We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Rondel Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rondel Village
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel, but my husband and i ate here once for breakfast and had delishious pancakes. We had a late night appetiser of cod fritters that were very good and cheesecake that was perfect for my sweet tooth. We also ate here for dinner twice. We didn't know what to order the first time there and the waitress was very helpful and friendly. She recommended we split the jerk chicken pizza and it was awsome. It came with salad and bread. The bread rolls there are fantastic too. My husband had the surf n turf and loved it. Definately recommend this place to eat any meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    173
    46
    15
    14
See reviews for
122
185
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is my second time staying here. This time I stayed for 10 days on the garden side. I really love the non all inclusive vibe. The room was spacious and clean, everything was in working order, the bed was quite comfortable, and the balcony allowed for a great breeze. I returned here mainly because I felt safe and of the family atmosphere. There is 24 hour security and the staff is great. The beach is lovely and there's some shady spots if desired, although those tend to go first. Security does a great job in keeping the vendors at bay, but you'll want to buy a beef or chicken patty! The food at the restaurant is great, but choices are limited so if you are staying for awhile you might find yourself drifting down the beach for something else. But that's the great thing about being on the beach and in the middle of all these other hotels.

A big shout out to Donovan, Delroy, Carl, Johno, Jamie, the rest of the waitstaff, and cleaning women!!! They are all awesome and make you feel so welcomed

Room Tip: Beware - it is right next to Jungle Nightclub so if you are on the garden side you can hear the musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soph_829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Most if not all of the hotels on 7 mile, with the exception of the large chain all inclusive, really are 3 star. Finding the best value in clean, safe and friendly cal be a challenge. The rondel really is perfect. We have seen many spots on prev visits and this is it. We want clean... They have it. Big rooms. They have it. Friendly caring owners. They have it. Kind caring staff.... Yes, they have that too. Finally to the food. Really, so very good. Lobster cakes .... Amazing. Negril is not the place to come if your looking for contemporary modern. Stick to Vegas. It's laid back attitude with all you need can be found at the Rondel Village.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magioritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place is beyond our expectations! The room is clean, comfortable bed, quiet and beautiful breeze. We only run the a/c at night to sleep. During the day balcony doors and windows are open. Set up is secure. We feel safe and relaxed. Staff is wonderful, food delicious and bartender the best. He trusts my daughter to order and then I go down and pay later. Nothing but beautiful people, gorgeous weather and no better place to spend a week.

Room Tip: Can only comment on superior room which is fantastic!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in February. We booked two rooms through Divine tours and when we arrived we discovered our room did not have a balcony. We paid the same price as everyone else and Divine didn't tell us we wouldn't have a balcony, we has originally booked garden side rooms but wanted to be Oceanside. I tried at least 5 or 6 times to get Rondel to move us to another room, the yep pt saying they were fully booked yet people were moving around all the time. In fact the rooms beside us (which had a balcony) had at least thee different groups of people staying there over the course of 10 days. Needless to say it tainted how I felt about the hotel.

On the plus side, Donna our housekeeper was wonderful. Our room was spotless! Donovan and Delroy at the bar were great. Security kept a close eye on vendors and we were not overly bothered by them.

Didn't eat any dinners at the restaurant but lunches were good.

There is zero shade outside the gate and I knew this ahead of time and brought a beach shade tent.

Would I stay here again?? Hard to say...no balcony for 10 days and $148/night just seems ridiculous

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cariwright, Front Office Manager at Rondel Village, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are extremely sorry that your room did not have a balcony.We did advise Divine Tours prior to your reservation confirmation that one of the rooms did not have a balcony.We are sorry to know that this was not shared with you.
Unfortunately when we received your room change request three days before your departure, it was not possible to make a change at that time. We responded to your request the first time we received it.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed other facilities of the hotel.
While we strive for a perfect vacation for our clients, we regret any misunderstanding that may have occured and please accept our sincere apologies.
We are truly happy to serve you and we would love to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited the spa on two different occasions while my extended stay in negril. I had a massage, and a pedicure and polish change.

The staff are very welcoming always accommodating and a super group to come and visit. Cheers to johnno,Carl, the ladies at the spa, and the crew at the resteraunt and bar. Will come to visit again and again! Cheers

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesweetdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our extended family stayed 5 nites. we had 3 superior beachside rooms. The staff was great .
Johno on the beach was great, Carl, Donna, Portia.
Please be careful of buying juice from the beach vendors, we all contracted bob marleys revenge( except the children who had none)
I thought the restaurant was decent, but a bit of a wait, but thats everywhere,
Also loved nayahs patties nearby.
3dives jerk/
Gardens are lovely on the property

Only problem are the barking dogs in the middle of the night next door. They woke us up every nite. The children were unaffected thank goodness.

Room Tip: some rooms balconies face each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.4 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.8 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1.9 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#39 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Property: Rondel Village
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#16 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#27 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive beachfront resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. Services include Rondel Restaurant & Bar and The Village Spa, our full service spa and salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing