We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to Seasplash”
Review of Sea Splash Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Splash Resort
Ranked #53 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Day trip to Seasplash”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We took a tourbus to Negril for a day and Seasplash was our "home base" while on the 7-mile beach. While there, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. One the way out, either the owner or manager along with a housekeeper took the time to show us a couple of the rooms. This is definitely for the traveler who appreciates smaller boutique hotels. The suites are spacious and nicely maintained (they mentioned current refinishing of the rooms), the grounds are well maintained with nice tropical plants/trees, the location on the beach is good. When we return to Jamaica, our plans are to stay at the Seaplash!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    79
    26
    14
    18
See reviews for
40
78
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I just traveled with 65 of our closest family and friends to Negril for our wedding. With the help of Isabelle Stewart (wedding planner extraordinaire) and the staff at Seasplash, we have not only had the wedding of our dreams, but it has also been stress-free from the moment we walked onto the property thanks to the wonderful staff at Seasplash. The hotel is under new management and Mr. and Mrs. Marley really care about their guests' enjoyment and comfort at the property and it shows through every interaction we've had with the staff.

When we started planning our wedding, we were looking for a moderately priced hotel on the beach that would allow all of our guests to come and go regardless of where they were staying. If you want a fancy all-inclusive hotel, this property is not for you. However, if you want a place where the staff make you feel as if the property is your home...this is it! If an AC wasn't working properly in a room, the staff was there that same day fixing it. Water pressure too low in your room? No problem...fixed within a couple hours. I want to acknowledge these things because I know I've read about them in previous reviews. Mrs. Marley told me from day one, if there's something we can do for you, please just ask!

On our wedding day, the staff really all pitched in to help Isabelle and make all of the details of our wedding possible. The best part for us was having the staff come out on the dance floor after dinner. I can't say enough good things about their hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a one bedroom suite (without a loft) with a balcony overlooking the pool. 1,6, 7, and 8 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iheartnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were in Negril for the Reggae 10K, which was awesome. Unfortunately, SeaSplash was not even average. Upon checking in, I handed the desk clerk a $20.00 (U.S.) bill, smiled, and politely said "This is for you. Anything you can do for us for our three days here will be appreciated." For the service we then received, an impartial observer would have thought we had asked them if we could stay for free. Though we had made our reservation weeks in advance, our room had just been painted when we arrived. The odor of wet paint was overpowering. The door to the room was sticking so bad from the slapdash paint job that it opened and shut only with force and a loud "bang". There was no hot water. The A.C. had not been turned on. The T.V. remote was not working.The room was well-worn and in poor repair. Curtains were torn. The shower head was so encrusted and stopped up that any average kitchen faucet could have put out more water. The A.C. did not respond to the remote control. We had to spend time tracking down maintenance people to fix the A.C. and get the hot water turned on. At no time were we offered any consideration for our difficulties with this lousy room (#2).

The Jamaican people we encountered everywhere, including this resort, were as polite and friendly as anyone could ask for. I had no intention of writing a review before we were treated like an afterthought at SeaSplash. Whether our terrible treatment was due more to negligence or incompetence on the part of the management I could not tell. Nevertheless, I feel compelled to put this "caveat emptor" out here on TripAdvisor as much in the hope of shocking this hotel's management into action as to offer fair warning to prospective guests.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask detailed questions about the room: "Will there be hot water when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Enjoyed a one bedroom suite with loft, full kitchen, and balcony in May. Room was adequately cleaned and fresh towels delivered daily. Norma's restaurant was a bit pricey for the quality of the meals, however the view of the beach while eating is awesome. Service at the bar was excellent. Although I didn't care for the way the owner (Jim) treated his staff or the lack of professionalism he displayed throughout my stay I would stay here again for the right price as I hear its under new ownership.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSnook82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Loved our one bedroom suite that had cathedral ceilings, full kitchen, and a balcony that overlooked the pool. Housekeeping did a good job of making the beds. Breakfast at Norma's was nice in the morning overlooking the beach. The pool was a bit small but we spent more time out on the beach. The staff was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esoterik9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite and it was very spacious with a balcony, kitchen, dining area and livingroom. It was great having a refrigerator for beverages (Red Stripe beer!) and fruits. The food at Norma's is terrific; probably the best on the stretch of beach. Breakfast was included and was delicious. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

I peeked into a standard room, which was quite snug, so if possible, try for a one-bedroom suite.

My only quibble would be the water pressure, which trickled to nothing at one point.

Room Tip: One-bedroom suites are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelpro56V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'd like to thank Paula with her pleasant and friendly face at the front desk. Manners and respect to Carmen the maid who helped make my stay comfortable. Big up to Natasha for preparing fresh fruit smoothies for me..Blessing to Romain, the life guard and the security guards..and thank goodness for the tall genetleman manager, who walked the property in the evenings. I have to say the property is in much needed repair..on the other hand ...having beautiful foliage with fruiting trees was a pleasure to see as I walked along the beach path. In the evenings hand sized crabs roamed along the paths as well..My room seemed to be a standard type room..a large bed, a cooling air conditioner, tv, 2 sitting chairs, a dresser and mirror with end tables. The bathroom was a okay..all needed furnishings with a small changing space with shelves and a tiny safe. So..do not expect a laptop larger than 6 - 8 inches to fit in it..God told me to leave my 10in. home..glad I listened..lol.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor...do not book through Paradise Resorts agency...request a fridge, br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SERIOUSTEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 81 in Negril
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#46 of 81 in Negril
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 81 in Negril
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Splash Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Splash Resort

Property: Sea Splash Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril Negril P.O., Jamaica (Formerly Seasplash Negril)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Splash Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SeaSplash is a boutique hotel that offers a unique Jamaican experience, located in the heart of Negrils sevemn mile white sand beach. The combination of rooms range from a one bedroom suite, Junior Suites or a standard room. Guests may enjoy the beach, pool and jacuzzi. Normas Restaurant, located on the beach is Negrils only three diamond rated restaurant by AAA in Negril. It offers an eclectic fusion of different nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Splash Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasplash Negril Hotel Negril
Seasplash Hotel Negril
Seasplash Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing