respect.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaqueeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Coco LaPalm is a lovely place to stay. We got upgraded to a junior suite which was very big, clean, and comfortable with 2 showers. The resort is ideally located in the center of the beautiful 7 mile beach, across the street from the Best in the West jerk chicken place. We had jerk chicken every day. It's really good! We also had soup for $1 at Cosmos restaurant on the beach and that was very good also. The grounds at Coco are well maintained with lots of flowers and plants. Most of the staff are friendly and they treated us very well. The food in the restaurant is good and Coco has 2 clean pool and a nice hot tub. We had a wonderful time at Coco and we will be back at Coco LaPalm in 2 weeks. We looked at several other places but decided that Coco is very good value for money. We met some lovely people at the resort and we highly recommend it for first time visitors to Negril and those on a budget.

Room Tip: Book early as there are many repeat visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrTNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossac, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was our third time in the Caribbean but our first time in Jamaica mon! We had gone all inclusive previously in Aruba and Cuba, but this time we opted for the mid range Cocalapalm resort hotel and booked a Superior room for our 11 night stay.

The friendly welcome at reception after our almost 11 hour flight from London was really very nice and the room was ready and waiting. This resort hotel is really very good value in almost all areas though the superior room was very dated. The electrics were especially ancient and the fittings and drawers etc were also from a bygone age! But the two queen beds were large and comfortable. The room was quite clean and serviced daily with clean sheets and towels. The air conditioning worked fine (which was good as it was 28C every day we were there) and there was also a large celing fan.

We used the room fridge to store our red stripe and rum and coke as the drinks at the bar were quite expensive. Better to take a taxi into Negril and shop at Hi Low supermarket (the taxi guy will wait for you and it costs around 12 dollars round trip) but there are also a couple of beach shops (shacks) and one or two supermarket style shacks on Norman Manley Boulevard which runs behind all the hotels.

We were surprised at just how poor the majority of Jamaicans are, some of the areas behind the town and hotels are very poor and a little like shanty towns...but the Jamaican people are fantastic, they are so friendly and chilled out and a pleasure to talk to even the beach sellers. With being there 11 nights we got to know quite a few of them and bought things daily like Patties for lunch from the Beach Bike man and Fresh Orange and Pineapple juice from Gary and Pineapple pieces from the older Fruit lady.....it was hard getting off the sunbeds but well worth the effort to enjoy the local produce.

The hotel beach at Cocolapalm is probably the best strip (quite wide and long) along seven mile beach and it is very safely watched over by the security guards especially the "stickman" (hes the thin guy) who never missed a trick. A lot of the beach sellers would ask you if you wanted any smoke/weed/ganja but a firm no would always work (unless you wanted to buy some and a lot of people did!) but the stickman would always send them packing....

The breakfasts were excellent, several well cooked choices inc continental breakfast were available - but you had to get used to the slow service, once you were as relaxed as they were, then all was fine.

We ate at the cocolapalm rest once or twice but after being there all day it seemed silly not to go out and about and try other places to eat at night.

You can actually just walk up and down the beach and get to several places in just a ten or 15 min walk along the edge of the surf.....we ate at Margharitaville for great burgers, Ginos for an Italian Pasta and Fish, Breezes for delicious Pizza (also try the Italian Place on Norman Manley Boulelvard just near the Times Sq Mall). We also got a taxi and went out to the LTU Pub which is next to Ricks Cafe on the Negril Cliffs. Lovely sea views from the cafe terrace.Good place to go after you watch the sunset and the amazing cliff divers at Ricks.

Negril is a really safe and friendly place and the perfect beach holiday. It was all so chilled all the time, shorts and teeshirts and flipflops were the only dress code needed day or night. Amazing white sand beach that goes on and on, beautiful blue and translucent and very clean sea (blue flag beach) where the fishes come up and swim round you - almost no need to go snorkelling!

The coco resort hotel was a good place to stay and overall the staff were quite good. The grounds and gardens and paths and public areas very well maintained and the pools and beach were spotless. Only one small downside was the sheer numbers of Minnesotans that were at the hotel for the first week of our stay. Very loud and always with a drink in their hands - they were there to party no doubt about that! There were some nice quiet Minnesotan folks too of course....all in all a great holiday. Would probably upgrade to a suite if we came back to the coco, or even try one of the boutique hotesl on either side of the coco, they looked lovely!

First time in Jamaica but wont be the last..Respect to the locals and Irie Mon!

Room Tip: Try for a junior suite near the pool if the funds will stretch....the superior we had could do with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchroverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just had our tenth stay at the CocoLa Palm. Just can't stop going back there. We were there for a birthday celebration and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a beachfront room. The staff there is wonderful. Grounds are very well maintained. The beach is the best. The staff is very accommodating and friendly.

We love the Coco and everything about it. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RastaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Today wraps up my second visit to CoCo LaPalm, and it won't be my last. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and the nicest spot dead center of Seven Mile Beach make this a perennial favorite. We did loose hot water for the last two days, but I hardly even noticed. For the price you won’t find better than this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor_Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room primarily to have a veranda and a wet bar.It was close to the main pool and the office nearer the street. Booked our hotel and flight on Hotels.com and that worked out just fine. this is our second trip to Jamaica after about 20 years. The trip from the airport on the bus service was uneventful and took about 1and 1/2 hrs.

I think the best way to approach this is just to list our likes and dislikes at the hotel.

Likes
Clean room
Grounds and pools are very well kept up
Beach, as others have said, seems to be one of the best after walking down the beach in each direction
Landscaping at the hotel is very nice
No problems with shower or water and we did drink the tap water to some extent
Staff at the hotel were very nice and we had no problems with the vendors. (front desk staff not so much)
I would have to rate the restaurant as average. Seems like the spice has been decontented to appeal to the average Minnesotan that frequents this hotel. Sevice and breakfast was good.
Dislikes
We like to drink wine, but wine selection here and at other restaurants we went to were outrageously priced. example a six or seven dollar bottle of yellowtail in the US was as much as $35
It is very noisy in the am as the staff starts trundling their carts down the concrete sidewalks and hollering to each other as they go about their duties. So forget sleeping in.
We love to drink coffee in the am and the web site said BM coffee in the rooms, but we were disappointed to find this was not the case and the 4 cup coffeemaker ran loudly for about twenty minutes to make horrible undrinkable coffee so head to the restaurant
The room furnishings and tv were pretty dated, but worked well enough
Beds were just ok like staying in a cheap motel stateside.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay. If we were going back to Negril I would consider this place, but we probably will not be returning to Jamaica anytime soon.

Room Tip: Rooms near the street are pleasant, but noisy in the am so sleeping in is tough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 81 in Negril
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 81 in Negril
948 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#28 of 81 in Negril
5,527 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,587 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Property: CocoLaPalm Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CocoLaPalm Resort was established in 1994 and is the largest of the small hotels in Negril, Jamaica. We are a family resort located on a beautiful expanse of Negril's 7-Mile Beach, with non-motorized water sports, mouthwatering cuisine and exciting entertainments for the convenience of our guests. We invite you to come and claim your spot at CocoLaPalm, we'll keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing