We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2007

While staying in Negril for five nights in December, we enjoyed dinner one evening at the Charela Inn. Food was delicious and fresh. Highly recommended.

5  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Charela Inn / Le Vendome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 481 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed at the Charela for a week including New Year's Eve. The beach is lovely, not crowded, very calm and peaceful. There are vendors that walk around and sell fruit and ice cream and baked goods. I'd recommend all of these things, they were good. The hotel has very nice staff, especially the restaurant servers are attentive and kind. The service takes time, but the food is well worth it. Just make sure you don't wait until you're extremely hungry to get there.

The rooms are average. I found the beds to be uncomfortable and the overall design and quality of the rooms need a major upgrade. But you're likely not going to be spending much time in the room, except for maybe when it rains, which it does most days in the late afternoon.

The hotel itself is on the smaller side with about 40-50 rooms. Many of the visitors there were repeat visitors, having been many times over the years. Some of the travelers reported going every year for the past 20 years. Many of the staff also have worked there many years, which is nice and says something about the place. On multiple occasions, a new guest would arrive and the restaurant staff would scream and then hug and then greet by name.

The pool is not used often, except by kids. We had kids and I think it would be helpful to have an activity or two that are kid oriented, but that is not the personality of the hotel.

I would strongly recommend to couples, sans kids, looking for a laid-back, low-key, relaxing, no frills environment.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJ_Family_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

i've been there for New Year 2006's Eve. Peaceful resort (50 rooms), close to the beach, average services in rooms (a little refurbishing would be counselled), really good food (at the inner restaurant), but very slow service, though done by nice, cheerful servers; near downtown bars/discos. I recommend it: good quality at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cagliostrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2006

My stay at Charela Inn was a nightmare! Our room was robbed of cellphones, jewelry and money. The manager was very unprofessional and disrespectful, the staff lacks proper training, and there is a lot to be desired of the rooms.

There are many wonderful hotels and resorts in Jamaica that offer warm and friendly hospitality. You would be better off going anywhere else, but stay away from Charela.

The management and staff are a disgrace to the hotel industry. They do not have the interest of their guests at heart they are only interested in making money.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank mascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

This is a beautiful spot on Negril's seven mile beach!
We have stayed many times over the years....our daughter just about grew up here. We tried to go twice a year. She is now out of college and just about on her own.
The folks there always remember us! Great owners and staff.
We soon be back!
Kevin

Stayed: February 2006
11  Thank sunmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed at Charela Inn by accident after the first hotel we booked on Travelocity turned out to be booked after-the-fact, and they suggested Charela. What a happy surprise. Hands down, Charela has the best beach front. It's much bigger and they have preserved it by planting palm trees between water and hotel. This creates natural shaded areas to hang out all day. Many of the hotels have very little beach or crowd as many chairs as possible elbow to elbow. Not at Charela. You can have your own little area with shade. There are a couple hawkers that hang right in the area and will approach you as soon as you go out the first day. They know you just got there and are pretty aggressive, but of course, all you have to say is a polite "no thanks, I'm good" (sometimes repeating it a couple times is needed) and they'll respect your space. August must be the off- off season, because we had the beach totally to ourselves a few days, which was so cool.

The whole staff was great. Very professional and helpful. The lifeguard made us feel very taken care of, as did the lovely waitresses at breakfast. We were going budget, so never tried dinner there, but I've heard it's great. Breakfast on the patio was heaven. They bring you a wonderful pot of coffee, and all their breads are homemade. Dairy comes from their farm, apparently, too.

The pool, which is more of a dipping pool than a swimming pool, was wonderful. We seemed to always have it to ourselves and it was such an awesome way to finish an evening or rinse the salt water off your body.

As I said, we were going budget, so I booked the cheapest room. I would recommend anyone go ahead and splurge on the oceanfront rooms. They are only a little bit more money, and the view is so wonderful. The rooms are a little nicer, too. Our room was fine, but kind of dark and the bathroom wasn't as new as I like in hotels. The oceanfront rooms had nicer bathrooms and were brighter. The rooms had no bugs and were well maintained. If you can't afford the oceanfront, we still enjoyed our room. The balcony is a great place to meditate on the garden.

I didn't mention the garden! The garden is amazing. I know this is a special Negril thing to have a hotel garden, so many are amazing. You will not be disappointed with Charela's. They have some amazing plants and flowers, and sitting in that warm clean pool looking out at all the vegetation is a second heaven.

The vibe of this hotel is very quiet and laid back, but elegant. I wouldn't recommend for kids- there isn't much for them, but if you are looking for a piece of quiet paradise, not a Disneyworld hotel experience, this is your spot.

The photos on their website are accurate, so you can trust that is what you'll get.

Stayed: August 2006
23  Thank nycbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
112
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Located on the calmest part of the ocean with blue/green waters. Perfectly distanced away from the loud bars, but close enough to walk to. Awesome Kuyaba restaurant, Jungle night club are at a walking distance.
Everything you want to do is available right from the back of the hotel on the beach. There will be someone there always to arrange for any sport you want to try - snorkeling, water ski, parasailing and for braiding, aloe vera rubs etc., We stayed in a garden view room. Maybe sea view is better, not sure. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#29 of 80 in Negril
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#25 of 80 in Negril
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 80 in Negril
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 3033, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $131 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... Nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its fifty rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "Al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. As well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing