We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best property on seven mile beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been coming down to charela inn from Philadelphia for thirty years and It has never disappointed us. From the days the owner did all the cooking to today where they have a staff of the best trained chefs on the island, nothing has changed, from the management of Sofia to the front desk with Manuel and Carolyn and the office Nadine to the beach with Shomari, you will feel welcome and totally pampered.
The food that they preparei is raised on their privately owned farms and with their own bakery you are assured to get freshly cooked food and baked items daily.. The beach is one of the best maintained and you are assured of privacy because of the well trained beach personnel. Charela is highly recommended by the owners of Skippack Skippack travel

Room Tip: Sea front rooms you can hear the surf and view the sun set . All sea front rooms are equal. I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 489 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've been slow to write a review on Charela as I fear this gem of a small, locally-owned hotel and restaurant will become simply too popular. We've been returning to Charela for over 20 years now. On our first visit, we felt like newbies as other couples we met would say "this is our 7th year visiting" or 10 years, or more. Charela is definitely the type of hotel that earns your return visit. The property hosts 47 rooms and perhaps the best beach-to-person ratio in all Negril. The rooms are not fancy, but nicely appointed and clean. The hotel is relaxed and one cannot help but slow down and relax also. The hotel staff is welcoming, friendly and does its best to accommodate special requests (this is true from the drivers, to the front desk, to the bellhop, to housekeeping, to the restaurant and bar staff, and to the beach attendant). If you are looking for a big, fancy all-inclusive hotel, Charela is not for you. If you want a more personalized, relaxed vacation without the trappings of negotiating a large property, Charela is perfect. All rooms are close to the beach, so you can just stumble from your room to your beach chair without any fuss; there are plenty of palm trees to go around. The restaurant serves wonderful food with produce and eggs fresh from their farm in the hills. Breads are all made fresh daily. Some may say the service is slow; we just know that the food is worth the wait. We’ve visited as just a couple and with a family group of over 30 relatives. I’ve had wonderful vacations at Charela with our kids and with our friends and their kids. I’ve also enjoyed visiting Charela with a group of women friends. The hotel works magic for both families and couples. We’ve already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HPHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at the Charela Inn in September 2012 was nothing short of spectacular! Here are just a few of the highlights:

-We worked with a wonderful front desk manager named Nadine for our reservation. Once my lovely one had our room confirmed, I continued to communicate with her via email prior to arrival to plan a few surprises for his birthday. Nadine arranged for flowers to be delivered to our room on his birthday, as well as a homemade carrot cake from the Le Vendome restaurant, and an excellent bottle of red wine.
-Nadine also arranged for my transport from the Montego Bay airport, and gave specific instructions on where I could meet the driver (Mr. Granville, very sweet! I sat in the passenger seat on our ride to Negril, and he gave me so many details about the island and parishes we passed through).
-We had an ocean front room that was lovely! It was a nice size, had a separate sitting area, extremely comfortable bed, and french doors leading to a patio and the beautiful beach!
-Housekeeping was also aware that we had a birthday in our room, and used a local flower to write out the words "Happy Birthday" on our king size bed! The flowers that were delivered were beautiful, wine with 2 glasses and a corkscrew were left for us on the dresser as well! The carrot cake was out of this world! Our towels were arranged in a swan formation the day of arrival and on his birthday, this was a nice touch.
-As my boyfriend and his Dad are from JA, we ate outside of the hotel restaurant a lot, but did eat breakfast there daily (ackee, salt fish, calalou (sp?); absolutely delicious!!.
-In our estimation this hotel has the prettiest stretch of beach on the strip by far (and we walked up and down this beach in both directions everyday). It was very clean with the whitest sand; plenty of palm trees to provide cover from the sun, and plenty of actual "beach". One of the lifeguards, Shomari, was especially kind during our visit. He noticed how many people we had in our party and set our chairs for us in prime spots under the palm trees in the mornings without us even asking. A couple of days my boyfriend and his Dad ran errands and I stayed at the hotel alone; he really looked out for me while I slept and relaxed under the palm trees....making sure I wasn't bothered by vendors selling boat rides or other. If he saw me swimming he offered a raft for relaxing, these kind of gestures go a long way!

I traveled alone and met my boyfriend and his father in Negril, so I really appreciate how much care was taken with my safe transport to and from Montego Bay airport, and how safe I felt at this hotel in general (this is major for me, as I travel alone internationally for a living and was once mugged in South Africa during my transit from the airport to the hotel in Jo'berg). In closing we are looking forward to returning to Negril, and would definitely stay here again. Thanks to Mr. Grizzle and his staff for making our trip so memorable!

Room Tip: Reserve the ocean front room if possible, you can't beat the view! Also, we traveled in Septembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaydee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wonderful restaurant...incredible staff. Food is freshly prepared each day...specials are great, but the pasta dishes are the best on the island. I have been staying at Charela Inn for 17 years; i seldom leave the property when I get here....I love this place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but upstairs oceanfront is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie6694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Three weeks to go until departure, we found out RCI had cancelled our reservations in St. Lucia. Big scramble. My wife found a family sized room at Charela Inn in Negril with a good reasonable nightly rate that we could afford. We LOVE Negril and had wanted to take the kids there, but RCI had no openings, so that is why we were originally going to St. Lucia. Our family numbered 5 including a 20, 19 and 9 year old. So we felt terribly lucky to find they had an opening. Also, we were somewhat familiar with this Inn having stayed next door on a previous trip and knew their beach front was some of the best.

Check in was friendly and easy. I paid the week upfront with traveler's checks, (1. We found that Charela and a lot of places in Jamaica seem to not accept American Express cards and only Mastercard or Visa.) (2. we added charges to the room throughout the week from the restaurant and bar). The grounds were immaculate with a neat variety of flowering plants. The room was a family garden suite with a queen bed in the front room and a second room big enough for bunk beds and a day bed. Behind that was the bathroom. Not anything wildly luxurious by U.S. standards, but we did not expect that. It was comfortable and inviting for our family and suited our needs very well. The air conditioners worked, there was a ceiling fan in the front room with a small fridge and tv.

We loved the convenience to the pool, the restaurant and beach. Really nice location.

The room was less than perfect in that the room safe was unusable due to no key, the lamp next to the bed came on and off at will (if turned on). They quickly changed the bulb for us, but to no avail. No big deal. At the beginning of the week, the shower alternated between hot water and cool at rapid intervals, but smoothed out by the end of the week. The bathroom was missing a top pane of the jalousied (?) windows, so it remained humid in there and we kept the door shut to preserve air conditioning. None of this really detracted from our stay or use of the room. It was quite comfortable.

Can't say enough about the staff. All were very pleasant and accommodating. The fact we did not eat many meals there created no ill will ( we love to explore the different eating venues). That being said, the food and service at the French restaurant was delightful and we did enjoy it very much on several occasions.

As I mentioned earlier, what we really came for was not a disappointment in any respect. The beach was absolutely wondermous! The beach staff were great and took care of us if we had any need or question or if they thought a vendor or other beach wanderer were appearing to be a nuisance. We had nothing but a fantastic experience enjoying the Jamaican sun and the Caribbean sea. No ugliness, everybody was nice and pleasant. Never felt the need to 'run off' anyone selling anything. A simple 'No thanks' and they would move along. I actually enjoyed and began looking forward to the variety of vendors. We frequently found their wares worth a look or purchase. You MUST try out the patties sold by 'Patty Mon', who cruises the beach once a day with the most delicious patties (beef, shrimp, vegetarian, and coco bread), extremely reasonably priced. The serenading duo with guitar and banjo were a pleasant surprise, I could go on, but you get the point. The kids and us all loved the beach experience each day.

Charela has every reason to be so very proud of it's beach, restaurant, accommodations and staff. We all had some form of electronics (ipads/tablets/camera). All remained safe throughout our stay we just kept them out of plain view while we were gone from the room . The housekeeping was accommodating with the late sleepers and did a fine job.

We, from time to time, needed a driver to go to a restaurant on the West End for dinner or visit the local grocery for room snacks/beer. Mr. Granville was always there and took great care of us. I had been worried about local transportation cause there were five of us, but that was never a problem. All we had to do was have someone at the front desk notify him of what we needed and he made himself available. This was a HUGE plus.

We will stay at Charela again without hesitation. Hopefully, the wife and I can get back there, just by ourselves, and enjoy what appeared to be the really nice one bedroom suites facing the ocean.

I encourage anybody seeking to enjoy that special Negril Beach vacation to try Charela Inn. From our experience, you will have no worries or regrets. We miss the folks there already.

Room Tip: From a visual survey, not sure if there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atticusjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stay at Charela whenever I go to the Negril. Locally owned, small boutique hotel with simple yet comfortable rooms. I get an ocean view room, with first floors open up to a quick walk to the beach. LOVELY! Mr Grizzle, the owner, is very welcoming, always remembers me and the hotel has the only French Cuisine restaurant in the North Coast.
Love this place!

Room Tip: Request second floor on the left, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkinikita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We've visited Negril before and have always stayed on 7-Mile Beach. Charela Inn has the best beachfront -- it's very wide, clean and has lots of palm trees for shade. The ocean water is calm, shallow and perfect for swimming. The hotel staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the Jamaican breakfasts, which we had every morning.

We stayed in a seaview room with a balcony. The room was clean and nicely furnished, and had a great view of the beach and ocean. The only major downside was the recurring problems with the very low or no water pressure. At random times, the water would turn to drips or completely shut off while we were in the midst of using the shower or toilet. The hotel staff said it was a Negril water problem, but we had friends staying at an adjacent hotel and they never had any water problems. We also stayed at another hotel during this vacation and never had water problems. We really hope Charela addresses this problem as it's a main reason for us not to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in a garden view room on the ground floor. The room was dark and gloomy. The bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destinytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#28 of 80 in Negril
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#24 of 80 in Negril
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 3033, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $141 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... Nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its fifty rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "Al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. As well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing