We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of the beach”
Review of Rondel Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rondel Village
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Umeå, Vasterbottens Lan, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best part of the beach”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I'll been walking this beach for 8days and Rodel have by far the best spot. It's near to everything that's really anything in Negril (and that ain't much).
Also pretty close to the gym across the street and the gym at Travelers.
Rodel is VERY nice place. Among the best fot the bucks is you are a couple of people.
So if you for any reason have to visit Negril, choose this place. It's worth it!

Room Tip: Choose one close to the beach. The Jacuzzi you won't need (You got a bigger and nicer one by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    173
    46
    15
    14
See reviews for
122
185
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

LOCATION -- The best thing about Rondel Village is the location. It is walking distance to water sports, bars, and restaurants. The beachfront is nice and unobstructured. The full beach in Negril is several miles long, but the section in front of Rondel Village is not deeper than 15 feet to ocean. Note, that Rondel Village is on a public portion of the beach.

SERVICE -- For a budget hotel, the service was plentiful. There were individuals to provide beach towel and chair service, beach maintenance, security (to shuffle along locals who were trying to sell various crafts, fruits, and foods). Housekeeping put fresh flowers from the gardens in the room every day. Everyone was exceptionally friendly also.

ROOM -- The room was spacious. It was clean but definitely needed to be refreshed. The closet was ample and included a long bench for arranging or drying items. The bed was not uncomfortable, but it could be updated. The bathroom was basic and clean. Bring your own toiletries as the basic accomodations only provide body wash and hand soap. Also, return to your room if possible in the mid afternoon to close the screen-less windows as housekeeping opens them before leaving; closing the windows will significantly reduce the number of mosquitoes and other biting bugs in your room.

GROUNDS -- There was a restaurant with decent food and a great bar right on the beach. The stroll from the reception office to the beach is full of wonderful and well-maintained plants and trees. Rondel Village is quaint and has a small number of villas, but you never felt crowded there.

WHY RONDEL RECEIVED A THREE -- I found it odd that you have to pay to use the safe in your room. The internet connection was $20 for a week, but it rarely functioned properly. Also, the air conditioner was intermittent and in disrepair. For fairness, though, the staff did promptly attempt to make repairs. If given the option of returning to Negril, I am not certain that my recent stay at Rondel Village would make it a no-brainer to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Take_Me_There_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

You want a reasonable room in the middle of everything, this is the place to be. If you want with a lot of amenities, then skip Rondel Village. Friendly staff, clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexxxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Rondel Village, Negril in our Jamaica tour.
We've had snorkelling first experience - really nice, long walks to the village and West End, reggae concerts and unforgettable sunsets!
Our room was big, clean and we've enjoyed the beautiful Long bay beach.
Everybody here takes care for your stay.
Excellent and absolutely suggested!
Greetings from Italy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just returned from a week at Rondel Village. I traveled with my husband & 4 year old daughter. We don't like big giant all inclusive hotels, but we needed something that would be conducive to traveling with a young child. Rondel was a great choice.

We stayed in the beach front villa, Ortanique. It was just perfect. Plenty of room and so clean. It was great to be able to close off the living room while she watched cartoons and we caught a couple extra minutes of sleep. The people that work there are just the best. So friendly & helpful. They really make you feel like you're at home, and Rondel really could be a home away from home for us.

The beach was perfect. I've traveled extensively through the Caribbean and Negril's 7 mile beach might just be my favorite.

The only negative I have is the restaurant. It's really really bad, and at times inedible. Negril has some great places to eat, but with our child we were counting on being able to stay at the hotel and eat. She goes to bed early and we just couldn't get out and explore. We were so disappointed with the food. There is a really good Italian
restaurant next door at the Mariposa and we were so happy to find it. I'd read some of the reviews about the food and I thought maybe some people were just being too picky. Nope, it's really that bad.

I would definitely return to Rondel, but if we bring our daughter again I will stock up the kitchen and make our meals.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room or vlla. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indigosun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Rondel for 8 night this August 2011 and we had a wonderful time. We booked a garden room (not the ones beach-side) and it was comfortable, clean and easy, just the way we like. Plus the pool and spa just outside our patio were a big plus if you want to relax "in the water" also in the evening. If you can, we suggest to book the rooms/apartment on the beach side because there's the sea breeze and the view is really amazing.
We really liked the staff at Rondel: everybody has been kind, reliable and very friendly.
The position is also perfect, just in the middle of the Seven Miles Beach so you can walk up and down the beach and lots of food spots are at walking distance.
Overall really a great vacation! And we got a really good deal.

Room Tip: If you can, we suggest to book the rooms/apartment on the beach side because there's the sea bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simo-Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Rondel Village in July 2011 with our three children ages 8-12. We stayed in a 3BR villa called "Grape" where the pool was right outside the front door to our villa and since there weren't too many kids there we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. The accommodations were very spacious for the five of us and very clean as well. The villa had a king bed and 3 queen beds, all of which were extremely comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and with all the shrubs and exotic trees and plants along the walkways you didn't feel like the villas were right on top of each other (they are close together but feel more private). Carl and the rest of the staff were very friendly and treated us well. We weren't looking for an all-inclusive hotel and for the price and the location and the size of the villa this was truly a great find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.4 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.8 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1.9 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#39 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Property: Rondel Village
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#16 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#27 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive beachfront resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. Services include Rondel Restaurant & Bar and The Village Spa, our full service spa and salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing