We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rehearsal Dinner at Norma's-- huge success!”
Review of Yard Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yard Beach House
Ranked #12 of 46 Negril B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2009

On June 5th, 2009, we held our wedding rehearsal dinner for 65 guests at Norma's Restaurant at the Sea Splash Resort in Negril-- and we're so glad we made that choice.

We live overseas which makes remote communication and planning even tougher, but we managed to book this place, months in advance without a coordinator through emails and fax mostly. Our main contact at Norma's was Paula and she was extremely professional and helpful. Considering Jamaica's laid back attitude and the typical difficulties getting email responses, Norma's was far more responsive over email than any other restaurant we were in touch with (including Kuyaba). This made Norma's an easy choice for us (not to mention their fabulous food reviews!)

Once in Negril, we met Paula in person and she walked us through all our location options and introduced us to the wait staff and chef who would be working on the day of our function. She walked us through all the details so there would be no surprises day-of.

Paula and her staff were able to work with every request we had-- from a customized food and drink menu, to decorations, and location. They even printed personalized menus for us and tastefully decorated our dining area for our private function. The food was really amazing-- the best on Negril beach (and we tasted options all over, even at the all-inclusive where we honeymooned!).

The service was very good-- with constant attention, drink refills, and quick problem-solving (such as rearranging of chairs, adding an extra place setting, etc.). The only downfall was a delay in bringing out main courses. A few tables were finished eating while others still hadn't received their meals. However, I am sure this can be expected with a large group of 65 people, at any restaurant in Jamaica.

Overall, our experience at Norma's surpassed our expectations. The staff, food, and atmosphere were great and our guests had only positive things to say about it. I would absolutely recommend Norma's for any function and if nothing else-- at least for a nice dinner if you happen to be in Negril.

Stayed: June 2009
1  Thank misstravelbug_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 239 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2009

Myself and my husband spent two wonderful nights at Seasplash in Negril en route to a friend's wedding. Gregory, the manager, was extremely competent, efficient and knowledgeable via email beforehand helping us make the lodging arrangements. Our arrival and check in went smoothly, with no unpleasant surprises. But we did have a very pleasant one: we had booked a standard room, but were given a complementary upgrade to the lovely Hibiscus Suite. This spacious suite was ideally located within the compound, just a few short steps down the stairs, and forward to the hotel bar, Norma's Restaurant and the glorious Seven Mile beach. It was equipped with a well appointed kitchenette and our favourite feature, the cute shady verandah, where we could enjoy the ocean sounds and Seasplash's garden. The hotel is perfectly located, we felt very safe and all the staff we encountered, from Gregory himself to the housekeeping staff, were extremely pleasant and helpful. We highly recommend this charming little hotel for those like us who shy away from the plastic feel of the all-inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the2babus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Unfortunately, Seasplash is in much need of a revamp in many ways. The room we stayed in was dark and although "renovated" the paint was peeling off the bathroom door and the AC was all rusted. The location is great and it is very quiet at night which is a plus. Our friend at Country Country had to use ear plugs because of the neighboring Margaritaville. The new sales manager is attentive at seasplash and wants to please but the staff is on a very slow pace. The pool was generally uninviting with sand at the bottom and debris, the beach chairs are in need of change and the adjacent bar playing the TV all day long is annoying when most people on the beach are trying to read or listen to an ipod. As for cleaning of the room, we either had to ask for soap, towels, toilet paper or even to make the room... Its too bad as they are small and contained in a great part of the beach but for the price, ultimately, you feel you are getting ripped off.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opinionMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

A 10-day stay at Sea Splash in February was the best ever! This was our 4th year there, and we enjoyed improvements everywhere! The rooms are being renovated one by one.
Although our junior suite hadn't been done yet, it was perfect. The service and cleanliness were outstanding, the gardens gorgeous, the pool clean and refreshing, and Norma's restaurant is fantastic! There is a new manager, and he is doing an amazing job. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable, and it is nice to see the same folks each year. If you are looking for a relaxing place right on the beach, Sea Splash is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan-no-burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We are starting to plan for our annual vacation to Sea Splash for early February. This will be the 14th year we visit. The grounds have changed a bit to adjust to the wrath of the hurricanes, but I feel that it is even more beautiful now. We have never had a bad day at Sea Splash. The location on 7-mile beach is perfect, it hosts one of the best restaurants in Negril and the staff is wonderful. It is our place to decompress from the stresses of life. The rooms are large and comfortable and the view from the balcony of the morning birds on the fruit and flowering trees start my day as peaceful as one could imagine. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who is in need of relaxing from this turblent year.

Thank Jamaicanwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

You dont even know, this resort is really not as bad as some of the reviews tell. I stayed there for two months over the summer, with my family and had a blast! We are long time Jamiaca visitors, and compared to other resorts we liked this resort the best. During our time here we stayed in room 6. The room is beautiful, though a bit small. It has an outside balcony that over looks the pool. It is perfect for star gazing at night. They have recently rebuilt the restuarant so it has a new feel. The website has the old pictures- not updated yet. Like someone elses review, a week before we had to leave they made us leave our room and told us that they had already booked it for someone else. The room they moved us to was downstairs. I wouldn't reccomend it, and it was quite dark and really damp, there was a dehumidifier that didn't work. Although the second room wasn't that great, our first one has an ocean view- despite what some other reviews say.All upstairs rooms have really high cielings, but could use some repair. Really good food too! The rooms are just steps from the beach, and everyone is so friendly and irie. The security gaurd is great, and very dilligent. Overall the place is perfectly located, and great for families. After staying there for three summers in a row, we have decided to try something a bit new, but it was deffinetly a great experience......we definetly speak the truth! :-)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice12375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I just returned today from an amazing 9 day stay at Seasplash Negril. This is my 2nd time at this hotel and I love it. I almost don't want to review it and just keep it as my little secret. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. They are full of beautiful flowers (loved the purple orchids everywhere) and hummingbirds. We stayed in a one bedroom suit, previously we had stayed in the Jr. suite but we wanted something a little more spacious with a terrace instead of a patio. The ceilings in the room are high and there are windows all over providing great light in the room and views of the beauiful grounds. The furnishings and especially the bathroom are a little shabby but it has great character.
The hotel is located on a great spot on the beach. It is near everything but still on the end of the beach near the AI's so there is no problem with late night noise. The staff is attentive, as soon as we walked onto the beach every morning they immediately brought out cushions to put on the chairs that were already out. They have beautiful large umbrella's for those times when you want some shade. They also have little tables next to the chairs for you to keep stuff on or for them to bring out drinks or food and put it there so you can enjoy the beach and your drinks/food at the same time. We had breakfast and coffee on the beach every morning.
The service is quick, especially so for Jamaica. From when we ate at the restaurant to room service to breakfast on the beach we never had to wait very long to get what we ordered. My boyfriend is in the restaurant business and was very impressed with the waiters efficiency, etiquette and most of all the food. We love Norma's! The coconut shrimp, chocolate cake and breakfasts were our favorites!
The staff was friendly and helpful. It is truly a special little spot on the Negril beach.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkBeachlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
675 reviews
3.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 80 in Negril
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.6 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#39 of 80 in Negril
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yard Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yard Beach House

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sea Splash Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range: $113 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yard Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership this boutique resort is on the white sands of Negril 7 Mile Beach. The renewed atmosphere of Yard Beach House aims to cater to a service demanding clientele, people looking for good premium brand drinks with the service that they should expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yard Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasplash Negril Hotel Negril
Seasplash Hotel Negril
Seasplash Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing